We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Average Railway Station

On average railway station to the rest of Europe in size. Have great luggage storage facilities as... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
AKIsaacs
,
Cape Town
Easy Access to the Center City If You Have Time Between a Connecting Train

We had a long train trip and were interested in seeing a bit of Brussels and by leaving a few hours... read more

Reviewed October 4, 2018
2fromTX
,
San Antonio, Texas
via mobile
Read all 117 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Brussels
from $31.50
More Info
from $17.20
More Info
from $17.80
More Info
from $29.80
More Info
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
11
23
20
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
23
20
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ticket office storage lockers big train station euro star eurostar ticketing belgium
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 72 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On average railway station to the rest of Europe in size. Have great luggage storage facilities as we left Amsterdam the morning, arrived at Brussels and spend the day touring the small city and left the evening Eurostar to London

Thank AKIsaacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2018 via mobile

We had a long train trip and were interested in seeing a bit of Brussels and by leaving a few hours connecting time, it was easy. Once you get off the Thalys/TGV/EuroStar, just find any local train heading to Brussels Centraal. I was told that a transit ticket is not required, and there was no ticket gate to pass through. Centraal station is 5 or so minutes away. If you are in the gate area, you may not see a posting to show you which train to take, but you can walk between the gates and check their departure boards. Once you get to Centraal, there are plenty of things to see within a 10 minute walk, and it's very easy to get back to Midi/South (which I found after a little research were the same station.)

There is both a manned left luggage counter and quite a few self service storage lockers to use located just outside of platform 7, the largest one costing €5.50.

If you have time in between trains, there are several outdoor/indoor brasseries located just outside of the exit near the Eurostar office and platform 1.

Thank 2fromTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018

Please please please do not leave the station. We tried ordering an Uber to take us to the hotel but you have to walk a few blocks outside of the station to a meet up point. No big deal, right? Wrong. It's a very questionable crowd and within 5 minutes we had seen three different men urinating in public. Not exactly a great way to start off a trip in Brussels. We quickly realized that Uber was a mistake and made our way back to the station to simply take a taxi. You're welcome.

1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2018

I'd heard this station was a very dodgy place to be but it was ok, some nice cafes just outside, a modest selection of shops inside and a pretty average food offering. Probably not somewhere to arrive too long before your train departs

Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2018

This is a nice station with great facilities, plenty of place to eat and a shopping centre. Went there to catch the Eurostar. Used the luggage lockers and ate in the food court.

Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017

What a pleasure taking trains to and from this station. It has a great food and shopping area to make one comfortable while waiting. The ticketing areas are fast and friendly. Local mass transit is right outside. Highly recommended.

Thank samoht4samoht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2017 via mobile

This is the biggest trainhub in Belgium but besides food and frink stables there is not much else to do over here. It's a dark location with a lot of grey and not very appealing

Thank j00st78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017

We decided to splurge and travel first class Brussels to Amsterdam return. Frankly, it was a waste of money. We requested forward facing seats on both legs of our journey and what we got was just the opposite. The seats are uncomfortable and really no better than coach. We waited more than an hour at the ticket office in an effort to change the seats only to be told when we finally got to the window that was not possible. Half the staff on the train were rude and offensive. The other half not all that competent. The train manager moved us to "empty seats" so we could face forward only to have to move back to our original seats one stop later when new passengers boarded and we were in their seats. I really can't see the benefit of traveling first class.

Most importantly, on board staff, ticket office staff, all other staff need an attitude adjustment. When we have a choice, we'll definitely select another train service.

Thank buford33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2017 via mobile

The station had a lot of great shops and restaurants. The chocolate shop is worth a visit alone. Reminds me of the underground stations in Japan.

Thank 879laurelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017

Personally I hated the place, but the was a pretty good selection of eating places but none of the well know names. Directional information was light on, especially to find the Eurostar entrance. Once you were close it was fine but coming from the main platforms it was just a guess.

Don't leave the station itself, the area surrounding is a bit of a dive and with lots of youths just hanging around it didn't feel safe at all.

1  Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews