We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for the weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brussels Welcome Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brussels Welcome Hotel
Ranked #8 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect for the weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I chose this for a birthday night away from the children so it was a blind choice. Turned out to be good, location was near transport and the shops and not too far once we had arrived. Room was a bit fancy but it was for my better half. The breakfast was a continental and the staff were so helpful with regards to getting around and good places to see. Did it all, good choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StratfordPaul_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    654
    338
    79
    27
    18
See reviews for
140
579
67
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We loved staying at the Welcome Hotel in the Istanbul room. Our only regret was that we were there only one night. What a nice change from a standard sterile hotel room. The owner has traveled around the world, and each room is beatifully decorated to portray a different city or region of the world. The staff was very friendly and informative and spoke English. We enjoyed talking to the owner, who told us about the hotel and even let us see the suite,The Silk Road.
The hotel is in a fun vibrant area of Brussels and just a few minutes walk from The Grand Place. We did not take public transportation while we were in Brussels.
There were great restaurants close to the hotel, and we were able to sit outside for drinks and dinner.
The breakfast was included in the price of the hotel. This was an added bonus, since other hotels we stayed at in Belgium charged 17-22 euros for breakfast. If we return to Brussels, we would definitely stay at the Welcome Hotel again.

Room Tip: If you have money to spare, stay in the suite, The Silk Road. It is very impressive, large and beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Selecting a hotel in a large, foreign city can be a dizzying experience. I didn't want to rough it or pay top dollar, but I did want a location convenient enough to explore downtown without using public transportation. The Welcome Hotel met all of these needs. It even had the charm of being a small, family-run affair where the rooms are themed and the locks take traditional keys. Some may call it cutesy or garish, but I found it a reprieve from corporate art, banal accouterments, and impersonal service. I suppose we looked like tourists, because on arrival we were shown on a map how the city can be walked right from the hotel. In the mornings they provide a Continental breakfast and even some hot items. We didn't realize it, but if you let them know in advance they will even take you to the airport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

The major draw for me for this hotel was the location. You can't ask for a better location as a tourist, especially at what I considered a very reasonable rate. I felt safe and the room was functional. I think the passion that the hotel owners have in traveling and decorating the themed rooms is neat. Our room was small (but aren't most hotel rooms in a big city small?), yet comfortable. The bed was a little lumpy, but if you're staying a small private hotel in Europe you shouldn't expect a brand new luxury mattress. In addition to the creative decorating, the hotel had thoughtfully put in very serious outdoor blinds (operated with a light switch mechanism). You could protect yourself from daylight and noise very effectively if you needed to.

The area was near a ton of attractions and restaurants, but our room was still pretty quiet and protected from road noise. We opted for the shuttle service, which I recommend over a cab. It seems to be about the same cost, and it's wonderful to have someone waiting for you at the terminal. Sophie (owner) herself picked us up and we had a very pleasant drive in as she pointed out the sites.

The desk staff was friendly. Our wireless worked well. I consider breakfast probably one of the weak spots of the hotel, but since it was free I don't weigh it very heavily. The food was just kind of mediocre and the coffee comes out of a machine and isn't especially great. For U.S. travelers - it's probably more the quality of a standard "comfort inn" type free breakfast than many of the others we enjoyed at hotels in Belgium.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Michel and Sophie have managed to do the impossible: create a wonderfully creative, high quality, "funky" hotel that surely deserves 5 stars. There are no room numbers, just theme names ... we stayed in the Morocco Room. It's a small place (only 17 rooms), is perfectly located in the city with lots of fun bars and restaurants nearby, serves a nice breakfast and probably most importantly, is staffed by genuinely nice people who will do whatever it takes to make your stay enjoyable. These folks are the "real deal" ... their mission is to take care of their guests' needs. Brussels Welcome Hotel isn't fancy or presumptuous ... it's high quality funk ... and it's staffed by the very best. You simply can't go wrong.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeBrussels, Owner at Brussels Welcome Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Leigh S,
Many thanks, you should have seen the smile of my team when they have read your comments.
Thank you again
Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in this charming and exotic hotel, perfectly situated in a quiet neighbourhood, close to all historic sites and numerous restaurants, buses and metro stations. Large room for Europe. The owners, Michel and Sophie, were most helpful and even offer transportation to and from the airport.

Michèle D.

Room Tip: Elevator only up to third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mich_le_d_12_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WelcomeBrussels, Owner at Brussels Welcome Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear mich_le_d_12_12,
As you do very rightly pointed out, the rooms are on average smaller in the Old Continent
This is why we give the average size of each type of room in our room discriptions
Many thanks for your comments.
Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EU
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great location and friendly staff. The location is excellent and there are very nice restaurants just around the corner, and a cool club with jazz and swing music just beside the hotel. Rooms are charismatic, but small, and cleaning could be better. Service could also be better - wifi didn't work though we mentioned this three times to the staff.
All in all Hotel Welcome is an above average to stay, but not much more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrSaxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
1.6 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#14 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,102 reviews
1.2 mi away
MAS Residence
MAS Residence
#2 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.6 mi away
9HOTEL CENTRAL
9HOTEL CENTRAL
#10 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brussels Welcome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brussels Welcome Hotel

Property: Brussels Welcome Hotel
Address: Quai au bois a bruler 23 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brussels Welcome Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of Brussels in the subway saint-Catherine, at 6 mn walking distance of the famous Grand Place. The hotel, at the same time atypical and welcoming, offers a real world tour because its 14 rooms with shower or balneo bath and its 2 SUITES with double Jacuzzi are decorated in the style of a different country with authentic objects brought back of the journeys of the owners, others were offered to them by customers. Rooms offer a real comfort with WiFi connection and certain air-conditioning. It is the magic place which will make you dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Brussels Welcome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing