We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Centre Vincent Van Gogh
Ranked #83 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Brussels
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Overall good experience”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

My friend and I booked out trip to Brussels the night before departure so didn't really have much choice about where to stay but we were pleasantly surprised.

The area was good it was 15 minutes to the centre of town, the buses and metros and cheap and frequent, plenty of shops, restaurants & cafes nearby. The locals were friendly and helpful and we always felt safe no matter what time we were out.

We found the staff very nice and helpful especially the two men working the bar and the two women on reception. The main house (reception/bar/kitchen) was nice and the beer was very cheap (€1.50 for a bottle of Jupiler). We stayed in house 13 in a 6 bed dorm and found it to be adequate and clean. Problems: only one power point for 6 people, no access to one of the top bunk beds because the stairs were blocked by another bed and no shower heads.

The atmosphere at the hostel during our stay was great and we met some really nice people, I would stay here again if in Brussels.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Char_Eliz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    43
    72
    43
    31
See reviews for
4
22
57
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This hostel is disgusting. Their staff is extremely disrespectful and totally incompetent. They took my passport when I arrived very late at night because they were not accepting payments at that time. Ridiculous.The next morning my passport was gone. They had no explanation to where it was and offered no compensation for my loss. I had to go all the way to the US Embassy and get a brand new passport, thus missing my flight and having to purchase a new one. Plus this hostel is extremely dirty. Carpets in the main building are filthy and the floor caves in at times and feels like it's going to give way under your feet. The beds are old and the mattresses are damp. The rooms are falling apart with cracks in the walls and paint chipping. Bathrooms/showers are dirty and musty. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lousypictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brussels hotels

Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I chose to stay here following reading a good review and initially had a good opinion of the place, the double room my partner and I booked was large and clean and seemingly safe.
It was a bit of a hike to any attractions though, and almost straight away we had issues with the lock on our door.
You are woken up well before check out time and asked to leave so the rooms can be cleaned which was annoying, we had to show a receipt to prove we were staying another night.
On the final morning I was woken up by someone opening the door to the room and yelled at them, they ran off but surprise surprise i discovered some of my belongings had been stolen when I was packing up. The staff at the reception were nice enough when I complained but said this had been happening every morning (we weren't even warned about this) but the manager didn't even bother coming out to talk to me until I returned with a police officer to make an ID on the CCTV footage. No offer to refund our stay was made.
I would never return to this hostel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

clean and very home like. cozy common area, cheap beer and good music. defnatliy recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathrynnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We arrived in the hostel late at night and were served quickly however the reception staff were very rude, and they remained this way throughout our stay. The room was basic and had no lockers, so as it was a shared room security was an issue. The beds were very loud and if you even moved it would make a horrible sound. The shared kitchen was very nice as was the downstairs area. The atmosphere was good but I think that was more down to the people we met. The Hostel was close to the main sights in Brussels including grand place, they were within walking distance. The train station was also close, There was a supermarket just around the corner. The breakfast was included and was basic but all you needed to set you up for the day. I wouldn't choose to stay here again but I think its fine for people on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shar1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Overall this was a decent hostel, certainly nothing awful about it. Security was a big issue for us, as there were no lockers in the rooms, and when the window in the room was open (there was no a/c) you could reach in and open the door from the outside.

There was a fully equipped kitchen, which was great. There was also a cheap bar that served drinks every night until late.

Wifi access was quite pricey, not accessible in the rooms just in the lobby. There were also computers available at a cost.

The location was very close to red light district, and in my opinion not the greatest area. There were a few restaurants/cafes down the road, and a supermarket was a 1 minute walk.

Breakfast was included, and offered 5 slices of bread/toast, spreads, cornflakes, cheese, and coffee/tea/juice/chocolate.

Another negative was that our room was across a courtyard and upstairs, and toilets were a walk outside (not fun in the rain at night). Only one outside toilet worked, so you would need to walk even further to the lobby to use the toilet.

The shower block was fairly average, didn't seem that clean, and had a push shower that only stayed on for about 10 seconds at a time. Not much room to keep anything dry in there with you.

Overall, fairly average hostel, but fairly cheap.

Room Tip: Don't be in Room 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvericemaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Good service but understaffed at busy period, rooms simple, bathrooms bit dated but clean, location ok - bit of a walk to all sights... No free wifi which was disappointing otherwise good value for the price with breakfast included.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
#2 of 127 in Brussels
562 reviews
0.6 mi away
2Go4 De Brouckere
2Go4 De Brouckere
#6 of 127 in Brussels
424 reviews
1.8 mi away
Train Hostel
Train Hostel
#3 of 127 in Brussels
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Brxxl 5 City Centre Hostel
Brxxl 5 City Centre Hostel
#4 of 127 in Brussels
533 reviews
1.7 mi away
Brussels Hello Hostel
Brussels Hello Hostel
#1 of 2 in Koekelberg
308 reviews
1.6 mi away
Midi Station Hotel
Midi Station Hotel
#78 of 127 in Brussels
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centre Vincent Van Gogh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centre Vincent Van Gogh

Property: Centre Vincent Van Gogh
Address: Rue Traversiere 8, Brussels 1210, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Centre Vincent Van Gogh 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi there! Welcome in Brussels, capital of Europe, chocolates and Waffles! Welcome to our place where painter Vincent Van Gogh used to work! We are in the the city centre and we provides clean, safe & cheap accommodation (with no hidden extras). Groovy bar with more than 20 different Belgian beers open every day from 6:30 PM till ..late! Ideal to enjoy belgian beers! Friendly multilingual staff * Free left-luggage room (backpack-sized) * Free wifi * Laundry* *Modern and well equipped kitchen: Cooking facilities * Rooms accessible 24 hours through key-cards. * Reception open from 7:30 to 12 AM.Guard at night. Centrally located, guided tours (Brussels, Brugge, Antwerp, hop on hop off);lock-out from rooms from 11am until 3pm, daily cleaning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Centre Vincent Van Gogh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centre Vincent Van Gogh Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing