We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Galia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Galia
Ranked #120 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“fine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

short distance from train but far enough that you are away from the train station shabbiness. There is substantial construction taking place on the square right in front of the hotel. But the windows are pretty good at keeping out the noise. A walk up the Blaesstraat takes you straight into the city. It is a fine place, small rooms, mattresses could be replaced.... If you are looking for a good discount hotel, this will work well. Stayed also at Les Bluets in Brussels and it was much better for about the same price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Js M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    133
    88
    23
    43
See reviews for
35
133
27
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crete, Greece
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay in this art deco style hotel. The room was decorated very tastefully, reflecting an art style that reminds you of the buildings of the city, and the bathroom was spacious. The room window faced the street where we had a view of the flea market. The heaters were working so we could keep warm (Brussels weather is not very inviting). The staff were very friendly. They allowed us to choose which room we would stay in. The breakfast was very very filling. The breakfast room doubled up as a brasseries in the evening, and it contained various artifacts found in the flea market.

Room Tip: The hotel breakfast room has a brasserie connected to it - if you dont want to be annoyed by their m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mverivaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

this little hotel opens its windows on a very beautiful square, "place de jeu de balle" and on the legendary flea market. we asked for a 4 people room, and we had a lovely, very well furnished double-chambre, for the children with a bunk bed, and for us with a queen size bed. we had nice bathroom with shower and all furniture was chosen with elegance and was very classy. the hotel is very very quiet, altought it was full we never heard a noise during the 2 nights staying. moreover they cleaned very well the room, and this is a plus.
Breakfast is very abundant and it is served in a very very nice room, with the tipical atmosphere of a brasserie. Coffee, milk, tea and also cappuccino and expresso are available. the orange juice is maybe the only thing I did not like, it is was only some water and orange-juice powder, BUT, the "terrine" ( a kind of pate' ) was wonderful and fresh home-made, the croissants were really super and there was agood choice of jams and butter and honey and a large choice of cold cuts ( ham, salami...) and a good camerbert too. Price was really honest, moreover in a city like Bruxelles and during first May vacations. Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Booked the hotel through booking.com, was informed of the overbooking by the booking.com, canceled a week before arrival through the booking agency, received conformation of 0 Euro charge. Stayed with friends in Brussels instead. After coming back home received a statement from Visa card, informing me that I was charged by the Hotel Galia for 1 night stay. That just made me and my husband another victim to the hotel's bad business attitude (see previous reviews complaining of overbooking and being charged for it).

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelwell028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brussels hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed here just after Easter when it is generally busy everywhere. Room was small but just redecorated and clean. Double glazing and cold nights with windows closed meant that noise from flee market preparations each morning didn't disturb us....might be different in warmer weather! Staff were obliging and breakfasts good. (continental) restaurant Chez Nous good fresh local cuisine. We'd come again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holmwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

My partner and I were looking for a cheap European getaway and saw a deal on Eurostar, £59 return travel to Brussels. With this in mind we would need somewhere to stay and so I set my partner the task of finding a hotel with a small budget.

The hotal Galia is quite close to the Eurostar terminal in Brussels, which is very handy. It's not located in the best or busiest area of the city, so depending on your preferences it might not be ideal.

The staff were friendly and most spoke a basic level of English, although for those planning on travelling to Brussels - I would brush up on your French, it helped me navigate a menu or two.

Our room was at the front of the building on the currently unfinished 4th floor. There is a (slow) lift which will take you to floor 3, you will notice that all of the corridors are nicely decorated. When you reach the stairs to floor 4, we were greeted with a more unfinished feel (wooden floors, half painted walls and paint pots).

The room itself is ok, a very big bed but a strange choice for a wall colour (deep red). The bathroom was a kind of all in one package, again not the best but it served it's purpose (other than an occasional cold shower).

We had been advised of a daily flea market opposite the hotel, at 4 floors up we did not hear too much from it - although the clock tower reminds you of its presence every 15 minutes, which can be a little annoying. The walls of the room are also paper thin, so you hear most people talking too.

You get breakfast, a small selection of cereals breads and meats. Not really my preference, but enough to get me going for the day.

The hotel were kind enough to look after out bags as check out is 10 am, there is also Wifi free of charge - but you can only use this downstairs and will need the code to do so.

My best advise given the location, would be to walk to the Palais du Justice (Law Courts) which is only a few minutes. From here you can catch the sightseeing bus which is 20 Euro for 24 hours, hop on and see most of the things worth seeing. If you time the journey right, you will get good use of it the following day too.

Overall I was not unsatisfied with the hotel Galia, but it felt more like a VIP style hostel than a hotel.

Room Tip: A room at the rear of the hotel, on floors 1-3 might be slightly better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank conker89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed here on a two day trip to brussells to see a gig. We arrived early and the staff were very helpful, let us check in early which enabled a freshen up before exploring Brussels.

The hotel is about 15min walk from the Eurostar station and then about 15-20 min walk to the central square. We walked everywhere so don't know what the local transport is like.

The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was one of those enclosed thingys, it was OK if a little worn.

The breakfast was a cold buffet style, lots to eat, plenty of coffee, it really was a treat.

In terms of the flea market this was great, I got a 60;s ciggarett holder! The noise did not disturb us and we were on the 1st floor at the front. I was concerned about the possibility and the hotel did offer us a room at the back however we decided to risk it and were please we did.

Overall the hotel's in belgium are overpriced, this is a good cheap option.

Room Tip: If you don't want to risk the morning market ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdm66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
#72 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#55 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
1.0 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
easyHotel Brussels City Centre
0.5 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Belvue
Hotel Belvue
#108 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galia

Property: Hotel Galia
Address: Place du Jeu de Balle 15-16 | Vossenplein, Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Galia 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Galia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galia Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing