We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK for One Night”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Galia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Galia
Ranked #119 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It's OK for One Night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

The hotel is just beside a floating market, yet there was no place for parking even for a short while. My German friend dropped my on the street and I had to drag my luggage quite a long way. This is an old building with an age old tiny elevator. It took at least five minutes to reach second floor. Location wise its a good place, if you can find your way to Grand Palace and other places of interest. The room and the environment of 'Galia' is clean but there is hardly any place to move in the room. The young man in the reception was very nice, polite and ready to extend his helping hand. I stayed only one night there and I found it was quite OK for a night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farid54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    134
    89
    23
    43
See reviews for
36
134
27
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

I picked Hotel Galia in part because my first day or two in Europe after a flight from the US West Coast are mostly a daze and I prefer decent pricing to amenities. In that regard, Hotel Galia is just fine. The neighorhood -- Marolles -- is not for everyone as it is a bit frayed at the edges but I enjoyed it for the daily flea market on the square outside the hotel and the area's rich history. It's also an easy walk to Grand Place, provided you don't get lost in the maze of streets, but that's a big part of the pleasure of Brussels for me. My only complaint is that, due to the price, it feels more like a hostel and as such has a more rowdy crowd of young people staying there. A group of young ones smoked, drank and talked loudly on the front terrace until all hours without any regard to the hotel guests. For the price, though, this spot is fine.

Room Tip: If you like it quiet, rooms at the rear might be a better option as things start very early on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Galia was perfect for us. We liked the location - slightly off the beaten track, but close enough to walk to most tourist attractions, and very convenient for the Eurostar terminal.

Our room was perfectly nice, with a decent bathroom and a comfy mattress. We weren't really disturbed by noise from the market in the square (despite being on the first floor, with windows which overlooked it) and we really enjoyed browsing in the market.

Breakfast was great - warm croissants, fresh bread, and cheeses and cold meats. And the breakfast room is lovely.

We didn't manage to log onto the hotel wifi, but we picked up free wifi in our room from a nearby cafe, so it didn't matter.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and all in all, with breakfast included, it was a very nice place to stay, at a reasonable price. Definitely preferable to staying in a characterless chain-style hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hkh1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
planetE
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

They put a plastic bathroom in yhe room. As such not a problem. Just the waterpumping system makes a noise like there is a motor scooter crossing your room at full speed. So any time uour neigbours use the water you sit right up in your bed. Ee gad a room with 4 beds. 3 were ok. 1 was terrible. Way too sft. Anyway, the noose was such that that alone makes this a place too avoid. Too bad, because the spot is realy nice and the personnel too!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicafamilytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brussels hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This place was amazing. Staff were great, as was the room. The food was awesome too! The bar round the corner was great too as was the restaurant opposite it.

The one problem was the market that is held every morning that can be a bit loud.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louise c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I was in Brussels for a conference and my colleagues and I were looking for a nice and clean hotel that was reasonably priced.
The hotel is within walking distance to the city center and the main train station (about 15 min). It is located at the Place de Jeu de Balles, where a flea market is taking place every day - check out some quirky antiques and enjoy the atmosphere!
The hotel itself looks a bit run-down from the outside, on the inside it has been nicely renovated (well, at least, most corners!). We had booked a 4-bedroom apartment and it was HUGE, it came with 6 (!) beds, a tiny kitchen and a decent bathroom. However, the room seemed to be freshly renovated in parts and simultaneously falling apart on other parts...expect cables sticking out of walls and curtain rods falling down...well, I would'nt want to stay there with small kids (some of the plugs were definitely not child-proof) but the room was decently clean, very spaceous and definitely had character. Another minor disturbance was the lack of blinds, there were only thin curtains and there were lamps directly in front of the windows, so it was quite bright at night.
I also stayed in a double room for one night, which was on the 5th floor (no / broken elevator...). The view was beautiful and the room was cozy, albeit very small (actually too small for 2 people, there was no storage room / wardrobe). The room was freshly renovated, but the beds were rather uncomfortable due to old and thin matresses.
The breakfast was not included but could be separately booked in the hotel's restaurant. I really loved the restaurant, it is decorated with lots of old furniture and has a lovely atmosphere. The breakfast was really good value (croissants, bread, coffee / tea / juice etc for 5 €). However, the hotel clearly lacked personnel. The reception was sometimes not staffed and there was only one lady responsible for reception and breakfast in the morning...so although the breakfast was supposed to be available from 7 o'clock on there often were delays because the poor lady could not do all the work simultaneously (normally I would'nt bother, but because of the conference we had to leave really early and would have appreciated a breakfast before a long day).
Long story short - despite some clear flaws, I would recommend this hotel to all people that just don't care for the usual middle-class-super-boring-anonymous-hotels and are willing to smile at some dusty corners or lack of towels. The staff was nice, the hotel friendly and clean and it was definitely a quirky place with an atmosphere!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jambo_neema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I really liked this hoteI. The rooms are simple but give what you need. Clean enough. Breakfast room is full of old toys and stuff. I actually opened my eyes with the smell of a toasting bread. I think my room was somewhere on the top of the breakfast hall or the hotel is really small. I liked when you need to ring the bell when you come late. And the area is great. I think it is one of the nicest corner of Brussells. because after 6 pm the city was emptied by commuters but in the ae-rea that Galia Hotel is full of people who play guitars, have chats etc. You may visit the flea market too.

Room Tip: by the front window if you want to listen a guitar concert
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mutludem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
#75 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#57 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
1.0 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Residence Les Ecrins
The Residence Les Ecrins
#62 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.0 mi away
easyHotel Brussels City Centre
0.5 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galia

Property: Hotel Galia
Address: Place du Jeu de Balle 15-16 | Vossenplein, Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Galia 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Galia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galia Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing