We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not recommended for further” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bruegel Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bruegel Youth Hostel
Ranked #84 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Brussels
Salzburg, Austria
1 review
“Not recommended for further”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The rooms were dirty, the showers were unhygienic, Wi-Fi was only available in the common room, hostel closes already at 1 clock and locks up at 7 clocks. The shower has a half to no door. Showers in the corridor are also unappealing. In the toilets there is no soap or towels or a hand dryer blower. Between 10 and 2 clock, all guests must leave the house, probably to clean - but actually displays only the bins emptied. The food is a waste of money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eder011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    38
    35
    18
    62
See reviews for
6
17
37
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Dear possible visitor of Bruegel
So let us break down your plan:
You are getting ready to go to Bruxelles, a very interesting and fun city. Maybe during the stay, you plan to visit some of the great EU-institutions that exist in the city? Well in the case you should fill up on some good breakfast. But NO, the Bruegel breakfast that consists of dry bread and if you are lucky one piece of fruit will not be the meal that gets you ready for the day, not even after 4 cups of the terrible coffee.
Well, it's a hostel right? I mean of course it isn’t the Ritz! Maybe you could look up some great coffee shops and brunch places online? Well that might be a problem, since the wifi at Bruegel Hostel seems like a throwback to the late 1990's.. But hey, how knows? Maybe you enjoyed the great 90's with the weird euro-dance music and funny outfits... At LEAST you are in Bruxelles! The city of bars and great beer! Let's go out for a drink and stay out late! But wait, hey what? THEY LOCK UP BRUEGEL AT 1 AM?! Yep, that's right. Bruegel closes down at 1 am which makes it almost impossible to make it home with public transportation.
So; unless you enjoy limited freedom, or you want to really appreciate wherever you are coming from, I would NEVER recommend this place, not even to my worst enemy.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brussels hotels

Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hostel is great. We arrived here early so we had to put our backpacks in the locker room and be around til 2pm. The staff was very nice, the gave us a cool map and directions so we used it right away.
We were a party of 3 so we had a female 4 bedroom, so we had to share with a stranger. It had a shower inside. All other facilities were across the room. They were clean and comfortable.
Since we had a car and we had to park it at a car park, we discovered very late how close to everything the hostel is, it has a great location but its not in the middle of everything, so it was nice.
The last night of our stay we had an inconvenience. An old lady peed our shower, the bedroom reeked of smell of urine. The staff was most helpful and kind and they changed us to another more expensive room even though that was not their fault, but the fault of the other guest.
The other areas of the hostel were great. They have free WiFi on the dining area and a bar located downstairs.
The breakfast was good, Bread and cereal as in any other hostel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Very dirty bathroom with no drain in the shower. You can only get wifi in the common area and it's closed 10am - 1pm and 1am - 7am. Breakfast is only until 9am so do not wake up late for breakfast. Crappy music in the bar.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yuyattin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anholt, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Last weekend in Brussels was great again. First checked in at the hostel, and it was great seeing the staff again. So friendly! Then a visit to the new Hard Rock Cafe, which is only 15 minutes walk from the hostel. After the HRC back to the hostel, where it's "Backpacker Bar" is open till late....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennisv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

I have travelled extensively over Europe, East Asia and China and mostly stay over at hostels. My experience is that Hostels are generally very good. HiHostel Breugel is not suitable for adult-students but more for school kids. The noise level and bad behaviour of school groups staying over, makes it a very unpleasant stay. Shouting, screaming, running in the corridors and banging doors all night long, should not be allowed. The toilets and showers are dirty. The showers don't drain the water away and the shower doors can't close properly. The lock out rule between 10:00 and 14:00 is an unacceptable rule. I am paying for my room for a full day but are not allowed to enter the hostel during those ours.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Komarom, Hungary
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

The hostel is situated close to the center. Just a few steps from Manneken Pis and Grand Place.This is the only advantage!!! Our room was very simple. (bunk beds with plastic mattresses)The shower cabin was broken so the bathroom was always flooded. And bad smell came from the shower. The window (with poor sound insulation) looks onto the street and the traffic noise was heard in the room all day/night. The hostel is closed every day from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. because "they are cleaning". We don't know what they are cleaning. :)
The staff was friendly and the breakfast was OK. Free Wi-Fi was available in the common area.
The baggage store room is useful, but when the hostel is closed was not allowed to use that.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pillang0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
1.0 mi away
Jacques Brel Youth Hostel
Jacques Brel Youth Hostel
#12 of 117 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
#2 of 117 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brxxl 5 City Centre Hostel
Brxxl 5 City Centre Hostel
#4 of 117 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Train Hostel
Train Hostel
#3 of 117 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Urban City Centre Hostel
Urban City Centre Hostel
#54 of 117 in Brussels
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.5 mi away
Midi Station Hotel
Midi Station Hotel
#72 of 117 in Brussels
3.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bruegel Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bruegel Youth Hostel

Property: Bruegel Youth Hostel
Address: Rue du Saint-Esprit 2, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bruegel Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bruegel Youth Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing