We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow but good!”
Review of Toukoul

Toukoul
Ranked #35 of 3,579 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $40
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Ethiopian, Bar
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
121 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Slow but good!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This beautifully decorated restaurant was recommended by an Ethiopian acquaintance (he says it's the best in town) and was a very pleasant discovery. We shared a couple of menues and we were all really pleased with the presentation, taste and variety of our choice.
Two small let-downs: we were given a bit of a hard time for bringing our dog and they moved us to the end of the room because of it (though they had said yes on the phone and the place wasn't even full!) and the service was veeeeeeeeeeeery slow.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank afs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    168
    40
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Make a reservation in person!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely delicious. We had three different dishes between us and each of these and the side dishes were amazing, just so tasty. It was very busy- we tried to make a reservation by phone but only got an answer phone, so were asked to return an hour later at half nine and sat down at 9:45pm. It was very busy but service was efficient and friendly. Make a reservation in person and please go to this restaurant- one of the best meals any of the three of us had ever had!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1982_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“YUM!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

I had never eaten, but had heard about Ethiopian food - sounded messy and unsanitary. What a surprise! The food was amazing, delicious and not really that messy; one isn't just dipping hands into shared food as I feared. We opted to share a suggested "chef's tasting menu" which was excellent. We were lucky enough to sit next to the cooking/assembling area and were able to watch and ask questions. Everything was delicious - and surprisingly enough, not nearly as messy as I feared. But, not to worry - there is a hand washing station discretely placed in a corner of the restaurant. It was a culinary adventure and I'm not scared of eating with my hands anymore!

Staff is friendly and helpful - we are English speaking, but had no problems with ordering. Toukoul is worth searching out while in Brussels!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cdh51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“African delight”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Toukoul is a very cosy and stylish Ethiopian restaurant. This was our first time at an Ethiopian establishment but the staff was very helpful and friendly towards us explained the menu and the various dishes. Most of the staff speak good English and if the person that serves you doesnt they always went and got someone who did. We we're recommended the Cornise-menu and St.George Ethiopian beer as a beverage. First we got served a small tabouleh as an amuse bouche. Then the food arrived on a large wooden tray. On top of the tray was a large pancake topped with, chicken, beef-stew, spinach and various other things. Some spicy, some savory and some sweet. And on the side some extra toppings of veal with chilies and vegetables. We also got a bowl filled with pancakes which work as your cutlery since everything is eaten by hand. The food was incredible and the atmosphere was really nice, we thought that we went to have dinner but we had a real experience. The biggest surprise was the quality of the desserts offered, really tasty European styled chocolate or lemon cakes with fresh berry's and ice-cream. Not a place to enjoy in a rush since this is a kind of cuisine that demands time to be enjoyed so that you can taste the various toppings served on the pancakes.

The only downsides were that they charge 7€ for a 1liter bottle of still water.

First we get a fresh tabouleh as an amuse geulle,
than we ordered the Cornise menu for two persons.
You get a large wooden plate with a pancake topped with different small recipes and side dishes.
Some spicy, some sweet, but all incredibly delicious and healthy.
The pancake -injèra- is your cutlery as your plate so everything is eaten by hand.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YarrSheBlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juncos, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expectacular!!!!”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The place has a lot of character and authenticity. The staff is very nice and helpful. The food is made for sharing, everything is served on big wooden plates that go in the middle. Wonderfull

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenauny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toukoul also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Toukoul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing