We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the trick, but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Generation Europe Youth Hostel Brussels
Ranked #15 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Brussels
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This place was OK, I hadn't really planned to stop off in Brussels but decided to do so at the last minute en route from Amsterdam to Paris, so I very quickly and randomly chose this hostel. This was veeery different from some of the much more party oriented hostels I stayed at so far on this trip so not much atmosphere but it was clean and the staff were friendly. The location was a little bit out of the way but not too far out from the centre. I met up with some people I know who live in Brussels and we were driving around for ages trying to find this place when they were trying to drop me off, and they actually lived in the city !!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 128 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

The hostel itself is very nice. The room I was in had four beds (two bunks), an en suite bathroom and lockers. The room was very simple, but comfy. Free breakfast in the morning was very good. The TV room was broken and apart from the free wifi there wasn't much to do.

In general I'd stay here again but only with a friend. It's not in a brilliant location - I wouldn't walk around on my own after dark, during the day it was ok.

Bit of a walk from town - around ten mins - not bad but with heavy packs its a bit bah.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mylifetolead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The place itself is ok, and seems secure with 2 doors to get through with a card or to be buzzed in. The rooms are good provided your company is tidy, and quiet. The beds good enough, but I wasn't supplied with blanket cover, only 2 sheets, this time of year I wasn't complaining. The Internet was good, but if you have a smart device, iPad iPhone, the remote log in means you can't get push emails, which is annoying but suvivable.
It seems my dislike is on par with everyone, I am usually ok with traversing 'interesting' districts but this one I wouldn't feel up for a night time stroll, a 6ft male saying that too.

The instructions to get here are vague, And from central it's further then it may seem. Without a pack yor fine tho.

The staff on one last note could have been more friendly, and helpful, I found most things were accomplished if I didn't bother asking. The town is beautiful and has a few things to see, but not this area sadly, suggest get accommodation elsewhere.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank brendy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The area is not good, and I felt unsafe walking around, even in the day time. I would make sure I was back at the hostel well before dark, and would not leave for dinner or anything. The rooms were large, which was good, and mine had a bathroom assigned to it personally, which was great, except the shower head was broken and not attached to the wall, which was horrible. My room also smelt funny, even though I had the window open all the time.
The breakfast is quite good though. My room also was a bit dirty, and it doesnt seem as though the blanket covers are washed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caitlin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The hostel was wonderful. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean, and had lockers provided. The location, however, was terrible. The hostel is located just on the outskirts of the centre and the neighborhood is not pleasant. My sister and I arrived in Brussels as it was getting dark, there were groups of boys jeering at us as we walked past and graffiti on the walls that said "go away tourist". I would not go back to this hostel, the neighborhood made my stay very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skandwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I found this hostel pretty good. I was in a 4 bed dorm, and liked that each bed had its own reading light and little shelf, and that the room had its own bathroom and toilet, and that each were separate so each could be used at the same time. The big lockers plus cubby hole for your bag were good. Free wifi was good, and the free breakfast was good with a good range of things. There was also a kitchen to use, but they didnt have any mugs for some reason. The only thing I didnt like was the area it was in. I wouldnt have walked there by myself at night. It also took 10 -15 mins to walk into the main city area. But even so, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meganrachael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Friendly helpful staff, nice clean and spacious rooms. Good breakfast. Each room (or most of them) has its own shower and toilet. A youthful ambiance. A lot of students come in groups, so make sure you book rooms early. The only concern is that the area around the hostel doesn't look safe to walk alone late at night. HI hostel quality can't be too bad.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
1 mi away
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
#2 of 149 in Brussels
639 reviews
2.7 mi away
Train Hostel
Train Hostel
#3 of 149 in Brussels
180 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brxxl 5 City Centre Hostel
Brxxl 5 City Centre Hostel
#5 of 149 in Brussels
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
2Go4 Grand Place
2Go4 Grand Place
#7 of 149 in Brussels
185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jacques Brel Youth Hostel
Jacques Brel Youth Hostel
#9 of 149 in Brussels
346 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brussels Hello Hostel
Brussels Hello Hostel
#1 of 2 in Koekelberg
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generation Europe Youth Hostel Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generation Europe Youth Hostel Brussels

Address: Rue de l'Elephant 4, Brussels 1080, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 149 Specialty Lodging in Brussels
Price Range: $55 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Generation Europe Youth Hostel Brussels 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BE.Welcome in Brussels, BE.Welcome in Generation Europe! Our Assets: Free WiFi, free parking, complimentary organic and local buffet breakfast, central but quiet place, good connections to discover the whole city and with delicious Belgian Craft beers… Everything for an affordable price! The Generation Europe Youth Hostel is strategically situated near the Canal of Brussels, at about 15 minutes walking from the Grand’ Place and at about 10 minutes from the Rue Antoine Dansaert and Sainte-Catherine district for the shopping lovers, as well as from the Saint-Géry district for the nightlife. The hostel has a big outdoor space which is a big asset in the centre of the European Capital. Situated in the city of the European comic, don’t miss the big mural panels in the hall of our hostel! What can you find nearby the hostel? - Museums/Art Galleries (Belgian Comic Centre, MIMA, La Fonderie Museum) - Historical sites and main attractions (Grand’ Place, Manneken Pis, Sainte-Catherine) - Nightlife (St-Géry District, VK concerts, Brussels Beer Project) - Restaurants - Shopping Centre/Markets (Rue Neuve and Rue Dansaert – Place de Jeu de Balle) SERVICES & FACILITIES - Reception 24/7 - Room check in is available from 2:00 pm. - Check out before 11:00 am - Free Internet (PCs) and WiFI - Buffet breakfast always included in the overnight (including Local and organic food) - Self-serve kitchen at your disposal - Bar serving everyday fresh Belgian Craft Beer. - Foosball and Pool Table - Outdoor garden – unique in town - Tawels renting (1,50 Eur) - Parking for cars, busses and motorhomes - Lift - Disabled accessible - GREEN KEY Label (ecofriendly) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Generation Europe Youth Hostel Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generation Europe Youth Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing