We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Ranked #71 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Reviewed November 8, 2012

- Dated but clean and spacious room and bathroom
- Room windows opened to the square but was reasonably quiet
- No AC and the room can get a little stuffy
- The 2 elderly gents manning the reception were friendly and helpful. Can't say the same about the young chap. Perhaps he was having a bad day (or 2)
- Free wi-fi
- Close to the main Central train station
- Close to Manekin Pis and Grand Place
- Close to laundromats and supermarkets/grocery stores
- Breakfast is extra but value for money
- Across the square a couple of cafe bars serve decent food and excellent beer
- Stayed 4 nights
- Might not stay again as we did not feel safe walking to and from the train station after dark

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WoosterFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 692 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our room was small but manageable. We actually had a room facing the middle or back of the building so it was super quiet, which was great since we had the windows open. All of us slept really well. It was close to the Central train station and was not far from the Grand Place and Mannequin Pis. The staff was super helpful, but breakfast was not worth the 8 Euro. We stayed 3 nights and it was fine. I would recommend it to a friend.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the back side if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UrbanL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Hotel is 10mim walk from Grandplaza.Hotel has no own parking lot and I had to drive 30 min. around the area to find my car parking place.Room is dark and small. No value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tyhoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for one night and found the room was okay. When we walked in it still smelt of smoke and was in desperate need of airing. Apart from this we found the room clean, with a comfortable bed to relax on and an adequate bathroom. In our bathroom it took 5 minutes for the hot water to start even being warm.
The staff were quite helpful but their knowledge was not great...an example of this was somebody telling us the airport bus went at a certain time and when we got there the times he told us were completely different.
Apart from these few negative points the location was good. It was a 5 min taxi ride to the main train station and a 5 minute walk to the market square. Across from the hotel there were some good bars and restaurants which was handy for a quick drink and bite to eat.
Overall this was an okay stay especially for the value that it was.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cstone12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here for just one night but glad we chose it. Got a good deal thru booking.com for under $100 US. Close to the Central train station and about an 8-minute walk to the Grand Place. If you stay here try to catch a show at the nearby Music Village--it was great! Very nice and helpful front-desk staff, both the day and evening gentlemen. Comfortable, quiet rooms. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daryll H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel is on the very very edge of what might be called the tourist area of central Brussels.
Clean, decent and well run with a wide selection fbroom types...tofitball budgets. No a/c which might not suite ourvAmerican friends but a large fan stand in each room.

Staff are good and you can leave your bags ... Excellent cafes nearby so you do not need to take their breakfast at almost 8 euros a perso

Room Tip: A room at the top is best and facing the back. Small working lift or narrow stairs though
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RichardClwyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We booked this for its low price and great location. We had no issues with safety. In fact, they lock the door from the outside (I believe after midnight) and they have someone to let you in all night. The location was amazing! We were able to walk every night to Grote Markt for our waffle cravings! It's your basic room, however we don't spend much time at the hotel. It's not glamorous but it is clean. It was everything you need, and we got a huge bathroom! Especially for Europe, it was a great size. They even still use real keys which was unique. Would love to come back and stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsbrittanymiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.9 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#72 of 199 in Brussels
950 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pantone Hotel
Pantone Hotel
#6 of 22 in Saint-Gilles
1,059 reviews
0.7 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
1,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
easyHotel Brussels City Centre
0.6 mi away
Ibis Brussels Centre Gare Midi
0.7 mi away
The Residence Les Ecrins
The Residence Les Ecrins
#69 of 199 in Brussels
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a la Grande Cloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a la Grande Cloche

Address: Place Rouppe 10 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Brussels
#25 Family Hotel in Brussels
#35 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: $66 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel a la Grande Cloche 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel a la Grande Cloche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Grande Cloche Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing