We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place to spend a few hours”
Review of Mini-Europe

Mini-Europe
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.74*
and up
The Brussels Card
Ranked #24 of 401 things to do in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Mini-Europe stays in Brussels !!! DISCOVER EUROPE’S NICEST PLACES ...Europe in a few hours… A unique experience!Mini-Europe is above all an “invitation to travel”. The chimes of Big Ben, the gondolas in front of the Doge’s Palace, the Grand-Place in Brussels, the Acropolis ... an animated tour with visual and sound effects along 350 miniatures and attractions recreated down to the smallest detail at the scale 1/25.A fascinating presentation for everyone, not to be missed during your stay in the Capital of Europe!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fun place to spend a few hours”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Other than the fact you have to take the metro then catch a bus, this is really fun to do with kids. I even enjoyed pushing the buttons on the monuments and taking pictures as if I was taller than some of the places! The whole family had a blast. Set aside at least three hours to travel there and back, and tour the park. If there is any line at all, you may need four. But well worth the trip!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,168
    1,283
    475
    127
    47
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne
Level Contributor
404 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“old-fashioned and run-down, what was the point?”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had chosen this park in the hope that our niece and nephew could learn something about Europe in a fun and interactive way, assuming the park was meant for children and young adults.

Our disappointment and frustration started with the arrival. We found the huge parking lot – evidently used for Mini-Europe, the Atomium, and also several movie theatres – but couldn’t find any clear signs directing us to the entrance of Mini-Europe. After asking around we finally found the way and were shocked to discover that we had to schlep the baby carriage up and down stairs, joining many others with children. No lift, no ramp. We couldn’t believe that the park hadn’t invested in a family-friendly entrance.

The service personnel seemed a bit overwhelmed by the tourists on the bright August day we’d chosen for our visit, but we finally got our tickets and made our way through the crowd.

While the architectural models might be interesting for pre-internet students of architecture, they no doubt seem prehistoric to those who have experience of 3-D or holograms. We had a huge family “discussion” after my nephew tried to find out what was really underneath the Spanish windmills by simply lifting the top – a fully normal response from an inquisitive boy in my view. The personnel were more patient and understanding that the boy’s other uncle, and I had to comfort the chastised child by saying that I would’ve done the same thing as a kid.

But this park is “hands-off” with the one exception of a button in front of each country, which simply churns out a poorly recorded version of the national anthem or makes some miniature plastic toys move in some way. The little sign in front of each building displays facts (not always up-to-date) such as the size, capital city, the population, the currency, and the year of joining the EU: details that most children (and adults too I imagine) wouldn’t find particularly gripping.

The exit area contains what was intended to be an interactive exhibit with, for example, moveable slats of wood with parts of various treaties to be put together. Greasy spoons serving Belgian fast food didn't entice us to stay any longer after our walk through Mini-Europe. At least the weather was wonderful.

For those who expect anything like American amusement parks, be warned. Mini-Europe could enourage visitors to think about the connections between national stereotypes and choice of architecture or about the challenges of trying to make the EU visible and more understandable for its citizens, especially for the younger generation. But what are the visitors supposed to really learn about Europe other than walking by models of lots of architecture, some adorned with plastic figures?

In retrospect our afternoon was so surreal that we’d maybe even think about coming back – if the ticket prices go way down – but then without the kids.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank GermanJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mini-Europe, Propriétaire at Mini-Europe, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
It is not obvious to answer to such a negative point of view.

I have to agree that the parking lot and the entrance are not obvious to find.
Those are the properties of Brussels Expo, a company belonging to Brussels City.
I am struggle for a long time with the City of Brussels to improve them but without success.

There is a real problem with the staircase for buggies and for handicapped. In January a couple has to walk 1 km detour to enter into Mini-Europe. This is not acceptable.
I presented a document to the city to improve the access, even with a participation at the cost of Mini-Europe but it is not a priority of the City.
With your mail I will continue to work on it.

About the models.
We are a model park with models of high quality, with many animated models and our theme is the European Union. We hope to offer a good time for two hours while learning about the countries and the European Union.

We honestly think that the park is a positive experience for our public. We could not be the second attraction of Brussels without being good or very good. Even when we say that, we know that we constantly have to improve the park and we will do it. In 2014 we will offer more new models, more new animated attractions… and the windmills of La Mancha are currently implanted in a new environment.

Don’t take Mini-Europe for what it is not. Mini-Europe make a short presentation of the European Union: the countries, some figures, a European spirit and a short presentation by games at the end in Spirit of Europe. We are not an official site where you can learn the policy of the European Parliament, the European Commission and a debate about their policy.

We hope this answers to your advice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbeek, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice to fill some time”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

If you don't have time to visit all of Europe, then come here and spend a few hours seeing the highlights of the european countries. Combine this trip with the atonium. Kids love pressing the buttons to hear the noises and see the things move

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank downthunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Nice place specially for kids...”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

It's right behind atomium and a fun place to visit. My 4 years old son enjoyed a lot. We really had wonderful time there!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank krshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Really Enjoyable, Great Experience”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Mini Europe is what you'd except. Europe, but really small. I say that not to be funny, but that's the bottom line. And while it might not sound fun, it actually really is.


I went with my wife and even though it was raining we really enjoyed ourselves. The level of detail on the models is really good and it's a strange (but interesting) experience going "around the major sights in Europe" in only a couple of hours.

Each country has their national anthem available by pressing a button and if you're a big kid like me then that's actually pretty fun. If I had to be critical, I would say that it would have been nice if there were more interactive parts. You can sail a boat (for a price), turn a windmill and stand by a volcano but it would have been nice to be more "involved". That said, it is definitely a must see attraction in Brussels.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank barneystinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mini-Europe also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Schaerbeek, Brussels
 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Mini-Europe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing