We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place ever, DON'T stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bruegel Youth Hostel
Ranked #92 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Brussels
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Went here at the middle of october in 2012 with my classmates on a classtrip to Brussels. Unfriendly staff, dirty rooms, dirty toilets. Everything was just BAD. You had to leave the hostel between 10am and 1pm so they could "clean" (there was no cleaning done). You also had to be back at 1am otherwise you would be locked out until 7am. Folks, don't stay here, this is the worst place I've ever visited.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 179 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

First the directions provided on the website aren't that clear. Once I finally arrived, there were two people at the reception counter and one was training the other. No problem, but when there is a line, I would like you would want to speed things up so that people aren't waiting in line for 30 minutes. Room was fine and clean, but the bathrooms were something else. The toilet area was fine, but the showers...the drain was constantly clogged with hair and puddles of stagnant water on the floor. And what boggles my mind is that they kick everyone out of the hostel from 10-2 to clean, but I'm not exactly sure what they are cleaning. This is the first hihostel that I've been to, but you can only access it from the reception area. I didn't see a tv room or any general indoor common area besides the bar/club downstairs. The location is great though and the staff was friendly enough. Free breakfast is typical continental, but no toaster to toast your bread.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarmenSandiego2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The rooms were dirty, the showers were unhygienic, Wi-Fi was only available in the common room, hostel closes already at 1 clock and locks up at 7 clocks. The shower has a half to no door. Showers in the corridor are also unappealing. In the toilets there is no soap or towels or a hand dryer blower. Between 10 and 2 clock, all guests must leave the house, probably to clean - but actually displays only the bins emptied. The food is a waste of money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eder011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Dear possible visitor of Bruegel
So let us break down your plan:
You are getting ready to go to Bruxelles, a very interesting and fun city. Maybe during the stay, you plan to visit some of the great EU-institutions that exist in the city? Well in the case you should fill up on some good breakfast. But NO, the Bruegel breakfast that consists of dry bread and if you are lucky one piece of fruit will not be the meal that gets you ready for the day, not even after 4 cups of the terrible coffee.
Well, it's a hostel right? I mean of course it isn’t the Ritz! Maybe you could look up some great coffee shops and brunch places online? Well that might be a problem, since the wifi at Bruegel Hostel seems like a throwback to the late 1990's.. But hey, how knows? Maybe you enjoyed the great 90's with the weird euro-dance music and funny outfits... At LEAST you are in Bruxelles! The city of bars and great beer! Let's go out for a drink and stay out late! But wait, hey what? THEY LOCK UP BRUEGEL AT 1 AM?! Yep, that's right. Bruegel closes down at 1 am which makes it almost impossible to make it home with public transportation.
So; unless you enjoy limited freedom, or you want to really appreciate wherever you are coming from, I would NEVER recommend this place, not even to my worst enemy.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hostel is great. We arrived here early so we had to put our backpacks in the locker room and be around til 2pm. The staff was very nice, the gave us a cool map and directions so we used it right away.
We were a party of 3 so we had a female 4 bedroom, so we had to share with a stranger. It had a shower inside. All other facilities were across the room. They were clean and comfortable.
Since we had a car and we had to park it at a car park, we discovered very late how close to everything the hostel is, it has a great location but its not in the middle of everything, so it was nice.
The last night of our stay we had an inconvenience. An old lady peed our shower, the bedroom reeked of smell of urine. The staff was most helpful and kind and they changed us to another more expensive room even though that was not their fault, but the fault of the other guest.
The other areas of the hostel were great. They have free WiFi on the dining area and a bar located downstairs.
The breakfast was good, Bread and cereal as in any other hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarleeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Very dirty bathroom with no drain in the shower. You can only get wifi in the common area and it's closed 10am - 1pm and 1am - 7am. Breakfast is only until 9am so do not wake up late for breakfast. Crappy music in the bar.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yuyattin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Last weekend in Brussels was great again. First checked in at the hostel, and it was great seeing the staff again. So friendly! Then a visit to the new Hard Rock Cafe, which is only 15 minutes walk from the hostel. After the HRC back to the hostel, where it's "Backpacker Bar" is open till late....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennisv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
2Go4 Grand Place
2Go4 Grand Place
#9 of 145 in Brussels
175 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jacques Brel Youth Hostel
Jacques Brel Youth Hostel
#8 of 145 in Brussels
333 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
#2 of 145 in Brussels
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Brussels Hello Hostel
Brussels Hello Hostel
#1 of 2 in Koekelberg
319 reviews
1.1 mi away
Generation Europe Youth Hostel Brussels
0.4 mi away
Brxxl 5 City Centre Hostel
Brxxl 5 City Centre Hostel
#4 of 145 in Brussels
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruegel Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruegel Youth Hostel

Address: Rue du Saint-Esprit 2, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 145 Specialty Lodging in Brussels
Price Range: $25 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Bruegel Youth Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing