We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Street noise, poor beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
Ranked #38 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Street noise, poor beds”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

This is the worse sleep I've had in a Marriott. Marriott beds are normally firm and soft at the same time. This one was too springy (probably too old) and I ended up with a backache in the middle of the night.

The windows seal poorly and there is a lot of street noise. I had to sleep with earplugs in.

I had booked a room with access to the executive lounge. This was nice, but the lounge is the only place you can have the inclusive breakfast at in the morning and it is crowded, with only a stool free at a counter. Some people needed to have breakfast with a plate perched on their legs at a sofa. Not an 'executive' experience. Staff walk around smiling but ignoring the problem. At other Marriotts I have stayed at, when this happens, customers are directed to the main restaurant.

You cannot fault the hotel location or its standards of services and decor.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Jono_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tfinkbxl, Hotel Manager at Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Jono_UK,

thank you very much for the review of your recent stay at the Brussels Marriott Hotel.

While I am delighted to learn that you liked our services, location and decor, we regret to read about your other experiences during your stay. Unfortunately, with our central location, not all sounds can be blocked out completely. Nevertheless, we have started this month with the replacement of our windows and will have all front facing rooms updated with windows that provide additional soundproofing than the current ones. This substantial effort will be completed in 2014 and I am looking forward to welcoming you for the new experience.

Your comment on our executive lounge have been discussed with the relevant department head as it is part of our normal procedure to send our guests to the main restaurant if the lounge is too full. Please accept my apologies for not having met your expectations in this regard.

As you have pointed out correctly, the Marriott bedding is famous for it's comfort and quality. The Brussels Marriott is proud to comply with all standards for our brand and it is very difficult for me to understand your remarks as our bedding is almost all the time praised by our guests. Please feel free to contact me by personal message so we can follow up on this issue in your room and make sure no other guests have to make a similar experience.

Once again thank you very much for your review and we're looking forward to welcoming you again at the Brussels Marriott Hotel.

Best regards,

tfinkbxl
Hotel Manager
Brussels Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    851
    912
    268
    79
    39
See reviews for
386
810
137
470
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The location of this hotel is fantastic , the Bourse metro is practically on your doorstep, short walk to the grand place and all the historical sites. Huge amount of resturants nearby. The hotel is very good , we had a really nice room , all staff were very pleasent and helpful. The breakfast was amazing , great variety and refreshed regularly .Really enjoyed our stay in the marriot and will definatly return .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrelandDuchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tfinkbxl, Hotel Manager at Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear IrelandDuchess,

thank you so much for staying with us and your wonderful comments! It will be my pleasure to share your comments with the team and we are already looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay!

Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do to make your future stay even more memorable.

Best regards,

tfinkbxl
Hotel Manager
Brussels Marriott Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is just a block from Grand-Place and in walking distance to everything. Rooms are nice and staff, especially the concierge were very nice and helpful. We had a room on the street and it was actually surprisingly quiet. The executive lounge is also very nice and the breakfast was relatively good for being a continental type breakfast.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
810 reviews
235 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 451 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Got a chance to stay both here and the Renaissance while in Brussels, and this was the best. Good room, excellent and helpful staff who went out of their way to please. The breakfast buffet was wonderful. Close to Grand Place and all the historical sites, as well as other restaurants, tram stop, and if you are on a budget, a McD next door and a block from a grocery store. Great choice for American visitors
I

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drichrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have stayed in a lot of hotels, in a lot of cities, and this one really impressed me. The location was fantastic, very close to everything (including a metro) and the staff was really friendly. The room was HUGE and had a lovely view, there were a lot of TV channels, and the beds were really comfortable. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeavenAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I only have good things to say about this hotel. Its location, minutes from the Metro and in the centre of the Grand Place district, could not be better. There are a large number of restaurants bars and cafes in the vicinity but the hotel is so comfortable and modern that it's almost as tempting to stay in and enjoy the facilities. The staff are friendly, attentive and efficient and the buffet breakfast is absolutely delicious and a great way to start a busy day of sightseeing or work. I would suggest that it's better than the Hiltons in the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Louise_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The rooms were modern and clean with comfy beds and duvets. The hotel is perfectly suited for sightseeing and is only a few minutes walk to the Grand Palace. We did not eat breakfast in the hotel as there was a Le Pain Quotidien (with artisan breads and pastries) as well as a lovely (although slightly overpriced) little coffee shop nearby. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feet-to-pavement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.3 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
0.2 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 198 in Brussels
2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#18 of 198 in Brussels
2,192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Brussels
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#6 of 198 in Brussels
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place

Property: Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place
Address: Rue Auguste Orts 3-7/Grand Place, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Brussels Marriott Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Brussels
#16 Business Hotel in Brussels
#18 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#19 Family Hotel in Brussels
#27 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Belgium's capital from stylish city centre accommodations at Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place. Enjoy 4-star sophistication at our hotel in Brussels offering elegant rooms and suites near Grand Place and Brussels Central Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brussels Marriott Hotel Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Brussels
Brussels Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing