We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A step back into "old" Brussels” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Mort Subite

La Mort Subite
Ranked #5 of 93 Nightlife in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Beer lovers start your Belgium beer experience near the Grand-Place at La Mort Subite with your first sampling at this popular pub, including its own home-brew concoction called Sudden Death.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A step back into "old" Brussels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Make this a must-do if you're in Brussels for a short time. Everything about the place is "traditional." Waiters seem like they've been there for decades, and are helpful and nice, but a bit on the brusque side, as you'd expect them to be. Don't go for a big meal, but a snack and a drink, and you'll enjoy the atmosphere as much as what you order. Beer drinkers, try the "gueze," which tastes a bit like cider, but is a cloudy, unfiltered Belgian specialty, and the cherry kriek, which is delicious and a Mort Subite specialty (sold in bottles all over Belgium and beyond).

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cokead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    171
    38
    15
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for a drink before dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Excellent place for a couple of drinks with friends or in couple.
I really love the ambience and if you love beer you arrived at the right place.
Recommended "mix":
-Rochefort 8
-Geuze Mort Subite
-Orval

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Willibert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
125 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Fantastic old-world bar with wonderful beers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

This old-fashioned beer hall feels like the set for a pre-WW1 costume drama. Lots of arts and craftsy decor, mirrors, gilt, and a very convivial atmosphere in the late evenings. True, the waiters are rather brusque and no-nonsense (but no worse than I've had in other places, like Paris), but this did not bother me at all.

The beers are marvellous, and coming here in the evening is a good complement to a visit to the Cantillon brewery. The lambic style beer is the most specific to Brussels (rather than being bitter, the predominant sensation is of a refreshing sourness) - I particularly liked a white lambic that they served that had a sour and creamy taste (yes, at the same time).

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Bielding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great café”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

One of the oldest cafés in Brussels.
It's a great place to just sit down and have a beer.
Would not really recommend eating there, though the food's not bad.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Pieter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampstead, New Hampshire
1 review
“Run away from La Mort Subite as quickly as you can, unless you enjoy abuse.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

We read a glowing review of this bar and due to my love of Lambic beers, we went. The waiter was rude in the extreme, the service abominable, and apparently, while eating, the Belgians do not believe ins using napkins. When we requested napkins with our salads, that request was REFUSED. My Husband's french, who is bilingual btw, was corrected, altough my Husband speaks Parisian French perfectly. My Husband, who is usually forgiving of poor service and a generous tipper, left nothing for a tip. I have NEVER seen him do this before no matter how miserable the service was. You can get the same beers in another Bar, and there are plently of them. Don't bother unless you enjoy being abused.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank Shoeempress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mort Subite also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to La Mort Subite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing