We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dirty but convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels
Ranked #159 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“dirty but convenient”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

ideal location, 3 minute walk from le grand place, however VERY dirty. stains on the sheets, lots of hair matted into spare blankets and the room was freezing cold. fine for a one night stay if priority is location and just need a bed for the night, but don't expect much.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    124
    162
    71
    79
See reviews for
63
123
72
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I missed to book at Ibis and thus settled for this hotel. I have a mixed experience... the morning person in the reception was rude... very rude... check-in at 3pm so 3pm.. not even at 2.45pm! He sent me back at 2.45pm asking to come at 3pm for check-in. I have traveled to all kinds of places and hotels, but this was the first time something like this happened. We respect check-in time, but I wish he had said this at least little nicely. It would have left a positive feeling then. We came then very late in the evening. A new staff and he was completely the opposite. Was helpful and really nice. Room given to us was good. Adequate bathroom with a bathtub. Towels and linen were clean. The one problem was you could hear everything happening and being talked in the other room. I mean this was little embarrassing. As you hear them, others hear you too. Otherwise, everything else was just fine. Our stay was good and we recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Maryland
Level Contributor
255 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

The info on Booking.com was misleading. I paid extra for an "Executive Single Room" -- instead was put in a weird room with four single beds. I asked for a better room and they moved me to the "Executive Floor" and the new room had two single beds. The hotel overall is crappy and lacks charm of any sort. Using the word "Executive" for anything here is a joke.

Didnt feel safe leaving any valuables there.

Everything functions fine though and it was tolerable for a one night stay once I got over the BIG difference from the way it is promoted on the web and the way it really is. Breakfast is fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brussels hotels

Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Well, the hotel has a major advantage; it is probably the cheapest one in the center of Brussels, really close to the Central Train Station and about 15 mins on foot from the European Commission buildings. Price is not that low but surely attractive compared to other hotels in this location. To me things were simple; take the train from the Brussels airport, get off at Central station and find the hotel nearby.

The hotel is old - really old. My room was old and small, featuring a nice flat TV and a tiny desk with a chair. Good thing that there were several power outlets for charging devices. There was a small safe in the room but it was out of order (probably the batteries ran out). The bed was awful - the mattress was so "liquid" as if it was a water mattress so I could hardly sleep during the night. On the other hand, the bathroom looked bright and much newer than the room. The shower gel dispenser was empty so I used my own (sample) gel and shampoo. It was the first time I used mine toiletries after many years of travelling. The dispensed with the soap was full but I could not reach it from inside the bath. There were also only two towels (one for the head/hands and one for the body - where was the one for the feet??).

The breakfast was rather poor (e.g. one kind of sliced cheese and ham, boiled eggs and bread for the salty part - croissants etc. for the sweet part), coffee and one kind of juice. Everything was high quality and tasty, so it made up for the lack of variety. The breakfast room was also bright and there was place for everyone.

The receptionists were really friendly and helped us in several cases (e.g. providing directions, assisting with luggage storage etc.). We were also allowed to spend some time in the breakfast room after we checked out, which was appreciated since there was a constant light rain outside.

I didn't like that fact that there was a charge for the wifi, especially since the signal was weak in some rooms (one colleague paid but had issues with the connection). I paid almost 120 euros (incl. breakfast) for a tiny and old room and it would have made it more attractive to have free wifi in the price to make up for the drawback of the room.

I would visit the same hotel again, mostly for the location and price; however, next time I will be prepared to face the issues that I identified during my stay. It is not awful but cannot compare to other hotels in the area in terms of quality. However, quality costs a lot in Brussels!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vprot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

The best thing of this hotel surely is the location, in the center of the city and on a nice square of the town (but you have to know that if you have a room on that side of the building you may hear some noise at night, at least during summer). Also the breakfast is good, and the staff is very nice and kind. On the other side, the rooms are not so big, and some furnitures are a bit damaged: my bedside table and the curtains looked a bit old and they had some burnings, apparently from cigarettes. Also the bathroom looks a bit old, but it's clean (there also is shower gel, but not any soap or shower cap).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ariuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
Level Contributor
179 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed on 2 occasions on recent visit to Belgium. Location can't be beat nr central station and Grand Place. Also means it can be noisy. First night had room overlooking street=poor sleep. Asked for quiet room on return and got one at back of hotel. Breakfast ok; can stow luggage til rooms ready. Rooms, furnishings, adequate. Staff helpful when not harried. I was holding Rick Steves guidebook in my hand, and check out clerk said if I had booked directly and mentioned RS, my room would have been cheaper than what I paid through Booking.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room in the back; 5th floor rear is definitely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatKTn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Is this the newest hotel? No. Could it do with upgrades? Yes. BUT! The price of hotels within the historic center of Brussels is outrageous, and La Madeleine offers more than reasonable prices (with breakfast) with an unbeatable location! Honestly, everything you could want to see is right around the corner from this hotel. If you plan on spending your entire time in Brussels in your room and therefore need something more updated, then go somewhere else. But if you want to pay a reasonable price and still be in downtown then stay here. I went in to this hotel expecting the worst based on the reviews, but that may have helped because it wasn't nearly as bad as everyone says.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.0 mi away
The Moon Hotel
The Moon Hotel
#134 of 199 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#102 of 199 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
#120 of 199 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
#90 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alma Hotel
Alma Hotel
#97 of 199 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels

Property: La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels
Address: Rue de la Montagne 20 - 22, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place with a difference. La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels is a place with a difference. Our hotel offers you a warm welcome with a human dimension. Staying at La Madeleine Grand Place means staying in the historic heart of the Belgian capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Madeleine Brussels
De La Madeleine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing