We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but definitely could be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Styles Brussels Louise
Ranked #98 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I stayed here as was in Brussels for a conference, and wanted to be somewhere very close by, so the hotel ticked all the boxes.
It is very easy to get to from Gare du Midi, with a direct tram link, and also a slightly quicker route involving a change.

I arrived fairly late, wanting a shower, only to find the shower not working in my room.
I was told this was impossible as everything was new - I look a lot younger than I am and it frustrates me that I am often treated like a teenager when enquiring through customer service.
The door also was extremely difficult to lock and unlock and makes me wonder whether everything was properly checked when renovating.
Eventually, the receptionist at the time accepted that there was a problem and changed my room for me, where there was a working shower.
The TV didn't work, but I couldn't be bothered to question this as I would be back late both evenings anyway.

The hotel does provide complimentary tea and coffee downstairs, it would be helpful if mugs are left there, because plastic cups and hot water aren't very sensible.

Breakfast is a standard continental.

The wifi was very variable and slightly frustrating as I had documents to read, hopefully they'll improve their connection.

I appreciate that this is a hotel not a restaurant service and that food isn't a priority, but one vegetarian option on the entire menu is really not good enough in a multicultural city.
Even if something like chips or a soup was on there, it would be helpful to add a further veggie option for travellers coming in late at night.

All in all, it's in a safe area, it's a good location - I wouldn't be rushing back there, but if places are fully booked, there's nothing hugely wrong with it, just improvements to make it worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatLouise89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROUMA O, General Manager at Ibis Styles Brussels Louise, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear KatLouise89,

We thank you for your comments about your stay. We wish to apologize for the inconveniences that your encountered.

We took note of all your suggestions, and you’ll be pleased to know that we now have a diverse choice for snacks in the hotel.

Concerning the mugs, we used to leave them on the counter for our customers, unfortunately they were disappearing at an alarming pace. We then took the decision to leave only the plastic cups.

Nevertheless we hope that we’ll welcome you back soon in our hotel !

Regards

Olivier Rouma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Styles Brussels Louise
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 350 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

My husband had to travel to Brussels for business and was scheduled by his employer's travel agency to stay at this hotel for 4 nights as it was on their approved list of hotels in the area and as it was a relatively last minute trip, the more preferred hotels were already booked. I was traveling with him on this trip and we arrived with an open mind but things went downhill rapidly. At check-in we asked for 2 keys and were told we could only have one. (Surprisingly they still use actual keys not key cards.) We got up to our room, a very spare space with a few pieces of white furniture reminiscent of a dorm room. The carpeting in the room and halls appeared very cheap and commercial. The room and bathroom appeared very clean however, and we thought that it would all be workable because we would be out most of the day. However the window only tilted in a few inches and the air in the room was warm and stagnant so I attempted to turn on the AC using the wall thermostat but couldn't seem to get it to work. My husband tried and had no better luck so he called the front desk and was told they don't turn the thermostats on until later in the Summer so we could not have any AC. My husband explained that our room was very warm and asked if we could at least have a fan and was told no. Then we discovered the TV didn't work either - a sign is posted near the elevator noted that due to technical issues there is no TV anywhere in the hotel. This during World Cup with USA playing that evening! There was a pamphlet in the room listing all the amenities the hotel offered. "If you need a plug adapter or an iron, just call the front desk....". My husband called the desk and asked for an adapter and was told they don't have them. We had a pretty miserable night - our room faced the street and was noisy with the window "open" (as in ajar not truly open) and the air was not moving and we were uncomfortably warm. After a terrible night's sleep my husband went to his meeting and when he told his director there about our stay, she had us moved to another hotel for the remaining 3 nights. The breakfast buffet was simple but fine and the open dining area was clean and neat. We checked out early that next morning and I cannot in good conscience recommend this hotel. We have done a fair bit of travel and stayed in many categories of hotel and are not demanding or difficult guests and are pretty much go-with-the-flow travelers but this hotel was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkeydevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROUMA O, General Manager at Ibis Styles Brussels Louise, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear Monkeydevil ,

We are sorry to learn about your bad experience in our hotel, as it does not reflect our usual standards. It also seem that you were given wrong information and we apologize for that.

The problem with the TV was exceptional and due to our company distributor, and therefore completely beyond our will. We understand your frustration, but we did everything we could to speed things up.

Concerning the AC, it has just been installed and it isn’t working yet. It is as such not advertised yet on our site. It should be up very soon.

The rooms have been renovated very recently so we are a bit surprised by your ‘cheap and commercial’ comment, but we can understand that it is not to your taste.

We definitely hope you’ll give us another chance to prove that we can indeed offer a very good service.

Regards

Olivier Rouma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel for three nights and had a wonderful stay. The location is great! It is super easy to get to the city, and very convenient getting around on the city's tram system, metro, and trains. The closest Metro stop is Louise station. It's a great neighborhood to stroll through. There are tons of shops (from fancy to affordable) that line the streets and plenty of restaurants to choose from in the area. There is also an excellent grocery store close by called Delhaize (less than 5 minutes walk away) that has everything you could possibly need.

Breakfast was a decent spread. There is plenty of seating, and it was never too crowded when we went. We enjoyed making eggs in the morning using their hard-boiled egg apparatus. We particularly enjoyed the 24 hours a day coffee/tea service from their self-serve machines. That was a great relief and treat to have every time we returned to the hotel.

The beds were very comfortable! We all slept quite soundly and enjoyed the duvets.

The staff was excellent. They were very helpful in recommending restaurants that served authentic, local cuisine. We noticed that the breakfast staff was very attentive and refilled items right away and was helpful in directing customers.

The front desk staff was also very helpful and accommodating. We were a family of four so it was very much appreciated that they gave us two rooms across from each other. It was almost like we had our own private hallway, and it felt very quiet and cozy!

I had a little trouble understanding the emailed directions (that was provided by the hotel staff) to arrive at the hotel from the airport. Therefore, I thought to post the journey here in hopes of helping out other readers/travelers:

• From the airport, take the train into the city (take the train to Midi (also called Zuid))
• Transfer at Midi station. Look for the M signs (for metro) and hop on either Line 2 or 6 towards Elizabeth. Step off at the Louise station.
• Once you arrive at Louise station, exit the station and you will see a platform for the tram. Take either Tram 93 or 94 and get off at Bailli station (about 3 stops from Louise). The hotel is literally across the street. Alternatively, if you were in the mood for walking, you could depart at Louise station and walk for approximately 15-20 minutes; however, this probably would not be recommended if you had a bunch of luggage and bags in tow.

We had a pleasant experience and would absolutely stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Braemer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROUMA O, General Manager at Ibis Styles Brussels Louise, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear Braemer 26,

We took great pleasure in reading all your very nice comments towards our hotel.

Thanks to response like yours we know exactly what to do to maintain the great service that you obviously enjoyed so much.

We hope to see you and your lovely family again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Room Tip: Rooms have been renovated recently and look very nice. I had a room to the backyard and that was qui...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
Thank Philipp M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ROUMA O, General Manager at Ibis Styles Brussels Louise, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We visited Brussels for the weekend and booked into the Ibis Style on Avenue Louise. This small hotel has around 90 or so rooms on 9 floors and is situated half way along Avenue Louise. It is handy for trams and only a short walk away from Flagey where trams can be accessed to Grand Place and other parts of the city. It is clean and very comfortable, there are no frills but the price is the star here with rooms from 59euros and breakfast is included! Fantastic value which will allow you not to overspend on accommodation. I think here you get more than what you pay for since you cannot complain about the price for a city centre location, rooms are cleaned daily and staff are very friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROUMA O, Front Office Manager at Ibis Styles Brussels Louise, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Chris C,

We wish to express our appreciation for your very kind remarks.

We try our best to make sure our customers enjoy their stay, and we are glad to see that we clearly succeeded ! We look forward to your next stay.

Sophie Limbourg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Good location for Central Brussels business trip. The rooms are quite "sterile" but clean and functional. The beds are exceptional comfortable. Breakfast has a good selection and was adequate . The hotel was good value for money.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROUMA O, Front Office Manager at Ibis Styles Brussels Louise, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Brian M,

Thank you for your nice comments on our hotel, we are very happy that you appreciated your stay as well as comfortable nights !

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sophie Limbourg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We had a morning arrival after a long flight and hotel let us check-in, friendly based on the availability. The quilt is very comfortable with nice sleep during our 3 nights stay. The breakfast served with a variety of choices. The breakfast service staff is excellent and well prepared. They even offered a boiling appliance at the breakfast counter to boil your own egg. There are many restaurants and a couple of supermarkets in the neighborhood within walking distance. The location is convenient with TRAM at the cross street to connect the Brussels Metro. I shall come back to this hotel if I visit again in Brussels next time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J226_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROUMA O, Front Office Manager at Ibis Styles Brussels Louise, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear J226_C,

we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel so much, as well as visiting our beautiful city. We look forward to seeing you again !

Sophie Limbourg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Styles Brussels Centre Stephanie
0.3 mi away
Hotel Agenda Louise
Hotel Agenda Louise
#103 of 198 in Brussels
239 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Barsey by Warwick
Hotel Barsey by Warwick
#73 of 198 in Brussels
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brussels
1.3 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
0.1 mi away
Le Chatelain Hotel
Le Chatelain Hotel
#61 of 198 in Brussels
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Brussels Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Brussels Louise

Address: Avenue Louise 212, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: $81 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Brussels Louise 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Brussels Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing