We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Dixseptieme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Dixseptieme
Ranked #84 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
218 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Very central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel is very conveniently situated if you want to walk around central Brussels or use the railway station to go to other cities across Belgium. It is quiet and cozy, though a bit oldish. The breakfast is ok, but do not count on the restaurant for dinner or lunch. Anyways, there are lots of places for eating and drinking around.
The rooms are small, but clean and fully equipped with everything you might need. take an apartment if it's within your budget... All in all, we were happy staying there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    121
    34
    17
    7
See reviews for
52
184
26
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We were only there for a 2-night stay on our way to Paris, but loved this hotel. Our room was in the "new" building and was actually a suite with a step-down "cave-like" media room with couch and large TV. Adjacent to that was a very large, luxurious bathroom with oversize spa tub. The bed was extremely comfortable, the room was quiet, the staff helpful, and very good breakfast included in the price. Great location. Two minute walk to the train station to get the train to Brugge for a day trip. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: New building, 1st floor, room to left of elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love2flyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Le Dixseptieme is in a great location, just a few minutes walk from the Grand Place. The hotel is about a 15 minute taxi ride from Midi station. Check in was smooth and easy, and the front desk staff were friendly. The room was huge, really more than we needed with a separate office and sleeping loft. The room could be reached by elevator, but then by a few stairs which wasn't too bad even with our bags.The room was comfortable though not luxurious, and it was quiet at night. The breakfast had a good array of selections and the food was good.Overall a nice hotel, and we would consider staying there again in future visits to Brussels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdkatzaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had booked another hotel a few blocks away, but due to some recent bad reviews, we switched to this one at the last minute based on a TA comment. I'm so glad we did! We booked the junior suite, and when we arrived we were totally amazed and delighted! The suite was more like an apartment, with a separate living room, kitchen, and toilet room, and tons of space to move around, with lots of exposed beams and period touches. The staff were very helpful and accommodating, and we found the breakfast to be very good. The location was convenient, with a short walk to Grand Place. The area between the hotel and Grand Place was a litlte run down, with some tacky shops and fast-food places, and many beggars. We were disappointed in the choice of restaurants in the area adjacent to Grand Place. On a few of the streets there was one restaurant after the other that all offered the very same food, all displaying the same ugly pictures of the food they were offering. Each place had a different look and feel, but all the menus were the same, and the pictures of the food were very unappealing. In addition, there seemed to be one spokesperson outside of every restaurant, trying to "wheel you into" their establishment, tellling you how much better they were than the place next door, even though they all had the same menu. This happened time after time, so after walking around a lot and not finding any other options, we were starving and finally gave in and ate at one of them. We found the food just OK, average, nothing special at all. Prices were high everywhere. We had a table outside on the sidewalk, and there were cobblestones upturned and missing everywhere; we saw many people tripping on them, and saw an old lady almost fall down. Nothing was done about the upturned stones, even though the restaurant staff people were walking all around them. If you go there, definitely look downb a lot and watch out for the cobblestones. Not sure why the town does not take care of this hazard.

Room Tip: junior suite was fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhlllyPeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Fabulous hotel - our suite was like an apartment, including our own doorbell. Bedroom, foyer, spacious living/dining room, kitchen, toilet room, sink/bath/shower room. We were greeted by name upon arrival and they were very friendly and responsive. The room was really fantastic. The location couldn't be better - about 2-3 short blocks to the Grand Place. Our room was clean and quiet. The hotel has a living room, library room with free computer/internet, another lovely room with sofas/chairs and small/larger meeting rooms, plus a breakfast room. It feels spacious, cozy and elegant at the same time. It's challenging to find a great hotel near the Grand Place. This one is worth every cent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolj725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Loved staying at this hotel during our visit to Brussels this summer,good hotel rate for what you get,the staff were so nice and accommodating,we arrived there early and asked for early check in,they kept our luggage safe and called us when the room was ready,it is in walking distance to all the tourist attraction ,good restaurants and train station and they have wifi in the hotel included in the rate,I highly recommend this hotel,we had their junior suite and we loved it.

Room Tip: This place is just steps away from central train station and walking distance from tourist informati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KhatM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We and our friends stayed here in May/12 and did have a good experience. The front desk was most courteous and helpful. Both rooms were clean and well looked after. However, we did have an issue with our car at the hotel. The hotel is on a one way street, very narrow, with no pull-over area to unload luggage. When we first attempted to off-load our stuff, a delivery van came up behind us and tooted his horn for us to move. We felt we had to, so I stayed on the sidewalk with the luggage while the other three drove off, ostensibly to 'go around the block'. This is not a simple matter because of the one way streets - even the GPS we had rented along with the car in Amsterdam was not updated to the very recent re-direction of streets in this area.
It took my group over a half hour to find the hotel again. Fortunately for me, a gentleman from the front desk had come outside and told me that this difficulty in off-loading happened all the time and that we should have taken all the time we needed and let the delivery van wait.
Anyways, the four of us did join up again and parked the car at the public indoor garage a short distance down the street from the hotel. This is the closest parking available.
My husband and I were given the'romantic room' which was actually a kind of charming garret on the topmost floor, A little small but OK. We did have two windows in the sloped roof that opened to reveal all the rooftops. The catch is that to get to the room, we had to take the elevator to the top floor and then walk up a flight of stairs. I guess that was supposed to be the romantic artist's studio kind of thing. Our friends' room was off the lobby, requiring taking about 6 steps down from lobby level. their room was a half-basement kind of scenario because the first part of the room was a bed-sitting room and the tv sitting-room was another 5 or so steps down. The bathroom was on this lower level. A bit weird for me.
Breakfast was included in a rather austere room with no windows (or if there were windows they were always covered). The food was edible but nothing was really particularly good. The hotel did not serve lunch or dinner.
The advantage of this hotel, we thought, was its proximity to the Magriite Museum/Gallery which was a must-see for us. If you exited the front door and walked to the right, you were shortly in an upscale-ish area with some antique shops. The closer you got to the museum,the nicer the buildings, the area, and the restaurants. The museum is definately worth the time if you enjoy that kind of thing. It would be about a 20 minute walk from the hotel. If upon leaving the hotel you turned to the left, you were in an area of small shops who have seen better days, occasional gypsy women begging and/or teenagers with their skateboards. In the two nights we stayed at the hotel, we ourselves had no problems at all,nor did we see any problems but I was quite happy that we were a group of four. If you continue to the left, the only thing we found of any merit was a glass covered domed gallerie which housed mostly chocolate shops, a few clothing shops as well as leather. There are a lot of restaurants immediately adjacent to the galleria but we found the whole area way over priced. PLEASE NOTE This area has cobble stoned streets. The cobblestones are very thick and unfortunately too many of them have been removed, leaving very nasty holes that would be perfect for breaking ankles. In some cases, individual cobblestones are sitting in the road, waiting to trip someone who is not constantly looking down. I don't see how anyone with a cane would enjoy walking in this area.

Room Tip: Check that the a/c works before you agree to take the room. (ours didn't) Ask for a room away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaSnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
0.1 mi away
NH Brussels Carrefour De L'Europe
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#7 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
Hotel Residence Le Quinze
#90 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#50 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Dixseptieme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Dixseptieme

Property: Le Dixseptieme
Address: Rue de la Madeleine 25 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#49 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Dixseptieme 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Dixseptieme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Dixseptieme Brussels
Le Dixseptieme Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing