We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Burgers!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hemgie's - CLOSED

Hemgie's
Price range: $16 - $27
Cuisines: American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous Burgers!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Right in the middle of where you want to be, great location, great food.

We had the "Hemgie" burger, fries and beer. Cannot say enough about the presentation and taste! We asked for them to be well one, which was perfect, these are thick burgers. Best burgers we have ever had! Service was quick and friendly and restaurant was stylish and clean.

A must if you want great burgers and beer in Brussels!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PAMCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    136
    39
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Way over rated and overpriced!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Belgium is famous with its fries as we all know, so i had a high expectation with the fries. In Hemgie's, they serve wedges instead of fries. The first dissappointment is the wedges, KFC could do better with the wedges. It's kind of crispy outside but "powdery" inside. Secondly, the beef in the burger is partly very salty and partly not. My friend claimed that her beef is tastless. ?14 for a burger, i would rather spend it in other restaurant with better quality, such as 9 et voisins and nuetnigenough which serve good veal and beef stew.

Helpful?
Thank RevinaT
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Meise, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The home made burgers are not only special and creative but also delicious. The service is absolutely excellent. Friendly, personalised, attention to detail! A place that I will visit regularly. Reservations are required.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best burger”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We booked for a Saturday night here, and once we were in the restaurant it didn't seem overly busy however we soon realised that they were fully booked as numerous groups were turned away. The service was attentive, and although we had to wait a while for the food we appreciated this as it was all fresh and we were enjoying the experience.

I had the Tex Mex burger, and it was the best burger that I have ever eaten. It was cooked medium and was very flavourful, the bun was also amazing which made the difference.

I would definitely recommend booking here if in Brussels.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice food, bad service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We had one burger with french fries and a steak with salad and cooked potato. The food was delicious! However, the waitress wasnt able to speak english at all! Even in french she couldnt explain the menu. Once it was in the end of the evening, the waitress started to clean the restaurant and take away the tables before our dinner arrive.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemgie's also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing