We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Orient on the Doorstep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brussels Welcome Hotel
Ranked #16 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I was looking for a short trip for my wife's birthday and was getting a bit worried that I couldn't find anything that was not too far to travel as time was limited but was a bit more exotic. Then I found the Welcome on the internet and immediately booked one of its suites - The Silk Road. When we arrived I saw my wife was not over-impressed with the exterior but as soon as we entered we were warmly welcomed and were amazed by the suite. It was decorated to represent the old trade route from China to Venice with interesting furnishings and artwork including a realistic mural of Venice in the hall between the bedroom and the bathroom. The bedroom area is large with three full height windows overlooking St Catherine's square. The bed was large and very comfortable. The bathroom was beautifully tiled with double basins, a shower and a large jacuzzi type bath. There was a separate toilet and washbasin. Breakfast was excellent and was available in the reception area which had a small cafe atmosphere.
The St Catherines square area has many restaurants and we did not need to go far to find excellent food following recommendations from the hotel. The Metro station is accessible just yards from the hotel. And critical nowadays - free wi-fi in the room. This hotel is to be recommended as a welcome change from the standard city centre hotel and at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pc1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeBrussels, Propriétaire at Brussels Welcome Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear pc1949,

The most importantt your wife was happy with your choice. Our job is to help our guests to enjoy a maximuum the stay in Brussels.
Many thanks and best regards
Michel Smeesters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

The appeal of the Welcome hotel is the quirkiness of the rooms and the fact that you are getting an experience which is not a packaged, chain hotel experience. We stayed in Tahiti and thought it was great fun, something different caught your eye each time you went in the room. A bonus too was the bathroom had a window so fresh air and daylight in the bathroom.
The welcome on arrival lived up to the name with extensive information about what to see and do. Location is good, close to the metro and lots of restaurants and bars and even a cocktail van nearby. Breakfast was enjoyable but we did skip it the second day to have breakfast out. The only thing to improve would be the tea making facilities in the room, only powdered creamer available. Drinks were available in the lobby 24 hours a day but I did miss my waking up cuppa.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SarahJT325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeBrussels, Propriétaire at Brussels Welcome Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear SarahJT325,
Many thanks for your comments. Sorry for your wake up tea but for hygienic reasons, we cannot leave fresh milk in each rroom.
Of course, if you ask us,we will do all our best to find a solution the next time you come.
Best regards
marc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is by far the best boutique hotel I have stayed in Brussels. The location is really great, the rooms are spacious, and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast was more than decent - better than the other places in Brussels I've stayed at previously. Plus, the air-conditioner works! A rare thing in Brussels. We got the Tahiti room - the decoration was a -bit- cheesy perhaps, but it didn't bother me. The 'jacuzzi' bathtub was a nice extra. I would definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Izabellachen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeBrussels, Propriétaire at Brussels Welcome Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear mcw81689,
It's so good to read so nice comments

Many thanks

Best regards
Michel Smeesters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend break.
We arrived at about 10am to be greeted by Chloe. We expected to leave our bags and then return later when the room would be available. However, we were able to go straight to the room and get sorted.
However, our main reason for the title was Chloe and her amazing introduction to brussels highlighting all the best tourist areas plus her own recommendations. This chat saved us so much time and was really really helpful.
We stayed inthe Marakeech room whic was really nice.
We would recommend the bike hire, simple and easy to use. The sightseeing bus was not so good with the commentary being pretty useless, most of the time either the connection on the seat would not work or it played music.

Room Tip: Marakeech excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Slk350Prestbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeBrussels, Propriétaire at Brussels Welcome Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear Slk350Prestbury,

Chloé is charmed by your comments.
Many thanks
Hoping to welcome you again
Best regards
Michel Smeesters

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Welcome for two nights in the Bali room. We visited during a heat wave, and upon arrival we requested a room change to an air-conditioned room. Sophie, one of the owners, was so kind in accommodating our request. The room we stayed in was gorgeous, furnished beautifully with a balcony and double jacuzzi tub. Once we had gotten settled, Sophie sat down with us and went through a map of Brussels, pointing out all the major sights in Brussels. She even sent us to a great restaurant a few doors down from the hotel. The hotel is very quiet and quaint. We were greeting warmly each time we walked in and out of the hotel. Breakfast is provided, featuring several breads, hard boiled eggs, coffee, juices, cereal, and lunch-meat selections. Overall, we had a great stay in this charming hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for the Bali room! It is lovely and has A/C!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcw81689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeBrussels, Propriétaire at Brussels Welcome Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear mcw81689,

It's really a pleasure to see comments like this.
Many thanks

Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is an awesome hotel. If you ever have the opportunity to stay here you should. Michel and Sophie are the owners and managers. They are personable, friendly and very accommodating. They have done an amazing job designing the rooms and bathrooms according to the country themes they have chosen. Even the hallways are decorated. The hotel is in a perfect location on St. Katherine Square, where the old fish market used to be. There are many restaurants really close. The atmosphere was awesome. We truly enjoyed our stay here.
-The Hurley Family

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neena H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeBrussels, Propriétaire at Brussels Welcome Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Hurley Family,

Many thanks for your comments
Have a great day,
Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed in Welcome Hotel for 2 nights and we were really pleased. The interior and furnishing was unique, well selected and created right atmosphere for the rooms (as well as the halls and stairways). The room itself was small (we stayed in Japan), but had everything what we needed (shower and comfortable bed). The staff was friendly and helpful and a lovely surprise was that coffee and snacks were available all day.
Also the location of hotel is good, in the middle of Brussel, just next to the metro.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ello v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeBrussels, Propriétaire at Brussels Welcome Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Ello V ,
Many thanks for your comments!
Best regards
Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
1.6 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 198 in Brussels
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#70 of 198 in Brussels
2,837 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brussels City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brussels Welcome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brussels Welcome Hotel

Address: Quai au Bois a Bruler 23 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: $114 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brussels Welcome Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of Brussels in the subway saint-Catherine, at 6 mn walking distance of the famous Grand Place. The hotel, at the same time atypical and welcoming, offers a real world tour because its 14 rooms with shower or balneo bath and its 2 SUITES with double Jacuzzi are decorated in the style of a different country with authentic objects brought back of the journeys of the owners, others were offered to them by customers. Rooms offer a real comfort with WiFi connection and certain air-conditioning. It is the magic place which will make you dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brussels Welcome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing