We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique burger with great price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hemgie's - CLOSED

Hemgie's
Price range: $16 - $27
Cuisines: American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“unique burger with great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

rolling around Brussel,visit this resto because of tripadvisor review, the service nice and good,but it quite slow to serve a burger.
the burger is so tall and thick,with fried onion, salad, etc.
its great price for the burger around 15eur and you get side salad or fries. but the meat too dry for us even when we asked for red. and too salty.
anyway its a great burger and place to hang out. its just we expecting more than that. the bacon burger we found not so far from this resto for 10eur much bigger and tasty.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank peachcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    136
    39
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kampot, Cambodia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious hamburgers and great service!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

We visit Brussels at least once a year to see friends and family, and we alwalys try to keep one day to go and have lunch at Hemgie's. Their hamburgers are just great, the fries and the onion rings.....yummy!!! And there is always a great Belgian beer to accompany the lunch...The service is one of the best I have ever had. So I strongly reccommend this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raquel_Gilles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great choice of burgers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

I went there last weekend with some friends. They have a nice choice of interesting burgers. I did choose one with blue cheese and chicory, which was really delicious. The bun is home made and the meat deliciously cooked. I don't understand why some people call it upscale or expensive. It is not a fast food place but a stylish restaurant where you get good meat.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simonezitrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

I read the positive reviews here and dicided to give it a try..
the burger it self is less than average. .
Fries has taste of old oil..it seems he fried it in old stink oil which made the taste terrible. .
I don't recommend this place ..there is better shops for buger in better price!

Helpful?
Thank Roro K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

Lived up to all the high reviews. Excellent burgers, homemade rolls, delicious. Upscale little place just a bit away from the craziness of the elbow to elbow beer drinking restaurants. Was able to get a table for 5 on a Saturday night without a reservation, but a call in advance may be a good idea. Had two kids (7&10) and even though this place is a bit more upscale, we were perfectly welcomed, & they had a great kids burger for 9.50. Burgers, entree salads run 14-15 euro, a couple steaks for around 22, and reasonably priced drinks.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JEH2348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemgie's also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing