We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels
Ranked #167 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Worst place I have ever stayed! Staff were rude, I had 100 euro go missing from my room and they even charged me for an extra night on my credit card. when i went to get the refund they without repay me saying i couldn't prove I didn't stay the extra night. Never stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hummusmenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 524 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

It is the worst hotel I ever stayed. Guests should be very careful because there are rooms in this Hotel without toilet. I would never stay in this hotel again in my life and I would never suggest it to any of the people I know. I advise people not to make a reservation in this Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spiros P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for one night, and I have to say I was rather surprised reading all the awful reviews on Tripadvisor.

First of all it has a superb location near the 'Grand Place' (1min) and the central station (5min).

The guy at the reception was very friendly.

The room itself was nothing special, but it was okay. The only complaints I have are the sagging mattress and the fact that the wifi isn't free. My room was located on the 5th floor, so I can't complain about any street noise.

Important to know is that I only paid 45 EUR for a single room (with shower and toilet) while the normal price is 109 EUR. I can safely say that I would not recommend this hotel if I had to pay that much.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WouterJegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Strengths: Passable hotel, in fact cheap and in a very good position, two steps from La Grand Place. They serve a rich breakfast, which is included in the price. Staff ok, cleanliness ok.

Weaknesses: you must pay to connect to their wi-fi (2 euros 1 hour!) and very uncomfortable mattresses.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alboC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the years and enjoy its friendly service. Only 10mins walk from the central station and near the Grand Place. Nice continental breakfast, wide selection of TV channels, but wireless not free. Rooms are a bit shabby but very clean. At €82 a reasonable choice.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Lance M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Central position. Efficient check-in and check-out. Hotel corridor and lift very small. Room numbers don't correspond to the floor number. Room just big enough for one person and one case (in a 2 person room). Room quite warm and a bit stuffy. No view from room. Walls are quite thin. If you have a rowdy neighbour this could be a big problem. Room and bathroom well serviced and reasonably clean. Safe in room. No coffee or kettle. Soap provided in a large wall dispenser. TV channels very good. Wi-fi 8 Euro/24hrs; better to go to neighbouring hotels for free wi-fi in the lobby. Breakfast served from 7am was quite adequate and sufficient.
The price is too much for this quality hotel, but compared to other hotels in central Brussels it is well priced. Brussels is simply a very expensive city.
I would easily stay here again for more than a few nights.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
2  Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Good location. Very scruffy hotel. But what truly shocked was opening the (empty) minibar and finding an opened sandwich, best before date of ten days before my stay. My shock was compounded by a horrid, torn sheet. I have never been so disgusted by a hotel, and at €139 a night? Ridiculous.
Shower OK and breakfast quite nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmandDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
#116 of 199 in Brussels
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#109 of 199 in Brussels
749 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#71 of 199 in Brussels
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.5 mi away
The Residence Les Ecrins
The Residence Les Ecrins
#65 of 199 in Brussels
400 reviews
0 mi away
The Moon Hotel
The Moon Hotel
#140 of 199 in Brussels
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels

Address: Rue de la Montagne 20 - 22, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: $62 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place with a difference. La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels is a place with a difference. Our hotel offers you a warm welcome with a human dimension. Staying at La Madeleine Grand Place means staying in the historic heart of the Belgian capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Madeleine Brussels
De La Madeleine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing