We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Educational for students and adults”
Review of Parlamentarium

Parlamentarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.07*
and up
Brussels Sightseeing Tour Including the European Parliament
Ranked #20 of 400 things to do in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: FREE ENTRY. Experience the European Parliament in Brussels like never before. At our Visitors' Centre, children and adults alike get to discover what the European institutions that represent them are all about in a refreshingly new way: the Parlamentarium. Our Portable Media Guides take our visitors through an interactive journey of European integration, revealing the impact this process has had on the everyday lives of Europeans. As the first ever citizens' exhibition to do so, the Parlamentarium caters to all 24 official languages of the European Union, and is completely free! Our facilities and multimedia guides have been designed to be fully accessible to those with special needs.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Educational for students and adults”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

A must for Europeans, but maybe a bit dull or irrelevant for others. They tried really hard to make it accessible for children, but i cant imagine spending more than 30 mins in there with a kid. At least its free! but you do have to go through airport-like security. Available in ALLL european languages, interactive and filled with pictures, stories and maps. All univeristy students in europe should visit this place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank jjzazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,189
    869
    321
    80
    41
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great museum and free!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Tons of information and interactive displays. You have a headset that explains the information in any language. We unfortunately couldn't get through it in the amount of time that we had (about two hours).

This was 100% free (including the headset) and it is one of the few museums that is open on a Monday which may be worth keeping in mind if you're looking for something to do on that day of the week. They has have a free coat check was was awesome on the very wet and cold day that we visited.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank persteff81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So neat!”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I dragged my unexcited best friend to this and she ended up thanking me afterwards! For those of you who may be lacking in your understanding of the EU and it's history- this is a fabulous destination! You can spend 1-4 hours in there, depending on how thoroughly you read and interact with the exhibits. You get a free audio guide/ipad type device and get to pick and choose which exhibits and pictures to listen to as you walk through by swiping it on a touch pad (pretty cool technology!). I would bring my young cousins or my grandmother- it really is fun for all ages. And it's pretty cool to say I've been there, considering the EU history packed into that Brussels complex!

Overall, t was really neat and really fun. And best of all, I walked out a lot more educated on the continent I was traveling through. I will say, it (obviously) had a very Europhile attitude and was very pro-EU.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Krista M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Particularly appealing to a staunch Europhile!”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

If you can get past the constant, pro-Europe integration vibe, this is a very high quality, interactive experience. I spent about two hours here. You leave with a good feeling about how Europe is governed and how citizens can interact with the organs of the EC. I recommend it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“See how EU build up”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Finally EU decided that there must be a museum about its history. If you want to see how EU started up and works right now, it is a great destination to go. It is free to enter and you can get a free audio guide which is very useful. If you are interested in EU history, you can spend at least a few hours there.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank umutayildiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parlamentarium also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Parlamentarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing