We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge Autrichienne
Ranked #197 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Mol, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never again”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

When we arrived the receptionist was really confusing, only spoke a little english (no french or dutch either). The room was dirty, carpet was smelly and i didn't dare to walk on it without my shoes on. The window was broken, so it required some force to kinda close it. Trains where riding just out back. The light over our bed didn't work, lots of mildew in the bathroom.

Let's just say I won't be staying here ever again! even if every hotel in Brussels is booked...

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selphis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    4
    5
    25
See reviews for
6
3
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Sleep Quality
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Biot, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

all hotels were fully booked in Brussels this week and my company only found this hotel with a room free. When arriving at the reception, a couple of travelers were complaining and canceling their reservation. After waiting for a long time, the guy at the reception told me I had to pay in advance for the 2 nights. When I entered the room, the walls and whole building started to shake. When opening the curtains, I saw a train passing by ; I could nearly touch the railway from the window. The room was VERY dirty, TV not working, bed sheets extremely suspicious (blood ?). The first night was a nightmare. I was able to hear the guy at the reception on the phone almost all night speaking very loud - also the police arrived at some time... Breakfast was ... ok let's forget it...
This was definitely my worst hotel experience ever... AVOID IT at all costs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rexoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brussels hotels

Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2008

The hotel is located near Gard du Midi(train station), on Rue de Stalingrad. Fore me it was ideal to live close to the railway station, but that does not mean that I want to live ON the railway lines. As you can see on the photo, the railway lines are right under my window. The staff on the the hotel was not very polite, and when I came up to my room, the maid was sitting there reading a magazine. Not a very good first impression. The room was not so bad, but you don't get what you pay for.

  • Liked — The american channel on the TV
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EivindO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2007

They speak English but there is nothing to recommend this rather dirty hotel. Right next to the train tracks. Never acknowledged the reservation we booked through Venere website and we checked in only by "luck" you might say. Spend a few Euro extra and get a nice hotel like the Agenda Midi nearby at 114euro a night, truly a good hotel. Auberge not recommended for anyone.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — right on the train tracks
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank lizzie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

We booked this hotel through a third party website. After seeing the photos, this hotel looked like a simple, clean business hotel. Boy, could this have been further from the truth!

We called ahead to confirm a late arrival, which we were told was not a problem and they confimed our reservation at that time. When we arrived late that night, the desk clerk could not find a record of our reservation and the only reason we got our room was that we had printed off our confirmation, which guaranteed our room and the price. We were supposed to stay for 2 nights and after seeing just the lobby and experiencing the confused, discourteous demeanour of the desk clerk, we refused to pay for more than one night. We would have gone somewhere else that night but it was late, we were tired and we would not have found another place to stay.

Upon entering the room, before we even had a chance to turn the lights on, we were greeted by the unpleasant serenade of four tracks of trains rolling through to Gare du Midi (see picture). Add to that the smokey hall smell, stained carpets (stains were dark and plentiful - blood?), mildewed bathroom and you get an extremely unpleasant experience. Need we say that the beds were uncomfortable? The only good thing about our room is that the sheets were clean (but remember that the sheets are generally supposed to be clean in a hotel!)

We had a hard time falling asleep so we turned the tv on only to find a oozy mark across the screen.

The breakfast was respectable although we did not get to fully appreciate it as once we had informed the desk clerk that we would not be staying a second night, we were given the bum's rush.

In closing, if you do eventually get to sleep at this hotel, you are so close to the train tracks that you are woken up every fifteen minutes only to find that you are still within the nightmare that is l'Auberge Autrichienne.

  • Liked — Leaving!
  • Disliked — The proximity to the train tracks.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Butters_and_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, PA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2007

This place is a total dive! The carpets are filthy, the furniture falling apart, the bed completely sagging and lumpy, the bedspread has a cigarette burn on it, the sheets are stained with blood--basically, you get the idea. This is the epitomy of a flea bag hotel.
Close to Gar du Midi, but not worth the 55 Euro/night. I will never stay here again. Ever!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank rdstephe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Stalingrad
Hotel Stalingrad
#145 of 198 in Brussels
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Midi-Zuid
Hotel Midi-Zuid
#20 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
61 reviews
0.7 mi away
Escale Hotel
Escale Hotel
#177 of 198 in Brussels
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Barry
Hotel Barry
#169 of 198 in Brussels
403 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
#75 of 198 in Brussels
678 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Residence Les Ecrins
The Residence Les Ecrins
#58 of 198 in Brussels
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Autrichienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Autrichienne

Property: Auberge Autrichienne
Address: Avenue de Stalingrad 122, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge Autrichienne 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Auberge Autrichienne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Autrichienne Brussels
Auberge Autrichienne Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing