We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it here!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jacques Brel Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jacques Brel Youth Hostel
Ranked #12 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Brussels
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Love it here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed 2 nights 24-26 May 2013 in a private room. Clean, neat, private, quiet, excellent service. My room directly opens its windows to a huge balcony and I love it. The staff even helped me with my luggage when I needed to bring to the basement to temporarily keep them until I got checked in. The night staff was a super friendly guy who helped me check my next destination with details and care, and even discussed my needs with them in French.

And all the hostelites I met were very kind and helpful to each other. We helped each other with bags.

What will bring it to a 5 star rating will be the breakfast and surrounding. The breakfast spread is thin, just cold bread and cold eggs. The nearest convenience store is about 12 min walk away, crossing a major road. And carrying 2 litres of drinks for a lady to walk that distance is taxing, for me at least.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuzimomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    118
    66
    16
    15
See reviews for
20
48
72
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
132 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here two nights on a short trip to Brussels. Nice clean well run hostel. Lovely staff who answered questions in a friendly way. They have a good breakfast. Lots of hot water in the showers and pretty tight security. All in all a good place to stay - cheap.

The hostel bar is no great shake. Dank and confining in the basement but around the corner are a couple of wonderful places for a beer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmic_beancounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douai, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed here for one night in a dorm room. It was really nice! The staff were very helpful, the facilities were nice, and the breakfast was definitely the fullest and most wide-ranging hostel breakfast I've seen. I also spent a couple hours in the evening at the bar, where the bartender played some really good music and was very helpful too.

One issue: the room where I stayed was overheated and I could not figure out a way to turn the heat down (I think I put it already on the minimum level). This made it rather uncomfortable.

Also it would be nice to put soap and a trash can in the little washroom by the dorm room (and maybe a towel or hand-dryer too).

Still, for the most part I really enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 993AnnaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hostel is quite difficult to find but it is certainly in a very nice part of town. Right near a huge flowery roundabout it's just down a side street tucked away.
One thing I really appreciated is the security of this place - there's a huge metal gate and entry is through a swipe card.
In bedrooms (providing you have a padlock, if not you can buy one) there are lockable storage compartments (if you are in dorms) and there is a basement downstairs with lots of lockable individual spaces to put suitcases so you don't have to worry!
Breakfast is good as hostels go and there is a good selection of donuts, juice, tea, coffee, basic fruit and cheese and cooked meats.
THey have a tennis table which is free to use (which is very good!) and cheap vending machines for free.
Wifi is free also and there are computers for you to use also free of charge.
The bar is also very reasonably priced.
Reception staff very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area and how to get around/calling a cab for you etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosephFurness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed in twin bed private ensuite,i was nice, room was very big, beds comfy, lockers in room, security in general was perfect, however bathroom was tiny, and not really clean. Breakfast was awesome,such a big choise of foods and drinks. Location was ok, i walked to the center, it can be 20 minutes maybe, free internet and wifi, i totally recommend staying here...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maiklcz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaricum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed in the hostel to celebrate our birthday, The hostel was recommended by the art hostel that had not enough place for our group.
We were with a group of 30 poeple and this was the only hostel in Brussels that could host our group. The price was very good (20 euro's per person) and the rooms were clean. The guy behind the bar let us pour our own drinks to our friends. Checkout was easy and quick. I would recommomend this hostel to anyone who holds a party in Brussels and wants to invite a lot of friends!
The only drawback is that it is almost impossible to get to the hostel by car.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Going on my first trip alone to Brussels was for me quite a scary new experience. However thanks to the friendly staff and the nice atmosphere in the youth hostel I had a great first trip, I would not hesitate in returning and will for sure recommend this youth hostel to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rthieme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
1.3 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,679 reviews
1.6 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brxxl 5 City Centre Hostel
Brxxl 5 City Centre Hostel
#4 of 117 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
#2 of 117 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacques Brel Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacques Brel Youth Hostel

Property: Jacques Brel Youth Hostel
Address: Rue de la Sablonniere 30, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jacques Brel Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel is ideally located at about 10 min walking from the Brussels Main Square (Grand-Place). Nearby, you'll be able to take a picture of the Manneken-Pis. The hostel is located on the Place des Barricades, a amazing neoclassic square with typical white buildings. A really relaxing and quit place right in the centre of the capital city. From the hostel, you can easily reach the European Parliament, and if you'd rather go for food pleasures, the famous Belgian chocolate makers and local breweries are waiting for you! If you're tempted by fashion, you can easily go to the Dansaert and Saint-Géry as well as to Louise, Porte de Namur and Rue Neuve neighbourhoods. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Jacques Brel Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacques Brel Youth Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing