We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good experience overall with a few 'buts'” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Dixseptieme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Dixseptieme
Ranked #81 of 200 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A good experience overall with a few 'buts'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We and our friends stayed here in May/12 and did have a good experience. The front desk was most courteous and helpful. Both rooms were clean and well looked after. However, we did have an issue with our car at the hotel. The hotel is on a one way street, very narrow, with no pull-over area to unload luggage. When we first attempted to off-load our stuff, a delivery van came up behind us and tooted his horn for us to move. We felt we had to, so I stayed on the sidewalk with the luggage while the other three drove off, ostensibly to 'go around the block'. This is not a simple matter because of the one way streets - even the GPS we had rented along with the car in Amsterdam was not updated to the very recent re-direction of streets in this area.
It took my group over a half hour to find the hotel again. Fortunately for me, a gentleman from the front desk had come outside and told me that this difficulty in off-loading happened all the time and that we should have taken all the time we needed and let the delivery van wait.
Anyways, the four of us did join up again and parked the car at the public indoor garage a short distance down the street from the hotel. This is the closest parking available.
My husband and I were given the'romantic room' which was actually a kind of charming garret on the topmost floor, A little small but OK. We did have two windows in the sloped roof that opened to reveal all the rooftops. The catch is that to get to the room, we had to take the elevator to the top floor and then walk up a flight of stairs. I guess that was supposed to be the romantic artist's studio kind of thing. Our friends' room was off the lobby, requiring taking about 6 steps down from lobby level. their room was a half-basement kind of scenario because the first part of the room was a bed-sitting room and the tv sitting-room was another 5 or so steps down. The bathroom was on this lower level. A bit weird for me.
Breakfast was included in a rather austere room with no windows (or if there were windows they were always covered). The food was edible but nothing was really particularly good. The hotel did not serve lunch or dinner.
The advantage of this hotel, we thought, was its proximity to the Magriite Museum/Gallery which was a must-see for us. If you exited the front door and walked to the right, you were shortly in an upscale-ish area with some antique shops. The closer you got to the museum,the nicer the buildings, the area, and the restaurants. The museum is definately worth the time if you enjoy that kind of thing. It would be about a 20 minute walk from the hotel. If upon leaving the hotel you turned to the left, you were in an area of small shops who have seen better days, occasional gypsy women begging and/or teenagers with their skateboards. In the two nights we stayed at the hotel, we ourselves had no problems at all,nor did we see any problems but I was quite happy that we were a group of four. If you continue to the left, the only thing we found of any merit was a glass covered domed gallerie which housed mostly chocolate shops, a few clothing shops as well as leather. There are a lot of restaurants immediately adjacent to the galleria but we found the whole area way over priced. PLEASE NOTE This area has cobble stoned streets. The cobblestones are very thick and unfortunately too many of them have been removed, leaving very nasty holes that would be perfect for breaking ankles. In some cases, individual cobblestones are sitting in the road, waiting to trip someone who is not constantly looking down. I don't see how anyone with a cane would enjoy walking in this area.

Room Tip: Check that the a/c works before you agree to take the room. (ours didn't) Ask for a room away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaSnowbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    120
    34
    16
    7
See reviews for
52
179
26
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

When we decided to visit Brussels and looked in a trip adviser where to stay in Brussels, I was shocked with overwhelmingly bad reviews: stealing, bed bugs, drug addicts, dilapidated, dirty.
This hotel was clean, tranquil, convenient to stay and to travel around. The stuff was helpful.
The best thing - we were allowed to enter the room before check-in time (rather early in the morning). One thing could be better - stuff could know more about excursions in Brussels, to have their personal opinion.
Only to notice: not every room is accessible by elevator on the same floor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arkadijs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
distroff
Level Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

I spent one night in july for business and I had a special price for the hotel. The location is perfect to visit Brussels, close to the "grand place".
I had my room on the nice yard in the back part. The room was very very spacious with a sitting room, kitchen !!! with a contemporary style.
The room for the breakfast is a pleasant room, with high ceiling and wood.
It must be one of the most beautiful hotel of Brussels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thierry-hirtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights, seeking refuge from a hotel around the corner that we found very sub-standard.

Le Dixseptieme was perfectly charming, elegant, spacious. It was everything we had hoped for in the first hotel. The staff were very friendly and accommodating at all times, and had no shortage of recommendations of where to eat and drink in the area. It is also in a very good location for most of the tourist sites.

The only downside is that the cleaning staff did not take note of the "do not disturb" sign, and twice when we were getting dressed in the morning we were interrupted asking if we wanted room service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anak-Kucing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

The location of this hotel could hardly be better for the traveller by train. It's only a couple hundred meters from the Central station, within easy hauling distance even with luggage. It is quiet, the staff are very kind, and you can do a "lower town" tour the same day as an "upper town" tour if you are really ambitious. Great walks through a city that is under-rated as a tourist destination.
Breakfast is plentiful in a lovely room. We were in the new side, so did not have some of the beautiful old building to look at. Room was large enough and bathroom was nice, but the bed was not as comfortable as it should be and I felt sorry if anyone was in the suite below us as the floor was really creaky. Still, this is a friendly, pleasant stay at exactly the right locale.

Room Tip: See if you can stay on the older side for more atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fracman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Excellent location and beautiful hotel. Our suite was huge with plenty of room for a family of four and even a courtyard balcony. Our two sons (ages 6 & 8) thought the suite was amazing with its exposed beams, old staircase and other period touches. I would recommend this hotel very strongly indeed.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

There was no warm welcome at all but the atmosphere is charming, pleasant and quiet. Steps to Central Station, Royal Passage and Grand' Place. Despite the outer noise and bustle, you wouldn't know there was a big city full of life into the a.m. out there. Clean, spacious, air conditioned room with large bath. Lots of toiletries and towels (no bath robe unfortunately) Good breakfast. A real find in Brussels.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshall W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Brussels Carrefour De L'Europe
0.1 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
0.1 mi away
Ibis Brussels off Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Galeries
Hotel des Galeries
#7 of 200 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.0 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#50 of 200 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Dixseptieme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Dixseptieme

Property: Le Dixseptieme
Address: Rue de la Madeleine 25 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#48 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Dixseptieme 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Le Dixseptieme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Dixseptieme Brussels
Le Dixseptieme Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing