We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RUN!!! ESCAPE!!! DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT STAYING AT THIS DUMP!!!”
Review of Hotel du Congres

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Congres
Ranked #104 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“RUN!!! ESCAPE!!! DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT STAYING AT THIS DUMP!!!”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

My two children and I arrived at 9:45 pm on June 27 for what was supposed to be a three night stay. I had made a three night reservation based on their website and because of the location. The kids and I walked in and were given the key to our room - 119. I do need to tell you that on this day, Europe was in the grip of a heat wave and the temperature was still in the high 90's at the time we arrived at the hotel. We opened the door to our room and it was like a furnace. Boiling hot. I immediately told my 15-year-old son to look for the thermostat so we could get the air going. There wasn't one. I told him to go to the front desk and ask how do we get the air on. My son quickly came back to the room and informed me and his sister that the man at the front desk said the whole hotel did not have air conditioning and that he said "if we wanted air conditioning, we could open the (one) window in the room." At first I thought the air situation was a major problem but quickly realized that was the least of our problems (more in a minute). I opened the window to see that our room overlooked a gravel roof and not ten feet across was an open window which looked into someone's apartment.

The kids were so very miserable from the heat. My son's hair was stuck to his neck and my ten-year-old daughter started developing a heat rash. That's how hot is was in the room. Having the window open gave us the added benefit of having all the bugs fly in because of the light. I knew we had to leave. Then I started looking around the room and knew not only because of the lack of air, but for safety reasons, I had to get my children out of there. As you can see from the photos that my kids took while I was frantically on the phone and my computer trying to find another hotel, there was mold all around the room, holes in the walls, filth on the carpet, and my son said "Look, Mom! There are ants crawling all over the table." The place was a DUMP.

I went downstairs to express my complete disgust to the front desk person and told him we had to leave. Keep in mind this was less than half an hour after we had checked in. As a side note, it seemed so much cooler on the lobby level. I guess they had some kind of air system on that floor. I told front desk person that because of the lack of air conditioning my son's hair was stuck to his neck, my daughter had developed a rash, there were ants all over the room, not to mention the mold and holes in the walls. The front desk person told me that the hotel is in an old victorian building and I should have known there would not be air. I told him the hotel website clearly states "modern conveniences" and I never dreamed to ask if there was air since the hotel in fact lists itself as a three start hotel. What he told me next just floored me. He said if we left he would still have to charge me for three nights because reservations cannot be cancelled. I showed him my confirmation where a link is given to cancel reservations and he said the rate I received cannot be cancelled!

So back in the room is when the kids took it upon themselves to take pictures while I again was on the phone and the computer trying to find a room. I found a nearby Sheraton that had a room available. I told the lady what was going on and she was so very nice. She even called a taxi for us to pick us up and take us to the Sheraton. The kids were so happy. We gathered our bags, went downstairs, and I told front desk person that we were leaving. He asked me where did we find a room and I quickly told him there were two places I found and I wasn't sure which one we were going to (of course, we were going to the Sheraton. I wasn't about to tell him where we were going). He told me again that he was going to have to charge me for all three nights. I told him I could not have my children in a room with mold, ants, filthy carpet, and holes in the walls, not to mention no air during a heat wave and he didn't seem to care. I told him I wanted a receipt and he gave it to me. I was charged 465 euros. Front Desk person's parting words to me were "we are a three-star hotel and apparently did not meet your needs." My response to him "Sir, I have stayed in two-star hotels that are like The Ritz compared to this place." He was nice enough to offer to call a cab for us and I thanked him and told him one was already on the way for us. After waiting outside for less than five minutes, the taxi arrived and took us to the Sheraton. We were in heaven. We had a nice, safe room and we had escaped from the dump.

Don't even think about staying here. Dump is putting it nicely. Mold, holes in the walls, filth, rust, ants.....and they call themselves a three star hotel?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AlamoCityLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    171
    127
    27
    24
See reviews for
52
91
63
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlestown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

This was once an elegant place, I'm sure. With tall ceilings and ornate word work, it is lovely but in need of a bit of upkeep. We had a quad which was two twins and a bunk bed in what was once a walk-in closet with the door removed! The bath was recently redone but the door handles on the bathroom and window kept falling off and while I did report it, nothing was done. One desk clerk (Sunday night) was horrible! He was rude and very unhelpful telling us that there was no place for us to have dinner that night! The others were ok, but I noticed they were all much nicer to those who spoke French better than we did. The free breakfast buffet was ample and delicious and the wifi only worked effectively in the lobby. It was an easy walk to the Grand Place. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We were a family of 4 and, as requested, stayed in a family room that was located in the building across the street from the main lobby. The room was clean and comfortable and looked to be recently remodeled. Not a luxury hotel by any means, but I had no complaints about the hotel. The breakfast was reasonably good too. Note: It's about a 20 minute walk from the hotel to the Grand-Place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
185 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

This is a gem - a quirky, unusual hotel within easy distance of the old part of Brussels. It is a combination of two houses and there are lots of original features. There are also a number of fairground horses here and there - like I say, quirky! Very good value for money too.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2011

I stayed in the 'new' side which was fine. The room was basic, but it was clean. For this the price was high, but Brussels is expensive. My colleague upstairs had no curtains or blinds in the windows. Most members of the group found the shower too small and one person was disappointed there was no telephone in the room. Another colleague who stayed in the 'main' hotel had a dirty room with worn furnishings - for this room the charge was extortionate. Breakfast was ok but nothing special.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimpleButClean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

The room i was given matched my expectations and my requests, I am giving it 4 stars based on the hotel's class for its three star rating category. The single room had a single bed, a table and an attached bathroom. All basic.

It is well located just about 400 meters to the Madou train station, and is walkable without using a cab. The best point about this hotel is the free Internet access that comes with it. The hotel's internet speeds were one of the best I had experienced so far (for a hotel standard).

Room was well heated with an adjustable radiator as well in the winter. Utilities such as soaps were basic. The room could also do better with more clothes hangars (only 3 in my room).

Breakfast lady was however with quite grumpy faces early in the morning, which I would not fully blame because I am not a morning person myself :P. Overall, this hotel is good but perhaps improvements could be made like adding more color variety to the room?

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enlightened_0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
154 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Stayed here on business. The hotel is OK but single rooms are small and a bit utilitarian. Good free wifi and staff quite friendly. Also lots of eateries nearby. Breakfast was poor - nothing properly replenished, staff disinterested.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonDavidS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Royal Centre
0.8 mi away
The Residence Les Ecrins
The Residence Les Ecrins
#61 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sabina
Hotel Sabina
#115 of 199 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Colonies
Hotel des Colonies
#9 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Saint Nicolas
Hotel Saint Nicolas
#71 of 199 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Motel One
Motel One
#23 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Congres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Congres

Property: Hotel du Congres
Address: Rue du Congres 42 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Congres 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Congres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Congres Hotel
Du Congres Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing