We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy and clean”
Review of Hotel du Congres

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel du Congres
Ranked #103 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfy and clean”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights recently. We were travelling on a budget so had come to expect average!! This hotel was a pleasant surprise. The room we had was a double and was very comfy although basic (double bed, tv, table, bathroom). The bed was very comfy compared to other places we had stayed and the shower was awesome with lots of pressure and hot water! The buffet breakfast which cost an extra €7.50 each per day was basic but did the job... The hotel was only a 5min walk to the main square which was good. Overall this hotel ticked all the boxes for a budget traveller and would happily stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    173
    129
    27
    24
See reviews for
54
91
64
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, Brasil
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Believe it or not: the ceiling of my room collapsed! Fortunately, I was out of the room, but when I arrived, it was a complete mess. You can see the pictures I've uploaded.

I tried to complain to the staff, of course. Firstly, they doubted. Then, they somewhat mocked me when I said that my suit, which I had to use to work the next day, was thoroughly covered with dust. Eventually, they offered me a new room. Only one of the members of the staff apologized.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hugo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brussels hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel only for one night and I chose it because of its location. It was indeed very convenient, had easy access to Metro, Trams and Buses plus the Grande Place at walking distance. I was given room 119 on the first floor which had 3 beds and a nice small desk which I enjoyed very much while working on my laptop before I checked out. I had Free WiFi Internet with average quality - Skyped just fine, a very helpful Reception and a good sleep. Really comfortable, simple yet good value for money hotel. I recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlaopodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
138 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I selected this hotel because I needed to stay in this area but I was very much put off by the rewiews and picture .
But it was totally ok, my room was renovated and although not luxurious at all , it was functional and clean . The bed provided a good night sleep and the receptionnist was amicable .
For 55 euros , it was excellent value for money

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldcitizenParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolangatta, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed here based on tripadvisor reviews and have not been disappointed. The rooms are very basic but what it lacks in frills it makes up for in comfort. The room I had was more spacious than some more luxurious rooms I have experienced in my travels. I have been travelling for 2 months now through USA, UK, Switzerland, France and have come to experience a vast array of rooms and conditions. For 55 euro per night, the Hotel Du Congres sits pretty well.

There is free wifi, the bed is comfortable and there is plenty of hot water plus the hotel is in a convenient location to Grand Place and the Grote Market along with a few other attractions ... pretty well all I need!

The breakfast is 9 euro and nothing special, I would eat out.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: I had a room on the ground floor at the back which gave me a lovely garden view and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

All very fine except that my room faced the road, which resulted in some noise even later in the evening. In the future, I will therefore ask for a room on the other side of the building. Otherwise a clear recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Henrik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royal Centre
0.6 mi away
La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Queen Anne
Hotel Queen Anne
#99 of 199 in Brussels
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western City Centre
Best Western City Centre
#9 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
315 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Belvue
Hotel Belvue
#114 of 199 in Brussels
69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Colonies
Hotel des Colonies
#8 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Congres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Congres

Property: Hotel du Congres
Address: Rue du Congres 42 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Congres 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Expedia, HostelWorld, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel du Congres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Congres Hotel
Du Congres Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing