We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanest Hostel I've ever seen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Centre Vincent Van Gogh
Ranked #83 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Brussels
Reviewed March 1, 2011

I was actually shocked at how clean this hostel was. It is large, organized, clean and professional. I found Brussels to be not very exciting, but at least I had a good night sleep.

Tip: Arrive early for breakfast (bread, cornflakes, coffee/tea/hot chocolate & orange juice) If the hostel is full then you may need to wait while all of the people toast their bread and pour their coffee.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leipziggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 210 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2010

atmosphere was really lovely! every rooms face a courtyard, where you chat with people and have a rest. it defenitely dissapoints you, only keep in mind one thing: be careful of your valuables. you should use a private box behind the reception.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
1  Thank YosukeO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

This place was ok for one night, but no more! Rooms, while fairly clean, just looked dirty. Beds creeky and uncomfotable. Nice bar, hang-out area downstairs. Breakfast (from 7am-9am) was pathetic and not worth the bother: each person is limited to 5 pieces of dried bread, a small bowl of cornflakes, a piece of processed cheese, a glass of juice, and nescafe or cocoa. Close to the metro, but about 30 minutes to Grand Place on foot.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolenejentilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

It's disgusting. I got kicked out of my room so the only other person in there do it with some guy, and I had to sleep in the lobby. The hotel staff did nothing about it, and did not clean up the condoms, cigarettes, and pee in the room either.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BekkiH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2009

The hostel has a nice bar with belgian beers of course, and a lot of people gathers there at night... so its great! a very good place to meet people from everywhere and the rooms were OK. the breakfast is OK also and its very reasonable for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wageningen-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

This hostel has a great atmosphere and the staff is really nice! The dorms are reasonable but unfortunately the toilets and the showers are too poor! The shower is really disgusting!! However the hostel has a great location with the subaway station near by. And has the breakfast included, so it's okay for "one night stay"!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Railerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

It's a little far from the city centre but it's just two blocks from the Botanique subway station. The place it's very clean, a lot of information on the reception desk, the staff is really helpful and there is a backpacker ambiance, with people from different countries. Amazingly, it's a quiet place (you can't make too much noise on the terrace) and the best of it all: the breakfast!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camiyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
#2 of 139 in Brussels
606 reviews
1.5 mi away
Generation Europe Youth Hostel Brussels
1.7 mi away
Brussels Hello Hostel
Brussels Hello Hostel
#1 of 2 in Koekelberg
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
2Go4 De Brouckere
2Go4 De Brouckere
#9 of 139 in Brussels
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jacques Brel Youth Hostel
Jacques Brel Youth Hostel
#8 of 139 in Brussels
329 reviews
0.8 mi away
2Go4 Grand Place
2Go4 Grand Place
#7 of 139 in Brussels
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centre Vincent Van Gogh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centre Vincent Van Gogh

Address: Rue Traversiere 8, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Brussels
Price Range: $19 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Centre Vincent Van Gogh 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi there! Welcome in Brussels, capital of Europe, chocolates and Waffles! Welcome to our place where painter Vincent Van Gogh used to work! We are in the the city centre and we provides clean, safe & cheap accommodation (with no hidden extras). Groovy bar with more than 20 different Belgian beers open every day from 6:30 PM till ..late! Ideal to enjoy belgian beers! Friendly multilingual staff * Free left-luggage room (backpack-sized) * Free wifi * Laundry* *Modern and well equipped kitchen: Cooking facilities * Rooms accessible 24 hours through key-cards. * Reception open from 7:30 to 12 AM.Guard at night. Centrally located, guided tours (Brussels, Brugge, Antwerp, hop on hop off);lock-out from rooms from 11am until 3pm, daily cleaning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Centre Vincent Van Gogh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centre Vincent Van Gogh Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing