We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mama Mia! A Little Gem”
Review of Canto 21

Canto 21
Ranked #584 of 3,650 Restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mama Mia! A Little Gem”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This place is a real find. I'm nearly tempted to not say how good it is for fear it'll be overrun with customers and I'll never get a seat! In saying that, the food is so great and reasonably priced, I would happily take it home or to the Parc and enjoy a taste of Tuscany there. But then I'd miss out on the hospitality of the amazing staff who always make you feel welcome and are willing to stop and chat. I can highly recommend the chicken pizzaiola and, as for the contadini, ~ I've never tasted anything like it in my life.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LieslVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    5
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tiny cosy Italian place near Schuman area with home-made food feeling”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I got to know this place through a colleague at work who recommended it for lunch in the few months that I was working in Brussles. Since then I tried it 5-6 times and everytime the food was absolutely delicious.
The ingredients directly come from Italy and are at display in a small glass vitrine under the counter. I think you can buy what they have on display (different types of salami and cured ham) by gram also.
Once we worked until late and we decided to have dinner at the restaurant. The atmosphere is very much family style. There are two tables each fitting 3 people and a counter with 2 bar chairs. At the time we went there were another group of locals on the other table and we ended up chatting about a concert that was taking place that night. Christina, the friendly owner, participated. I remember that night I had one of the best Lasagnia's of my life. It was on the daily menu. Also my colleague loved the Carrozza (you needed to call in advance for that) ... I tried it for the first time and it was amazing!!
Actually in my opnion the price/value ratio was pretty good ... not sure what cause so much negativity in the earlier comment.
Totally recommended if your office is close by for lunch, also great for dinner if you are searching for a friendly place with home-made food feeling.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alsarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tuscan dream in Brussels”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

An Italian in the hospitality industry (with the highest standards) recommended this place to me a year ago. It is like a small piece of Italy on Belgian soil. Amazing fresh ingredients (the counter full of Italian meats and cheeses is amazing) -- you cannot get sandwiches like this anywhere ... Italian bread, beautifully marinated veg, Italian meats and cheeses for a few euros (a previous reviewer complained about price, not sure what planet they're buying their food on). And then there's the hot food: generous portions of all kinds of pasta (some that i've never seen outside of Italy), great salads and plenty specials chicken/fish etc ..... real Tuscan recipes, the best Italian I've tasted anywhere. And finally, the most charming staff, go to this place and you'll talk and laugh all night. Takeaway well worth it too, as is catering that we do often for office events.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Aonghus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Restaurant with heart and soul - delicious and charming”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Though tucked away on a small street close to the Cinquantenaire Park in the Schuman/Merode area of Brussels, this gem provides heart and home to all and any who frequent it. Daily specials are consistantly delicious, freshly made pasta and sauces served by two welcoming and lovely hosts.

I ate there last night, and had a delicious chicken pizaola - divine. Would recommend at any time.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bxl_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic little Italian”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

My friends introduced me to this quaint little Italian a few weeks ago and I have already been back a number of times! The food is delicious, the service is friendly, with a real homely feel, and as Brussels restaurants go in this area, it is very reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiny_Jess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canto 21 also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
 
Etterbeek, Brussels
 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Canto 21? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing