We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, Small Hotel, Loved the Themes!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brussels Welcome Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brussels Welcome Hotel
Ranked #8 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
914 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Nice, Small Hotel, Loved the Themes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Another choice based on Trip Advisor recommendations. The rooms do not have numbers, they are distinguished by themes. We stayed in the Marrakesh room and it was decorated accordingly, wonderfully. Large bathroom, tub with separate shower. Other themes included Egypt, Congo, Cuba, etc. The breakfast was standard continental fare. Very helpful staff, especially Chloe. Very centrally located near St. Catherine Church, about 30 minute walk from train station. Good wifi service.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ZumaDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    338
    79
    27
    18
See reviews for
140
579
67
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I struggled with the hotel for our stay in Brussels, but I kept coming back to the Welcome Hotel. I loved the idea of the rooms based on different cities but it still took me a while to decide on the hotel. Once I found a good rate online, I decided to make the commitment to the hotel. And I'm so glad I did. The hotel is in a fantastic location. Right across the street is a Metro stop, though the main sights are easily walkable from the hotel. From the time we checked in, Sophie was beyond friendly and helpful (she made us rest when we checked in as exhaustion from an overnight flight was starting to set in, though she told us to sleep "no more than one hour").

We stayed in the Istanbul room, which was fun (especially since I had been to Istanbul 6 months prior). The breakfast was included in the cost of the room and was perfectly tasty for a boutique hotel (think pastries and bacon and eggs and the like). The wifi was also free and fast. It was just a great hotel in a good location. If I ever go back to Brussels, I won't even consider another hotel. I'll immediately book another room at the Welcome Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tvchicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I spent a very pleasant night in this lovely hotel a couple of nights ago. We were passing through Bruxelles late at night and were looking for an affordable hotel in a central part of the city so that we could do some sightseeing the following day before we continued out trip.

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by Michael, I believe the half-owner of the hotel. He was very pleasant and professional and more than willing to accommodate us at such a late hour; just before midnight.

By the time we arrived all parking spaces in the hotel garage were in use so Michael offered us the use of his personal parking space in the garage while he parked his own car on the street.

He gave us a chance to take a look at the room before we decided to take it which was a nice gesture on his part.

The hotel is very small, with only a handful of rooms and each of them are themed after a country with all furniture and appointments/decor complementing the host nation.

We stayed in the Japan room and the room was very nice and clean and the bed was very comfortable. Our room, on the top floor, featured a nice loft with an additional bed/futon.

The price of the room included breakfast which is served in the dining room adjacent to the front desk. Everything from cooked eggs and bacon to cereal and toast and cheese can be had. Coffee and orange juice were also available.

The hotel is located in a central area, close to most attractions in the city and about 10 minutes walk to the main city square.

Overall the stay was very pleasant and we a actually hoped to spend another night in this hotel but all of the rooms were booked.

The hotel is affordable, clean and all of the staff we dealt with, we also met the wife, were very pleasant and happy to help out.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bruxelles.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fotomate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

When we travel, we mostly look for a boutique hotel close to public transportation and walking distance to the things that we want to visit. The Welcome Hotel was all that plus a helpful staff and comfortable and quiet room in a great neighborhood. We were fortunate to stay in the Egyptian Suite when our original online reservation was cancelled. The room was large and beautifully appointed. The bathroom was huge with walk up steps to the jacuzzi tub and shower stall. But the best part was getting tips on local places to eat, drink and shop. It felt like "home" and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I chose this for a birthday night away from the children so it was a blind choice. Turned out to be good, location was near transport and the shops and not too far once we had arrived. Room was a bit fancy but it was for my better half. The breakfast was a continental and the staff were so helpful with regards to getting around and good places to see. Did it all, good choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StratfordPaul_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We loved staying at the Welcome Hotel in the Istanbul room. Our only regret was that we were there only one night. What a nice change from a standard sterile hotel room. The owner has traveled around the world, and each room is beatifully decorated to portray a different city or region of the world. The staff was very friendly and informative and spoke English. We enjoyed talking to the owner, who told us about the hotel and even let us see the suite,The Silk Road.
The hotel is in a fun vibrant area of Brussels and just a few minutes walk from The Grand Place. We did not take public transportation while we were in Brussels.
There were great restaurants close to the hotel, and we were able to sit outside for drinks and dinner.
The breakfast was included in the price of the hotel. This was an added bonus, since other hotels we stayed at in Belgium charged 17-22 euros for breakfast. If we return to Brussels, we would definitely stay at the Welcome Hotel again.

Room Tip: If you have money to spare, stay in the suite, The Silk Road. It is very impressive, large and beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Selecting a hotel in a large, foreign city can be a dizzying experience. I didn't want to rough it or pay top dollar, but I did want a location convenient enough to explore downtown without using public transportation. The Welcome Hotel met all of these needs. It even had the charm of being a small, family-run affair where the rooms are themed and the locks take traditional keys. Some may call it cutesy or garish, but I found it a reprieve from corporate art, banal accouterments, and impersonal service. I suppose we looked like tourists, because on arrival we were shown on a map how the city can be walked right from the hotel. In the mornings they provide a Continental breakfast and even some hot items. We didn't realize it, but if you let them know in advance they will even take you to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
1.6 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#15 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,103 reviews
1.2 mi away
MAS Residence
MAS Residence
#2 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.6 mi away
9HOTEL CENTRAL
9HOTEL CENTRAL
#10 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brussels Welcome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brussels Welcome Hotel

Property: Brussels Welcome Hotel
Address: Quai au bois a bruler 23 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brussels Welcome Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of Brussels in the subway saint-Catherine, at 6 mn walking distance of the famous Grand Place. The hotel, at the same time atypical and welcoming, offers a real world tour because its 14 rooms with shower or balneo bath and its 2 SUITES with double Jacuzzi are decorated in the style of a different country with authentic objects brought back of the journeys of the owners, others were offered to them by customers. Rooms offer a real comfort with WiFi connection and certain air-conditioning. It is the magic place which will make you dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Brussels Welcome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing