We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky if you visit in august”

Royal Palace (Palais Royal)
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.99*
and up
Brussels Chocolate Walking Tour and Workshop
Ranked #30 of 396 things to do in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
CA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Lucky if you visit in august”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We happened to visit brussels when the palace was open to the public. It is a short (~15 min) uphill walk from the grandplatz. We could not get a taxi to take us there (we had our infant with us and did not want to expend our energy walking).

Note:
- strollers are not allowed inside the palace
- almost all the exhibits inside are about Albert I (very little information otherwise)
- the restaurant next door is worth visiting!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank kragca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    420
    179
    18
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Open free to visitors in the summer. An amazing collection of chandeliers!!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We walked around the palace rooms for free today. It was beautiful. Not too busy. You could pay for an audio guide but we didn't. The biggest attraction for me was the collection of chandeliers, dripping with gold and so beautiful to see reflecting in the mirrors.

There was a special exhibition about the war in its centenary and a technology fayre in one room as well.

Definitely worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best free attraction probably in Belgium let alone Brussels”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The Royal Palace is open 6 days a week (Tue to Sun) during the summer period and there are no tickets - just turn up and visit. Interesting beautiful interior - well the parts that you see. Not as grand as you might expect if you have seen Buckingham Palace - but then it is a more recent monarchy and remember it is free!!!

An interesting exhibition about King Albert 1 (1875-1934) this summer. Not everyone's cup of tea to see all the film clips - but an interesting insight to this monarch of neutral Belgium in WW1.

definitely a must if you are in Brussels in the summer months

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stubbington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Weird but beautiful beetle ceiling.”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Too be honest we only visited the palace for the beetle shell ceiling. Albeit a bit cruel, from an artistic point of view you can't help but be in awe of this ceiling. It looks different from every angle and very different from anything else you'll see elsewhere. The rest of the palace was nice enough if you're keen on chandeliers and portraits. It was also interesting to learn the history of the Belgian royalty.

Helpful?
Thank KerryS0177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Beautiful Palace in the Centre of Brussels”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Situated close to Brussels park. We were lucky to visit the palace from the inside. Its only open for 5-6 weeks in the summer and can be viewed for free. Outstanding rooms with so much gold and amazing chandeliers. Great place for photos. Better than the palace of Versailles

Strollers need to be left at the entrance if parents travelling with young children.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTraveller99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Palace (Palais Royal) also viewed

 

Been to Royal Palace (Palais Royal)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing