We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good value every time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel a la Grande Cloche

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Ranked #59 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
clwyd
Level Contributor
128 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good value every time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

A good value hotel with a wide choice of rooms and prices offering a close but not too close easy walk to the Grande Place and other sites

Excellent multi lingual staff and a good choice of eating places etc near go hand

Will keep your bags in storage and close to the tram line just two stops from the Hare de Midi. Lle rhesymol iawn agos ir canolfan hanesyddol. Croeso cynnes iawn yma bob tro

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardClwyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    336
    94
    12
    10
See reviews for
117
232
80
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The hotel is well located between Gare Midi and the Grand Place. All shopping areas are also in easy walking distance, well, in winter, its cool (-8 deg C) for walking.
The check-in by a young man was straight-forward and pleasant enough. There is an elevator which is better than pulling luggage up 2 floors.
The room (No:33) faced the square and street and got the setting sun which was nice for winter. In summer, it would get hot as there was no air-con in the room to cool things down. All room facilities worked well and there is free wifi in the room but tended to cut out at times
The walls are a bit thin and we could hear coughs, sneezes and hair dryers going off at 8am from the next room. That was the end of a planned sleep-in!
We were only there for 1 night and when we walked out at 9.30 the next morning to go for a quick walk and check out at 11am (the check-out time), an elderly guy in the front office was very persistent in trying to get us to pay up and vacate the room immediately. In the end we paid up but refused to vacate the room till we came back from our walk. This was really disappointing to be harassed like this. In all our hotel stays in Europe on this trip, this is the only time something like this has happened. Wont be coming back here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LawrenceGuanTeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
172 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We only stayed one night as it was our last night in Brussels. It it is not very close to either the Centraal or Midi Station if you want to walk but it is a short cab ride away from either station. It is about 10-15 walk to Grand Place (another 5 to the centraal station).

The triple room was a good size with a desk area, double bed and single bed. There was a toilet room and a shower/sink room within the room as well, both were spotless as was the room itself. The room we had was very quiet as it was at the end of the hall and not facing the street. There is also a lift which is very handy when you have alot of luggage.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 45-nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The welcome, for a quite late arrival, was very reassuring: "We have been expecting you, Mr. R....". The employment of mature aged males as receptionists is an excellent idea and those I encountered during my stay gave good advice and directions.

My single room was small, even for one person but adequate for my needs. It was pleasantly but not stylishly decorated. The bathroom was adequate.

The breakfast was of a good quality though there is a somewhat boarding house feel to the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanRCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swieqi, Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed in this hotel in late November. It is centrally located. Room was adequate for 3 adults whilst bathroom was large. Breakfast was served from 07.00 to 10.00 and was quite good. Staff was very helpful and when we needed to have our breakfast earlier than their scheduled time, they found no objection to accommodate us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank girbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here ... I booked a single with private bathroom for under 100E. I booked online and wasnt sure what to expect but thought the location was good.

The square the hotel is in is lovely

Well it is an old building and odd hallways but my room was great!! The bathroom alone was as big as the whole room I had at pension bella artes in san sebastian lol. Very roomy.

The floors seemed to slope a bit which felt odd ... but then the building has been there some time.

The area is very safe and active... such a quick easy walk to the amazing buildings of the grande place...

great little shops along the way

I walked from the train station...an easy walk but as a single female I felt a bit uneasy in the area by the station... Brussels is the first city I felt a bit wary in... but... nothing happened.... people were friendly... if you have luggage tho..take a taxi.... the train station is very large so of course there are 'interesting' people around it

The hotel staff were very VERY helpful and nice ... the room had extra touches like the coffee and sweets

very clean


it is a bit dated but i would rather this than paying 250E for a wax box in a poor location


This is a great hotel in a great location


great service and the bed was SUPER comfy !!!!



:)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlbertaPeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A la Grande Cloche is located just 10 minuts walking far from the Gran Place and 20-25 from Gare du Midi, the biggest train station in the city. The surrounding area to the hotel is quiet and with a lot of restaurants, coffees and shops very near. The hotel is a little bit old, but very comfortable. There are some rooms with share bathroom and others with private bathroom. The rooms are spacious and clean. The recepcionist and all the staff working there are very friendly and they speak fluently many languages.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfredo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.7 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
4.0 of 5 stars 1,496 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#52 of 198 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 stars 794 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 stars 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adagio Brussels Centre Monnaie
0.4 mi away
Hotel Galia
Hotel Galia
#128 of 198 in Brussels
3.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Augustin
The Augustin
#18 of 198 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a la Grande Cloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a la Grande Cloche

Property: Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Address: Place Rouppe 10 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Brussels
#25 Family Hotel in Brussels
#35 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel a la Grande Cloche 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Budget Places, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel a la Grande Cloche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Grande Cloche Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing