We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value - I have seen much worse youth hostels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good value - I have seen much worse youth hostels”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We stayed in this hostel in September with a group of teenagers. The location of the hostel is very central, which makes it easy to find.
The kids had dorms, with shared bathrooms. None of the 27 kids complained, so I take that as a good sign.
The teachers had ensuite rooms, which were definitely ok. They were more or less clean, I don't think that you can really expect more for that money! The shower - well, the first person had a hot shower, the second person a rather "fresh" one.
Breakfast was ok. There wasn't that much choice, but again none of the teenagers of our group complained.
Staff was quite friendly, and we had the possibility to leave our bags in a room before our departure,
If ever I return to Brussel again with a youth group, I will definitely book that hostel again

Room Tip: they have ensuite rooms as well as rooms with shared bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikkiLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    259
    95
    29
    18
See reviews for
44
81
198
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Very clean and quiet, however the construction behind the hostel always interrupt.shower was too cold in the morning. lockout time is a nuisance. one of the best hostel ive ever been to.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siti Zafirah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

It was close to the subway station, close to a shopping area and pretty easy to find. I found that the morning/afternoon counter people weren't as friendly as the man who was doing the night shift.

For the two nights that I stayed there, there was no hot water. First I was staying in a private suite with washroom included. Our shower did not work, we were reimbursed and they fixed the shower the next day. I used the common shower, and it was lukewarm water, that turned warm but it was ice cold for a few minutes and lasted a long time. I heard other complaints about the lack of warm water. The next day, the shower was fixed but there wasn't hot water. It could be my fault because I did not bother to complain this time because it was similar to the night before. It was ice cold water.

The wifi is paid for. For the time I was there, it was 1 Euro for 30 min or 1.50Euro for 1hr. Which isn't bad, I have experienced more expensive wifi. Breakfast is pretty basic. There is juice, toast, cereal, coffee or tea. Just have to wait a long time for people to get their food. There is a bar downstairs near the washer and dryer. I was part of the Sleep Well Star for the private double, so our room was very big and we had a lot of room.

I'm not sure how I feel about this hostel. The cold water definately made the stay less enjoyable, and our room was facing the parking garage so we couldn't sleep due to the noise. We had to leave our window open or else it'd be too stuffy in the room.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choco_robba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

This hostel was very clean and professional. The bedding was comfortable, sleep quality excellent, plenty of space to relax in the main areas, great showering facilities (except for the dreaded 10 sec push button) and very close to everything in the city. However, if you are traveling as a couple, be prepared to sleep in separate dorms as males and females are separated. We were very disappointed with breakfast and were expecting that such a large, established hostel would have a decent breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose a private room if traveling as a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laureni90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I spent one night in a shared dorm and one night in a private room. The price difference for each was marginal.
It wasn't overly social, but then again, I didn't get there until quite late at night.
It was spacious and friendly enough though.
Remember to take your own towels and jandals for the shared shower.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChezzaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

This hostel is huge and clean. It felt more like a budget hotel than a youth hostel. The prices were the best I saw during my entire trip through Europe. We were able to splurge on a private room because of the savings. The bathroom was huge but towels are not provided. There was also a little tv in the room though we didn't end up using it.

The staff was helpful. You can buy discounted tickets to a lot of attractions at the front desk and the staff had some great recommendations of what to do. Breakfast was basic, but free. The first floor had computers (pay for internet) and a game/movie room. There was a bar in the basement but it wasn't open the whole time we were there.

Just a short walk to central station, the Grand Place, and every restaurant or bar you'd need during your visit. The Rogier metro stop is nearby but we didn't really need to use it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillyjolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The hostel is well situated,metro Rogier behind City 2 shopping Center and Inno Galleria, very bussy during the day, but during the night is very quite.
The hostel is huge 6 flors, 14 types of rooms and i saw guest from all over the world.
I had a bed in a dorm with shared bathroom; not that bad, but between 11 and 3 pm the rooms are closed for cleaning "lock out",simple breakfast (coffee, toast, cereals, milk, tea, butter, jam, some belgium "thing" called speculose that's very tasty); clean and basic utilities.
You can go to your room beggining 3 pm but as i arrived in the morning , i've dropped my bag in the luggage room that's no secured, paid, got my key and head to the town center 10' walk.
cheap=less free services provided(no towels, no soap, no free internet) but you can rent or buy everything at the reception if you need. if you need comfort just get a hotel more starts, more free services included

Good:
helpfull stuff (i did my check in with Ovi, he even made me a different walking tour; i really apreciated that)
internet point (paid but good pc)
book exchange point

Bad:
the card from the room and elevator had to be change often
noisy during the night
small place to lock your valuables in the room


If you like beer, chips, mussels, chocolate and waffles, you will love Brussels.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chocolatekindom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.9 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
1,882 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
1.5 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Train Hostel
Train Hostel
#3 of 130 in Brussels
137 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brxxl 5 City Centre Hostel
Brxxl 5 City Centre Hostel
#4 of 130 in Brussels
550 reviews
0.2 mi away
2Go4 De Brouckere
2Go4 De Brouckere
#6 of 130 in Brussels
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Well Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Well Youth Hostel

Property: Sleep Well Youth Hostel
Address: Rue du Damier 23, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Well Youth Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our advantages: Ideal location - Complimentary breakfast - Maximum comfort - Excellent price / quality ratio - free wifi Located in the heart of Brussels, 10 minutes' walk from Grand Place and Gare du Nord and 100m from the Rogier Metro Station and a shopping center, Sleep Well is the ideal starting point to explore the European capital. All rooms are fully renovated and equipped with bathroom and private toilet. Bed linens are provided. Several options are available: dorm beds from 1 to 6 beds (lockout between 11am and 15pm), private superior twin or triple room (flat screen TV + fridge, no lockout), family duplex. The building and rooms are suitable for wheelchair users. The complimentary breakfast is varied and abundant. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hostel. Sleep well has a bar, a ping-pong table, a foosball table, board games, book swap, .... The hostel has a great interest in ecology and was rewarded for his efforts concerning the environment by the green Key and the Eco-dynamic label. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Sleep Well Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Well Youth Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing