We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
Ranked #38 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott from 17 until 19 May. We were here for the third time. The location of the hotel is superb and the staff is very helpful. They speak several languages which in Brussels is something to cherish. The rooms are of the size you would expect in a European city and for us fine for the weekend. The room is not large, an American would probably find the rooms too small.

We opted for the executive package that includes wifi and access to the Executive Lounge. It's worth the money!

We had some issues with our key cards since the hotel was changing all the room locks. Upon check out they offered us free parking for the hassle. This was extremely kind. We are now even more looking forward to returning in December for the Christmas festivities!!

Breakfast was as usual plentyful and tasteful. Everything was refilled very quickly and they bring coffee/tea to your table.

A bit of advice: check in advance if there are festivities in the city center. That can make a lot of noise. I always take earplugs with me when I travel and at the Marriott you can ask for a room on the quiet side of the street.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room on the quiet side of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judithinnoord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

978 - 984 of 2,222 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have stayed twice at this property for business while in Brussels. Both experiences were more than enjoyable due to the efforts their staff spent accommodating my demands. The hotel needs renovations, but if you manage to deal with them, they will give you an upgrade to suites with access to the club lounge, with all the good perks for eating and drinking.

Try their steak at Midtown Grill & Bar, truly a treat!

Room Tip: "rooms on higher floors are quitter"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank idrovoviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights while visiting Brussels. We really enjoyed our stay at this Marriott. The location could not be any better, easy to get to everything. The rooms were clean and we did not have any trouble with noise at night even though this hotel does sit in a busy area. The staff at the Marriott could not have been more helpful. We found them to be very personable, inviting, and they offered great recommendations to us for a few dinners. They really went out of their way to make sure we had a great experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieDino07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tfinkbxl, Hotel Manager at Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear JulieDino07,

thank you very much for your kind review. We are very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed our hotel and services so much. Please rest assured that all your wonderful comments will be shared with our staff and we sincerely hope to be welcoming you soon again at the Brussels Marriott Hotel.

Best regards,

tfinkbxl
Hotel Manager
Brussels Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel has a great location near the Bourse and Grand Place and breakfast is good. However, parking is horrible, wifi is often spotty, and they gym is pathetic. There are also problems with baggage being stolen from the lobby. My room phone did not work and the room wasn't as clean as it could have been. The beds are good and rooms are quiet, so if you don't need parking and wifi and don't have security concerns it's a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hikerdadlvp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is the worse sleep I've had in a Marriott. Marriott beds are normally firm and soft at the same time. This one was too springy (probably too old) and I ended up with a backache in the middle of the night.

The windows seal poorly and there is a lot of street noise. I had to sleep with earplugs in.

I had booked a room with access to the executive lounge. This was nice, but the lounge is the only place you can have the inclusive breakfast at in the morning and it is crowded, with only a stool free at a counter. Some people needed to have breakfast with a plate perched on their legs at a sofa. Not an 'executive' experience. Staff walk around smiling but ignoring the problem. At other Marriotts I have stayed at, when this happens, customers are directed to the main restaurant.

You cannot fault the hotel location or its standards of services and decor.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank Jono_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tfinkbxl, Hotel Manager at Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Jono_UK,

thank you very much for the review of your recent stay at the Brussels Marriott Hotel.

While I am delighted to learn that you liked our services, location and decor, we regret to read about your other experiences during your stay. Unfortunately, with our central location, not all sounds can be blocked out completely. Nevertheless, we have started this month with the replacement of our windows and will have all front facing rooms updated with windows that provide additional soundproofing than the current ones. This substantial effort will be completed in 2014 and I am looking forward to welcoming you for the new experience.

Your comment on our executive lounge have been discussed with the relevant department head as it is part of our normal procedure to send our guests to the main restaurant if the lounge is too full. Please accept my apologies for not having met your expectations in this regard.

As you have pointed out correctly, the Marriott bedding is famous for it's comfort and quality. The Brussels Marriott is proud to comply with all standards for our brand and it is very difficult for me to understand your remarks as our bedding is almost all the time praised by our guests. Please feel free to contact me by personal message so we can follow up on this issue in your room and make sure no other guests have to make a similar experience.

Once again thank you very much for your review and we're looking forward to welcoming you again at the Brussels Marriott Hotel.

Best regards,

tfinkbxl
Hotel Manager
Brussels Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The location of this hotel is fantastic , the Bourse metro is practically on your doorstep, short walk to the grand place and all the historical sites. Huge amount of resturants nearby. The hotel is very good , we had a really nice room , all staff were very pleasent and helpful. The breakfast was amazing , great variety and refreshed regularly .Really enjoyed our stay in the marriot and will definatly return .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrelandDuchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tfinkbxl, Hotel Manager at Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear IrelandDuchess,

thank you so much for staying with us and your wonderful comments! It will be my pleasure to share your comments with the team and we are already looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay!

Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do to make your future stay even more memorable.

Best regards,

tfinkbxl
Hotel Manager
Brussels Marriott Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is just a block from Grand-Place and in walking distance to everything. Rooms are nice and staff, especially the concierge were very nice and helpful. We had a room on the street and it was actually surprisingly quiet. The executive lounge is also very nice and the breakfast was relatively good for being a continental type breakfast.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.2 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#73 of 199 in Brussels
2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Brussels
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.3 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#20 of 199 in Brussels
2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place

Address: Rue Auguste Orts 3-7/Grand Place, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Brussels Marriott Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Brussels
#16 Business Hotel in Brussels
#16 Green Hotel in Brussels
#18 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#28 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $145 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Belgium's capital from stylish city centre accommodations at Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place. Enjoy 4-star sophistication at our hotel in Brussels offering elegant rooms and suites near Grand Place and Brussels Central Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Brussels
Brussels Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing