We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Du Congres”
Review of Hotel du Congres

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Congres
Ranked #106 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very good location, clean rooms, very slow internet connection. They changes the towels every day, which was not really necessary. The service was good and the staff was helpful especially those who worked on morning and evening shift. The disadvantages were that you can easily hear the neighbors and the breakfast was not perfect. We ate breakfast only once at hotel. You can easily find other places to eat breakfast. The prices are almost the same or even higher but you have the possibility to choose. In general we enjoyed our stay at hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 434 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a very basic hotel but clean and with great location (halfway between city centre and EU institutions). It's a very decent price as well. Breakfast (at an extra 7.50€ per night) is simple but very decent. The only bad thing about this hotel was the iternet connection, which is limited in the whole hotel and inexistent in my room.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RafaelaB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Hotel Du Congress is a basic but clean hotel located minutes walk away from Gare Centraal. The rooms are quite basic with minimal decoration but very clean and functional and the price was definitely right. Seven euros extra will buy you a very satisfactory cold breakfast. The metro information for this hotel is hard to come by so here's my lessons learned:
- You can absolutely walk from Centraal Station in about 15 mins, however, there is a lot of uphill and if I had been dragging suitcases I would not have been happy.
- You can also take the Metro to Art Loi and then Transfer to Madou which is about two blocks from the hotel
- Best option is to take the Metro Line 2 or 6 from Midi direct and walk the two blocks to the hotel.

Some cons:
- The walls are very thin and if like me you have some crazy drunk knocking on doors at 2am you won't be able to sleep.
- The elevator is a bit scary and very cramped.
- The room didn't appear to have climate control (not even heat) so it must be centrally controlled which can make temperature management a bit tricky.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ambrai5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Hotel du Congres is well located hotel (very close to a metro station) and 15 minutes walk from the city centre. It is exemplary clean, with free wifi (but not always very fast) and a decent breakfast.
If you don’t care to stay in a small room like a ship’s cabin it is ideal for one or two nights of a business trip that you are paying the bill. It is a no frills hotel and totally value for money

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roger_f1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel is well situated, a few minutes walk from the Madou metro station and about ten to fifteen minutes walk from the centre, down the hill past the cathedral. The beds are comfortable but this lovely old building has been knocked about during its renovation so the walls are very thin - if you like to hear other people getting passionate then this is the place for you! There are no pictures on the walls so the rooms are rather stark. The breakfast is very good - as much as you can eat for 7.5 euros, the usual fare of cereals, juice, croissants and bread with cold meats and cheeses. There are plenty of cafes and bars in the immediate neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddieCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I liked this hotel. It was within walking distance to a lot of the cathedrals and the city square. The staff was excellent and my room, though small was sufficient. Great free breakfast every morning. The only downside was the no air conditioning, but since my room was upstairs I just kept the windows open and I was fine.
The hotel concierge ordered me dinner over the phone, showed me the grounds, and called me cabs..very nice people at the front desk.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swoosie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a small room on the 4th floor, it was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was small, old but clean.

We had a very good price reduction on the website of the hotel. But on the door of the room it was written 150€ for 1 night and I think that I would never pay that price for a room like that.

The city center as well as the central railway station is about 10-15 minutes away by walk.

The breakfast was a classic hotel breakfast, nothing surprising. To sum up, everything was quite adequate and we are pleased with the stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a-trip-to-the-moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royal Centre
0.7 mi away
New Hotel Charlemagne
New Hotel Charlemagne
#126 of 199 in Brussels
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Royale
Hotel Villa Royale
#7 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Queen Anne
Hotel Queen Anne
#102 of 199 in Brussels
740 reviews
0.9 mi away
Yadoya Hotel
Yadoya Hotel
#48 of 199 in Brussels
121 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Congres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Congres

Address: Rue du Congres 42 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: $70 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Congres 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Congres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Congres Hotel
Du Congres Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing