We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An interesting museum”

Royal Museum of the Armed Forces and of Military History
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.45*
and up
The Brussels Card
Ranked #14 of 400 things to do in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Royal Museum of the Armed Forces and of Military History is the perfect stop for history and military enthusiasts. Located in the two northernmost halls of the Cinquantenaire Park historic complex, the museum collections comprise more than 10 centuries of military and technology history, ranging from suits of armor, antique firearms and swords to armored vehicles and airplanes. Numerous paintings, sculptures, decorations, and military uniforms bring back to life the military history of this area. Admission is free. Closed on Mondays.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator
Carugate
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“An interesting museum”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

An overview of the recent military history of Belgium, with a spectacular installation of airplanes: the soviet MIG 23, similar to the airplane fallen down in Belgium in the eighties, is worth of a visit, just like the other soviet aircraft, the assault elycopter, and the WWII airplanes, with the legendary Spitfire standing among other interesting aircrafts.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank SchnellCarugate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,791 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    932
    645
    178
    26
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is one of the best military museums that I have ever visited. The collection is extensive, and contains artifacts ranging from ancient armor to modern aircraft. When visiting, one is advised to set aside a substantial block of time to see the whole thing, or to pick a subject area [such as the WW I exhibit or the Aircraft exhibit] for a shorter visit.

I was especially impressed by the variety of military uniforms on display.

I was absolutely floored that one can visit this high quality museum for free.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank BillLawrenceKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best place in Brussels”
Reviewed November 22, 2011

The Museum is very nice and best of all the entrance is free.The Museum closes at 4:30 (May be in the winter) so make the visit to the Museum the first thing in your list.Start from the end i.e from the air and marine wings and come back to the start so that you will not miss the best attractions because of time constraints.The nearby park and the arch is beautiful and you can spend some quality time there.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Pra_vem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampertheim, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Convenient location by the park”
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I love this museum. It is very interesting and it is at the park as well. We enjoyed walking around looking at the collections. A lot to see inside and a nice place to stroll outside.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank marmitchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An afternoon well spent”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I visited the Museum mostly because I had heard good things about the avaition part- in fact, it stands as a quasi-seperate attraction, but it is part of the Military Museum.

The army side was an extensive and impressive collection of all sorts- loads of uniforms, plenty of firearms, and a most enormous collection of artillery pieces from the two World Wars. There's small extra things, too- like a mock-up of a WWI trench, and titbits of history.

The maritime section is short, but does have some interesting information about the Belgian Section of the Royal Navy in WWII.

The aircraft on display are crammed into a fair-sized hall- there's an Mi-24, Phantom, Gloster Meteor, Caravelle, and a whole bunch of others to look at, each with a little data on the machine. There's a little bit on Sabena, which was OK. Unfortunately, the upper gallery was closed for maintenance when I visited.

Things that weren't ideal: Not much information in English. But that's my problem. There were audio guides available, but I didn't try one out (just my personal preference to wander around at my own pace), so I can't comment on those. Some of the exhibits (eg the Mi-24, possibly the most interesting aircraft on display) didn't seem to have any info attached. But that's about it.

All-in-all, well worth a visit.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank SnakeFighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Museum of the Armed Forces and of Military History also viewed

Schaerbeek, Brussels
 

Been to Royal Museum of the Armed Forces and of Military History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing