We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, Comfortable Room, Pleasant Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brussels Welcome Hotel
Ranked #8 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Location, Comfortable Room, Pleasant Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here for one night and our expectations were not that high. We thought anything would be fine for one night. Well, we were pleasantly surprised. The staff was polite and accommodating, answering all our questions as if they were excited to help us. The room (Kenya) was clean, quiet, and comfortable, if a bit small, and the location was perfect for us. Lots of choices for moules and frites in the area and within a very reasonable walking distance to La Grand-Place. We liked that it was a theme hotel. It was a nice change from the typical hotel room, chain or otherwise. The breakfast was much better than we expected and the staff watched our bags on checkout day so we didn't have to leave them in our car.

Had we spent more time in Brussels, we would have been happy to stay there more nights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sh0tzz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    339
    79
    27
    19
See reviews for
140
580
68
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Welcome Hotel. Firstly, the location is great - right next to a metro stop, walking distance to all the main sites and plenty of restaurant options close by. The staff were really nice and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was the usual mix and was nice and fresh. The rooms are all themed as a different country which was pretty cool. Only comment is that the acoustics aren't great and you can sometimes hear other guests in the hall/other rooms if they are too loud. But this is common for boutique style hotels in Europe so just bring your earplugs if you are a light sleeper! For the price, this place is fantastic and we would definitely come here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfing_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

The service was great, all our question were answered and the hotel owner even took us to the airport very early in the morning. Free champagne at the Christmas Market right in front of the hotel was great! And of course the rooms... Amazing! Will definitely stay here whenever in Brussels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omertad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stay in 120+ hotel rooms a year in the USA for work. This visit was for pleasure. Friendly, knowledgeable, long-duration, competent staff speak fluent English, French, Dutch and more. Very safe and secure. The rooms don't have numbers, they have names like Japan, India, Egypt, etc. because each room has a decorative theme: paint colors, furniture, etc. However, the bathroom, sink, bathtub, shower, toilet-WC, towel heater -- all that was totally current/modern. The beds were nice. I stayed in the winter for a week, but I noticed air conditioning. There is a small elevator; we used stairs too. The rooms were quite roomy by European standards. Two tall people (me included) had no trouble being comfortable for a week.

I cannot imagine a better placement for a hotel in Brussels if you want to walk around, shop, see museums, brasseries, restaurants, bars, taverns. Much of the year there is outdoor seating all over the place. The hotel would also be good for a business man; the wifi was fast and worked on every floor, in the room, in the lobby, etc. There are multiple repeaters. Breakfast is free and copious/plentiful.

I would happily return for another stay. The neighborhood around is very cool; breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, fashion.

Room Tip: I'd call the hotel and discuss options; I stayed in India. Egypt was basically a huge suite, per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. The hotel is well located just north of Grand Place on the Marche aux Poissons, a wide space (formerly a canal) where the Christmas market was still on just after New Year. Breakfasts were enjoyable, with good quality and variety. The country themed rooms are unusual and interesting, but we were placed in Congo, which would not have been our preferred choice. There were impressive African craft pieces, but the old colonial photos were not appealing.The room was warm and comfortable but a little cramped and not well lit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We loved this place!!! We stayed in the India suite for the 7 nights we stayed in Brussels. It was roomy and very unique. Loved the bathroom and the jacuzzi tub, very relaxing after a day of sightseeing. We found the hotel recommended in Rick Steve's "Bruges and Brussels." The staff was excellent and the owners Sophie and Michel Smeesters were extremely attentive and helpful. There was a great breakfast included and we ate there every day, great start to the day. The metro is right outside the front door but we enjoyed walking the relatively short distance to the Grand Place and to all the major museums and sights in Brussels.

Room Tip: We had many questions before we left about the hotel, Brussels, etc. and Sophie responded quickly to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel. Right by the metro station at St. Catherine's square, which had a great Christmas market whilst we were there. We stayed in the Japan room which was very nice with a good shower. Friendly staff and a good breakfast was included.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
1.6 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
MAS Residence
MAS Residence
#2 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.6 mi away
9HOTEL CENTRAL
9HOTEL CENTRAL
#9 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#15 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brussels Welcome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brussels Welcome Hotel

Property: Brussels Welcome Hotel
Address: Quai au Bois a Bruler 23 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brussels Welcome Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of Brussels in the subway saint-Catherine, at 6 mn walking distance of the famous Grand Place. The hotel, at the same time atypical and welcoming, offers a real world tour because its 14 rooms with shower or balneo bath and its 2 SUITES with double Jacuzzi are decorated in the style of a different country with authentic objects brought back of the journeys of the owners, others were offered to them by customers. Rooms offer a real comfort with WiFi connection and certain air-conditioning. It is the magic place which will make you dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brussels Welcome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing