We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“POSH AND FANTASTIC LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thon Residence Florence
Ranked #55 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Brussels
Reviewed August 13, 2010

GOOD POINTS: Nice location, very large appartment, in fact very posh. Everyone thinks you paid a fortune to stay there. you can walk to the city center. Nice environment and free secured parking. My appartment felt like a penthouse.
BAD POINTS: No air con, the double bed is two single bed put together and poor bed quality. The tv in the bedroom was not working and fan in toilet and bathroom not working. The cleaning is not really done properly. The appartment was dusty, the bathoom was clean but a better job could have been done. The general appearence was clean but looking at the details, you do notice that the management is not very strict and does not maybe check to make sure that it is spotless and this is what is leting it down. The only way to make sure that no negative feedbak is given is to make sure everything is working and cleaned properly. we did have 2 little fans in the bedrooms but these apparts are posh and in a good locations, so fans are not enough, there need to be proper air con.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAULETINO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
There are newer reviews for Thon Residence Florence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 46 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2010

Spent a week in Brussels with my sister in law in February and she chose this apartment hotel in a fantastic location. It is on a quiet side street. We had a lovely two bedroom, one and a half bath apartment, with living room, dining room and kitchen. The cost was well below local hotels and the comfort excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markroy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We stayed at the Residence Florence for 4 nights, the appartment is quite big for Europe standards. Two single beds stuck together - powder room on ground floor, big large bathroom on 2nd floor with bath and shower. Fridge, safe, kitchen, utensils available, and washer and dryer in garage. This is a very good value if you're looking for something that feels like home, though there is no room service and you have to bring your own dishsoap. 30 minute walk to city centre, and trams are 5 minute walk. Safe area, grocery store nearby, not many restaurants around.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fcsklabrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2008

Having read the reviews of these apartments I expected something clean but VERY basic and was pleasantly surprised by the overall standard, much higher than expected.

I confirmed our booking with Expedient whom the apartment was booked through a few days before we went and also with Thon Residence. Both confirmed our booking without problems and gave a reference number to use upon check in. After arriving by train we took a taxi from Gare Central to the main check in at Bristol Stephanie hotel (Taxi costs 7 Euros and takes approx 10 mins) We were greeted with a warm welcome and given the keys to apartment B41. A concergie loaded our bags on to a trolley and kindly walked with to the residence so we knew which of the 3 buildings our apartment was in (A/B/C) The entrance is secure and can only be accessed by the key you are given and lift or stairs to all floors.

On checking the apartment it was apparent that it hadn't been cleaned from the previous occupants. I went back to the the main hotel to ask if we had been given the wrong apartment as it hadn't been cleaned. The Duty Manager was called and came down a few minutes later with another set of keys. He apologised profusely for the inconvenience and had upgraded us to a 3 bed apartment in Residence C, apartment C53.

They kindly provided us with a very clear street map and metro map.

The spacious apartment conisted of: Lobby, Lounge area with TV, DVD & Satalite and comfortable seating + Desk with chair, Dinning area with a table and seating for 6, Kitchen, 2 seperate Toilets, Shower Room, Bathroom, 3 Bedrooms. Towels were provided, toiletries and a hair dryer. Ironing Board and hoover were also provided. Internet access available if required.

The kitchen was adequately equiped with almost everything you could wish to use to prepare a meal with good quality crockery.
Fridge/Freezer/Dishwasher/Microwave/Electric Hob and Cooker - being as someone had commented that washing up liquid and a dishcloth had not been provided I did take them with me. Lots of cupboard space and a small table.This apartment would be more than adequate for a long term stay in Brussels. There is a considerable amount of cupboard storage throughout the apartment.

Bristol Stephanie hotel is no more than a 5 or 6 minute walk around the corner. Place Stefanie where you can catch a tram is a 10 min walk up past the Hotel and past Witchers hotel. Metro at Louise is about a 15 min walk. We purchased a 10 journey Jump ticket which covers Tram/Metro and Buses (you can switch between all three and if your journey is within one hour you only have one 'Jump' taken off your ticket) Tickets should be validated in the orange machines at Metro stations on Trams and buses.

There is a small fruit and general store on Rue du Florance just a little further up from the Apartment and a Pizza restaurant at the end of the street . A larger GB Express supermarket can be found at Place Stefanie - look for the BelleRose shop, it's next door. There is also a Godiva Chocolate shop and Paul Patisserie which always had a queue outside so it must be a good shop!!

For evening meals we walked back up heading towards Avenue Louise and found a restaurant on a side street (beware not all of them open on a Sunday evening!)

We very much enjoyed our stay at Thon Florence Residence and I would quite happily go back again. Be aware that Brussels is very hilly but there are many tourist sights within walking distance - Grand Place is only a 30 min walk if you are reasonably fit. The easiest way is to walk to the Palace du Justice and take the glass lift down and just follow the signs.........Avenue Louise is famous for its designer clothing and footwear shops and has a really good selection to suit all tastes.

Sablon has an Antiques market on Saturday and Sunday and there is usually something going on in Grand Place at weekends.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Poppycottage7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2007

We got two bedroom, a big living room with a LCD screen, a 6 people dining room and a full kitchen for the same we pay for a double room in a regular hotel. Even though it was not luxury, it was very spacious and clean. We were three adults and was great to have two bathrooms. We will come back with our kids. Several shops and restaurants at walking distance. I was very impressed by the value we get for the money.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JFChile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2007

I stayed here for quite a while actually... but I only really stayed on because it was too inconvenient to change accommodations. The place failed to meet my expectations of a "serviced apartment" though staff was friendly enough, and when necessary could, with a bit of coaxing, get things done. But look at my experience with At Home Wellington (New Zealand) - review posted, and this completely pales in comparison. Like one other reviewer, I agree. It is the small things that count... and unfortunately Florence falls short on delivering these. Therefore, I would only recommend it for big groups, and only for a week, or maximum two weeks. It's then that the value for money really kicks in. Otherwise, if you are alone or just two, you might be better off at some of the other serviced apartments on/just off Ave Louise e.g. Poirots (it comes recommended by three colleagues), and perhaps, Suite Home, which looks good on the website. Though they are much smaller than the ones offered at Florence.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank portugal2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2007

We stayed here in May for three nights- a party of 4 people.
We booked a 3 bedroomed apartment as it was only a couple of pounds more to do so.
Only one bedroom had a double bed, the other two has singles. It was a spacious apartment, with everthing you could need-APART FROM; toilet roll, washing up liquid/dish washer tablets and tea towels/dish cloth.
Im not bothered about soap etc as I always use my own products. The hotel is in a nice location, and you feel very safe walking around. 4 days in Brussells was more than enough for sight seeing I thought- and we had one day in Bruge, which is really easy and cheap to get to from Brussells, the undeground system is easy to use also and cheap.
Loving the waffles and crepes I would go back for them-not my favourite city break though!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkdebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.7 mi away
Thon Residence Parnasse
Thon Residence Parnasse
#12 of 15 in Ixelles
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Brussels Centre Stephanie
0.0 mi away
Thon Hotel Bristol Stephanie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Izan Avenue Louise
Izan Avenue Louise
#121 of 198 in Brussels
562 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Brussels
0.1 mi away
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
#27 of 198 in Brussels
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Residence Florence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Residence Florence

Address: Avenue Louise 91-93 | Rue de Florence 1-11, Brussels 1050, Belgium (Formerly Golden Tulip Residence Florence)
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Brussels
Price Range: $152 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Residence Florence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thon Residence Florence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Residence Florence Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing