We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but disappointing!”
Review of Hotel Mozart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mozart
Ranked #154 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We found the hotel on the net and chose because of the name! (We are professional musicians).
Probably it was a charming Mozartian /Bidermeier hotel originally, but the present owners , whilst keeping the original pictures have turned it into a souk. Every conceivable bit of wall is covered with "Moroccan type" tiling - it looks most bizarre.
A PLUS was that our small room was very quiet and the bed comfortable. However the room itself was difficult to move around in owing to a central support column! The bed was clean but the carpets under the bed were very dusty. The bathroom was spartan, with no hooks or place to put toilet bags.
The staff were not helpful when we asked for 2 extra pillows - they said they didn't provide more than 2 unless they were requested in advance!
Despite the hotel's glowing (but totally innaccurate brochure), the breakfast was definitely NOT for "foodies" as advertised - it was miserable, and the staff grumpy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikadoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

290 - 296 of 851 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

Located 100 meters from the Grand Place, the price is fair (no place in Brussels is cheap) but you get in return what you paid for it. Avoid the breakfast if you can, for 3 euros you can have a better one in any cafe near the hotel.

Room Tip: Located in a very noisy touristic street, ask for an interior room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicardoJar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

On a mini inter-railing trip through the Benelux, myself and 2 other friends chose to book into the Hotel Mozart for our two nights in Brussels. Admittedly, we did not spend much time in the hotel so perhaps weren't as in tuned to the negatives as other reviewers. But it really is an excellent little hotel. Quirky and we found the Mozart playing in the corridors and the décor endearingly silly. Our room was in the loft, and in spite of my bed looking like a slightly wider than average, wrought-iron park bench, I managed to get a good night's sleep following wandering around Brussels: the bathroom seemed a little dated, but it was clean, massive and in-keeping with the homely vibe of the rest of the room. The hotel, with its winding staircases and higgeldy piggeldy layout is an attraction in itself! Much more fun than a regimented magnolia box in my eyes! Could quite happily have stayed there for much longer.

The location is excellent for the historical side of Brussels, and close to the train station. The staff were friendly enough, although breakfast was a little "here's your croissant, eat up and let us use the table for someone else" - but that didn't bother us as we had a day of exploring to get to and other Belgian delights to sample. Hotel Mozart has character and is excellent value for money. Bizarre and convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HanBanan48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was my 2nd stay at the hotel, and unlike last time I really experienced why it is one of the few affordable hotels in the vicinity.

I checked in late and got a room close to the entry and directly on the central corridor, resulting in a rather noisy experience. The room was nicely decorated, but had no AC and only a tiny window in a niche. The light on the desk was not working (light bulb defect). The room and especially the bathroom was unclean, with fungi above the shower.

Breakfast is no buffet, but only a plate with some bread, jam etc. for each guest.

The reception was unattentive to unfriendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdvTripperIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Now this is the 4th time I have stayed there so I hope I have some experience of the place and I won't beat about the bush:

Bad points: noisy both inside & outside, not particulary clean, poor maintenance.
Good points: convenience, price, psychedelic decor.

Get a room at the back, enjoy the bizarre decor, buy some earplugs and you will be fine for a couple of nights.

It is poor, but it is such an odd building it should be included as part of your tour just to see the decor! It has almost become an institution for us and we tolerate it because of the location & price and we always have great fun describing the faults discovered in our rooms to each other.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room at the back if you need some sleep.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calum B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

In fact, all the positive things about Hotel Mozart are these: good location, orientalic look (if you like it), free WiFi. When we arrived I was surprised, because I read all the negative reports, and I thought "okay, it's not that bad" - but then...
The personal staff is unfriendly, the door to the breakfast room gets closed at 09.30 am (even when people just arrive there to get in!!!), the walls are thinner than paper and you hear everything around your room. The rooms are pretty small and don't dare to take a closer look...
We stayed there for three nights and for this period it's okay, but not for longer, if you have a good sleep even if it's pretty loud around you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaAnnina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I am one week away from staying at the Mozart for the fourth time. Only there for two nights which is all you would want really.

There are some pretty horrific reports on here and elsewhere about this hotel and most of them are pretty close to the mark. The rooms are small and a tad ramshackle. The lift only fits one person and a case at a time normally. The breakfast area is untidy and gives the appearance of being dirty. The whole place is decorated in the most bizarre way.

However. It is cheap... very cheap in fact (and lets face it these days you get what you pay for) It is less than a two minute walk to the main square. If you look a little deeper in to the decor you can see the funny side.

If you are at the front of the hotel be prepared for a difficult time getting to sleep. The two nightclubs exactly opposite carry on until 3am. and then you have the 6 or 7 food establishments in the road that are serving kebabs and burgers till 3.30am maybe later.

Would you recommend it...... not in a million years. BUT it is so conveinient and priced so cheaply can you actually afford not to stay there especially if you are only in town for 1 or 2 nights?

We go out at 9 in the morning and do not arrive back until 2 or 3am so it does us. If you want comfort and style go elsewhere. If you wqant cheap and location it has to be a good buy.

Room Tip: If you need to sleep make sure your room is not overlooking the street at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 18RonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
#112 of 199 in Brussels
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Floris Arlequin Grand'Place
0.1 mi away
Aris Grand Place Hotel
Aris Grand Place Hotel
#108 of 199 in Brussels
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels
0.1 mi away
The Moon Hotel
The Moon Hotel
#144 of 199 in Brussels
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mozart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mozart

Address: Rue du Marche aux Fromages 23 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: $73 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mozart 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mozart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mozart Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing