We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brussels” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manhattan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Manhattan Hotel
Ranked #192 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    32
    37
    83
See reviews for
10
30
17
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

The hotel has quite a good location: close to metro, railway station and also to the city center. We stayed there for 1 day and did all the sightseeing on foot. You can reach the center in about 20-50 mins walk.
The hotel itself looks quite suspicious: the building is old and quite dark. The rooms are also old-fashioned and have poor locks. Not sure we could feel secure in this place.
The room had its own bathroom which is a good plus.
Overall we felt that this is ok hotel for its price, but I'm not sure we'll repeat this choice in future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank knerrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
148 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I'll try and just provide a list of unreasonable and inexcusable problems with this hotel to avoid a ranting review with tangents.

• No hot water in the shower, not only no hot water, no shower curtain or place for the shower head. This resulted in a hunched over cold quick shower while holding the nozzle, and a soaking wet floor
• The soaking wet floor must have been the reason for the very large stain on the roof of our bathroom for the bathroom above us
• The balcony was pleasant, if you didn’t lean on the railing, since it was loose. And yes we were on the third floor. Also the view? That was of the strip club and xxx shops across the street
• The elevator was cramped, slow, and dark. As was the staircase.
• Breakfast included, salami slices that looked years old and hard rolls and processed cheese. That’s it. Very unhappy kitchen aid as well.
• Beds were not made from day to day, most likely because there was only one key per room, no spare, no emergency master key. one key, on a big wooden rod. Furthermore with the beds I was terrified of whatever may have been crawling around in the sheets that appeared to be from the 50s, I slept on a towel I brought.

The absolute worst hotel I’ve ever stayed at and probably will ever stay at. It would’ve been more worthwhile and efficient to sleep on a park bench.

Room Tip: Don't go. At all. Ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brussels hotels

UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

The room was dreadful. No natuaral light at all, looking out on to an internal fire escape. The room stank of a subtle combination of stale vomit and disinfectant. No remote control for the TV. In bath shower with nothing to hold it onto the wall and no shower curtain. Bathroom toiletries consisted of a small bar of soap. Sound proofing in the room was extremely poor too. I am a heavy sleeper and I was woken up several times in the night.

On a positive note the sheets on the bed were clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed here over 10 years ago, pleased to hear that the happy staff (Bronson) are still in residence, the rooms are outdated and not entirely clean and the terrible breakfasts remain!! To sum this place up, definately worth a visit if you have a sense if humour and adventure!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NoLionsInEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

After reading the reviews on here, I was most disappointed on arrival at the hotel to find clean sheets, clean spacious rooms (one with balcony), no bed bugs, quite a posh bathroom and a great location (10 minutes walk from the centre).

I really do despair at some of the reviewers on this page - at this price, the place is a bargain. It's old and has character - quite dark, carpets and wood etc. If you want something soulless full of chrome and bleached wooden floors then stop moaning and pay for it!

Behind reception were free maps of the city, and the guy in the day gave me plenty of advice.
There's a 24 hour machine selling beer and snacks in the lobby. You're ble to smoke in some rooms. Some balconies, ancient old school lift. If you like character rather than blandness and you're with a group of friends then I could not recommend this place more!!

Room Tip: Rooms 21 and 22 (I think) - recommended!
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Seth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

The location is very good, both for business and for visiting the city center. But everything else was unacceptable, in my opinion. The structure is pretty old and not very clean, and the breakfast is extremely poor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
The Residence Les Ecrins
The Residence Les Ecrins
#59 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#55 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Anne Hotel
Queen Anne Hotel
#101 of 200 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
#72 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Galia
Hotel Galia
#120 of 200 in Brussels
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manhattan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manhattan Hotel

Property: Manhattan Hotel
Address: Boulevard Adolphe Max 132-140 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Manhattan Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Manhattan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manhattan Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing