We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A CONVENIENT, PLEASANT PLACE TO STAY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel a la Grande Cloche

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Ranked #63 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Canberra
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A CONVENIENT, PLEASANT PLACE TO STAY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The welcome, for a quite late arrival, was very reassuring: "We have been expecting you, Mr. R....". The employment of mature aged males as receptionists is an excellent idea and those I encountered during my stay gave good advice and directions.

My single room was small, even for one person but adequate for my needs. It was pleasantly but not stylishly decorated. The bathroom was adequate.

The breakfast was of a good quality though there is a somewhat boarding house feel to the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanRCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    336
    94
    12
    10
See reviews for
116
232
80
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swieqi, Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed in this hotel in late November. It is centrally located. Room was adequate for 3 adults whilst bathroom was large. Breakfast was served from 07.00 to 10.00 and was quite good. Staff was very helpful and when we needed to have our breakfast earlier than their scheduled time, they found no objection to accommodate us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank girbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here ... I booked a single with private bathroom for under 100E. I booked online and wasnt sure what to expect but thought the location was good.

The square the hotel is in is lovely

Well it is an old building and odd hallways but my room was great!! The bathroom alone was as big as the whole room I had at pension bella artes in san sebastian lol. Very roomy.

The floors seemed to slope a bit which felt odd ... but then the building has been there some time.

The area is very safe and active... such a quick easy walk to the amazing buildings of the grande place...

great little shops along the way

I walked from the train station...an easy walk but as a single female I felt a bit uneasy in the area by the station... Brussels is the first city I felt a bit wary in... but... nothing happened.... people were friendly... if you have luggage tho..take a taxi.... the train station is very large so of course there are 'interesting' people around it

The hotel staff were very VERY helpful and nice ... the room had extra touches like the coffee and sweets

very clean


it is a bit dated but i would rather this than paying 250E for a wax box in a poor location


This is a great hotel in a great location


great service and the bed was SUPER comfy !!!!



:)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlbertaPeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A la Grande Cloche is located just 10 minuts walking far from the Gran Place and 20-25 from Gare du Midi, the biggest train station in the city. The surrounding area to the hotel is quiet and with a lot of restaurants, coffees and shops very near. The hotel is a little bit old, but very comfortable. There are some rooms with share bathroom and others with private bathroom. The rooms are spacious and clean. The recepcionist and all the staff working there are very friendly and they speak fluently many languages.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alfredo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

- Dated but clean and spacious room and bathroom
- Room windows opened to the square but was reasonably quiet
- No AC and the room can get a little stuffy
- The 2 elderly gents manning the reception were friendly and helpful. Can't say the same about the young chap. Perhaps he was having a bad day (or 2)
- Free wi-fi
- Close to the main Central train station
- Close to Manekin Pis and Grand Place
- Close to laundromats and supermarkets/grocery stores
- Breakfast is extra but value for money
- Across the square a couple of cafe bars serve decent food and excellent beer
- Stayed 4 nights
- Might not stay again as we did not feel safe walking to and from the train station after dark

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WoosterFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our room was small but manageable. We actually had a room facing the middle or back of the building so it was super quiet, which was great since we had the windows open. All of us slept really well. It was close to the Central train station and was not far from the Grand Place and Mannequin Pis. The staff was super helpful, but breakfast was not worth the 8 Euro. We stayed 3 nights and it was fine. I would recommend it to a friend.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the back side if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UrbanL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyoto
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Hotel is 10mim walk from Grandplaza.Hotel has no own parking lot and I had to drive 30 min. around the area to find my car parking place.Room is dark and small. No value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tyhoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.7 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
4.0 of 5 stars 1,489 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#50 of 198 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 stars 794 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
4.0 of 5 stars 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Adagio Brussels Centre Monnaie
0.4 mi away
Hotel Galia
Hotel Galia
#128 of 198 in Brussels
3.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Augustin
The Augustin
#18 of 198 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a la Grande Cloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a la Grande Cloche

Property: Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Address: Place Rouppe 10 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Brussels
#25 Family Hotel in Brussels
#35 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel a la Grande Cloche 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Budget Places and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel a la Grande Cloche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Grande Cloche Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing