We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short trip round the Chocolate Museum” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum of Cocoa and Chocolate (Musee du Cacao et du Chocolat)

Museum of Cocoa and Chocolate (Musee du Cacao et du Chocolat)
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.38*
and up
The Brussels Card
Ranked #69 of 391 things to do in Brussels
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Short trip round the Chocolate Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

This was great. The museum is situated just off the Grand Place and is very easy to find. It's not very expensive to get in, and there are discounts for elderly/students etc. Upon entering, we were faced with man sixed statues made out of chocolate - very impressive. We waited around for a talk about different types of chocolate, but we weren't waiting long. This talk was done in lots of languages - English, French, Dutch, German, Russian.. if you needed it to be. To demonstrate each type of chocolate (dark 70%, dark 90%, milk, etc) we were able to try some of each. Winner.

Afterwards, a young man demonstrated how to make truffles. He was entertaining and funny and we also got to try these. Upstairs is the ehibition with lots of information about the origin of chocolate and its history. It was interesting, and there were tasters of chocolate from different parts of the world. Some from Costa Rica, Peru, Ghana, and more.

So for a relatively cheap entrance fee, we got to try a lot of chocolate. We went to another chocolate demonstration during our stay, and it wasn't as good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank waveatthecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    146
    134
    78
    70
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“For Chocoholtics”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

If you love chocolate don't miss this lovely little museum run by the family who owns Godiva. Very interesting and lots of tasting!!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank redbirdsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
259 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed our visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

There are quite a lot of negative comments about this 'museum' but we found it very interesting and enjoyed the demonstration of chocolate making (and the tasting!) We also thought at 5.5 euros entrance it was good value. Some people have commented about the chocolate demonstration being conducted in French but I am a non-French speaker (apart from very basic school knowledge) but I did not find this a problem at all as the demonstrator was very expressive and it was very visual.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TripAdviserreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matara, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Close to the palace and interesting to see how do the make chocolate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

This place is close just next to the palace and easily you will miss it unless you ask form some one or the tourist information center will guide you. It is located at the side lane next to the palace. There is a entry fee and you can taste different types of chocolates over there. The chocolate processing will be explained to you mainly in french and English but the day we visited the guides English knowledge was not that good but he was manage to explain us most of the things.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thilanbuwaneka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Small but worth a visit.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

The museum is rather small but packed in a lot of information about the production of chocolate and the countries in which cocoa is produced along with some history of how it would have been drunk by the ancient people of South America. The museum itself was situated over three floors which were accessed by narrow wooden staircases. Upstairs the top room showed different types of cups used for drinking hot chocolate as well as clothing fashioned out of chocolate. On the lower floor there was a chance for a taste of the warm chocolate straight out the mixer given to you on a biscuit. Then there is a demonstration of the chocolate making process which is informative and interesting, in which praline truffles are made. The man demonstrating spoke in both French and English and was happy to answer questions. At the end of the demonstration there was another tasting with a choice between three flavours of truffle which was a nice touch. Worth a visit especially if you have purchased a Brussels Card.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gee231205x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Cocoa and Chocolate (Musee du Cacao et du Chocolat) also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Cocoa and Chocolate (Musee du Cacao et du Chocolat)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing