We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rustic hotel that is perhaps out of place in this 'Grand' location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels
Ranked #168 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Location, location, location...is what makes this hotel even an option when looking for a place to stay in Brussels. With a great price for single and double rooms and having fabulous restaurants and shops within a two minute walk, you will be lulled into thinking that you can escape any fancies, however, the black mold and dingy bed will speak otherwise. And don't get me wrong, I've stayed in some poor accommodations, but never in such a ritzy, European city. Even though my words are very harsh, I still must give this three stars because, what else could expect for a hotel that charges less than one hundred euros a night and is located right next to the Grand Place?

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, which I am not, try and ask for a room that is away from Grasmarkt, as y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notzachg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 524 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is, hands down, the location. It is right on a main square full of outdoor bistros, just steps from the gallery shops, and a two minute walk from the Grand Place. However, if your room faces out towards the square like ours, it can get pretty noisy. The price of the hotel room was very good, but the room itself was nothing special. The bathroom was small and a little dirty, with dust in the outlets and a bit of mold in the shower. All in all, it's a fine hotel at a good price in a great location, but if you're looking for a four star hotel, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The perfect place to stay in Brussels. At 2 minutes walking distance from the Grand Place, Central Station, shopping, etc..

Room Tip: Ask a room in the beck side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here one night before catching the plane out of Brussels because it was affordable and in a great location. What a mistake! The lobby looks fine, but the room-- a triple-- was so gross we didn't even want to be in it. It was very old, and had a slight elevated ridge running through the middle of the room under the carpet. The room had two small, dim lights, disgusting old bedspread/ covers, bad mattress, and everything in the room was mismatched. I didn't see bedbugs but I truly believe they are there!! It was like a low-budget youth hostel in this place. When you check in they give you the remote control to the tv--what does that tell you? (The tv is old and small and shoved in the corner of the room) Breakfast is simple, nothing memorable. The bathroom was actually decent if you overlooked the cracked vanity. The Hotel Ibis next door and the Novotel a few doors away both looked fabulous--we went in and checked them out to be sure--so spend the extra money and stay there instead. We were only in our room a total of 10 hours, and that was far too long. The front desk people were average. My advice: Stay away from this place like the plague!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jignines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The Madelein Hotel is right next to the beautiful Grote Markt in Brussels - good for short stays (one or two nights) and for economy tourists.

My room was extremely small and very basic. Was stuffy when I arrived. Some outside noise (although not excessive) but I had to endure my amourous neighbours a while late at night (but just smiled at it)!! Old TV with limited channels. Basic bathroom with shower. Internet not free but also did not work anyway that evening - I was irritated with this as the front desk was not very helpful with it.

The included breakfast was basic but surprisingly good and it made me feel better about the hotel!

In the end you get what you pay - it is cheap for central Brussels but don't expect any value-add beyond that. If you just need a bed, shower and with reasonable breakfast, then you can really consider this hotel.

Room Tip: Street facing rooms are more noisy, but I some rooms have a brick wall view but less noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christiaan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This hotel has bed bugs. I've had to throw away clothes and my suitcase and much more. I've got huge red bites on my face, leg, arm, back! Even if they didnt have bed bugs, the breakfast is terrible, and the staff are rude. Well, actually, very rude!

Room Tip: Sleep on the street rather than in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Crowded rooms, halls, lobby. Our room was full of cigarette smoke and the trash cans full of butts. The noise was just terrible. We did not get much sleep. It sounds like the other guests are in the same room with you. The only right thing about it is the location, just off the main square and the train station.

Rick Steves got this one all wrong!

Room Tip: The top floor didn't help with the noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drowninginyears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
#116 of 199 in Brussels
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#109 of 199 in Brussels
752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#70 of 199 in Brussels
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
0.5 mi away
The Residence Les Ecrins
The Residence Les Ecrins
#68 of 199 in Brussels
400 reviews
0 mi away
The Moon Hotel
The Moon Hotel
#140 of 199 in Brussels
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels

Address: Rue de la Montagne 20 - 22, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: $64 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place with a difference. La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels is a place with a difference. Our hotel offers you a warm welcome with a human dimension. Staying at La Madeleine Grand Place means staying in the historic heart of the Belgian capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Madeleine Brussels
De La Madeleine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing