We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb food, late-night,excellent selection & wonderful service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thanh-Binh

Thanh-Binh
Ranked #1,221 of 3,490 Restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Superb food, late-night,excellent selection & wonderful service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We can't praise the Thanh-Binh enough We have been visiting this excellent Vietnamese restaurant for nearly 20 years. The service has always been well. It's a great place for a late-night snack or a full meal.

Try the cold imperial spring rolls with crevettes, the excellent fried nem, the barbecued prawns on rice noodles, and any variety of other starters and main courses. You won't be disappointed - it's a delightful place with service with a smile. Highly recommended!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    25
    13
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly, good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I'm no authority on viet cuisine, but I do quite regularly visit thai and viet restaurants. As these go, Thanh Binh is very nice. The interior is nothing to write home about, that much is true. On the other hand food is very nice (we went there with a party of eight and everyone concurs), the waiter very friendly indeed and the price is hard to beat. If the allegations of the other reviewer are true, well fair enough, perhaps it is not authentic viet food (as I said, you have to have been in Vietnam in order to be able to judge), but in that case I'll happily take the non authentic food ... Bottom line, nice food (perhaps not authentic, won't be the judge) but as good as it'll get in the neigbhourhood and for an honest price. And you won't get shown the door if you walk in at 15:00, the kitchen is not closed in the afternoon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gmortier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
171 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Very average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Had been reading the few good reviews and there not being many viet restaurants in Brussels, I decided to give it a try. Reception was friendly but when the starter came, I knew it was just going to be one of those not very authentic viets one finds all over Europe. The fresh springrolls were filled with too much vermicelli instead of vegetables. The sauce that came with it was OK. I had ordered beef and nems on vermicelli. The beef and the nems were fine, but the sauce for dipping the vermicelli was way too sweet. They probably forgot that vietnamese cuisine uses a lot of lime juice to get the right balance between sweet-sour-salt. No, I will probably not return. Is there a better one in my city ???

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dezdemona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food fantastic value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is more a cafe than a restaurant, but what a nice surprise to find it in the St Gery area of Brussels. I hadn't eaten Vietnamese before, so was lucky to go with a friend who knew what was what - and who said the nems (spring rolls) were the best she had eaten anywhere. We could hardly finish the 3 dishes we shared, all of which were absolutely delicious. We had a 25 euro bottle of wine and still came out with a bill of less than 50 euro! Don't be put off by the picture menu - this is a real find!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Gbrux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thanh-Binh also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Thanh-Binh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing