We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“must visit to understand EU parliament”
Review of Parlamentarium

Parlamentarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$35.86*
and up
Brussels Sightseeing Tour Including the European Parliament
Ranked #19 of 402 things to do in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: FREE ENTRY. Experience the European Parliament in Brussels like never before. At our Visitors' Centre, children and adults alike get to discover what the European institutions that represent them are all about in a refreshingly new way: the Parlamentarium. Our Portable Media Guides take our visitors through an interactive journey of European integration, revealing the impact this process has had on the everyday lives of Europeans. As the first ever citizens' exhibition to do so, the Parlamentarium caters to all 24 official languages of the European Union, and is completely free! Our facilities and multimedia guides have been designed to be fully accessible to those with special needs.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“must visit to understand EU parliament”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great place to stop as you walk around the Parliament buildings. Free admission makes it an affordable stop and will entertain and challenge you.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,234
    900
    329
    81
    43
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A modern, engaging and thoroughly Eurpoean exhibition”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This new ultra-modern interactive and free exhibition is a total success: it combines conciseness with very high-tech exhibits in a way which engages both young and old alike, provides an excellent introduction to the history and politics which underpins the raison-d'etre of the EU, a good explanation of the workings of the European institutions, and a shopping trolley glimpse of the different European countries and cultures!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hulot101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leca da Palmeira, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Interactive history of the European Parliament and other European Union institutions. The Parlamentarium is open 7 days a week (except Monday morning) and charges no entry fee. It´s located in the Parliament's Espace Léopold complex

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Heldergoncalves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Makes you proud to be European!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I live and work in Brussels so Im closely connected to the European Union, hpwever my family has nothing to do with it and knows very little. Also, their interest is limited. I took them to the Parliamentarium thinking, "well, its for free, lets see what it has to offer...". The exhibit is really fun, interactive, colourful and very informative.

The room with the video explaining how the Parliament works was truly the best part, if you have limited time to spend in the Parliamentarium you should definitely do this section! In 15 minutes it gives you a really good overview. I felt that it captures perfectly the complexity and the excitement of the European project and it truly made me feel proud to be European.

This exhibit is a real success in capturing the history of the EU and the functioning of the Parliament, I recommend it to anyone who has even a tiny interest. (Also, its well done, because you can spend hours if you are really interested, because there is a lot of information, but you can also do a "quicker" visit and be done relatively fast and still have the sensation that you've seen what you've wanted.)

There is a lot of staff inside, they help you find your way, you have an audio-guide available in 22 languages, a lot of pictures, a lot of info to listen to. The European Union is a super exciting endeavour and this exhibition reflects that well!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Love the exhibition!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The staffs were very helpful. The exhibition was really good and the audio guide is the best I've used so far. A very interesting place to learn about the EU.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Genesis89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parlamentarium also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Parlamentarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing