We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stanhope Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Chambord(Brussels)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sun Hotel(Ixelles)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
Thon Hotel EU(Brussels)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,272)
Filter reviews
1,272 results
Traveler rating
621
422
140
53
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
621
422
140
53
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal palacestar hotelbeautiful hotelthe grand placeupgraded to a suiteeuropean quarterminute walkreception areametro stationeu parliamentsmall roomexcellent breakfastbusiness tripavenue louisevisit brusselseurostroon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
336 - 341 of 1,272 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Well located in the heart of things, great staff, comfortable beds, old world charm, and great touches like wooden valets for jackets and such. Love the book-lined elevators and the room service presentation is stunning - more silver than i've ever seen on one tray.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback we received trough the Tripadvisor website.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our services completely met your expectations.

As we are currently working to keep up the high standing of services; it is a pleasure to share positive feedback as yours with our Team.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is an upmarket hotel about 400m from the European Parliament. So it gets busy (and expensive) when Parliament is in session but is affordable the rest of the time. The hotel is now part of the Thon chain. The standard is very good, although it would be neat to have a kettle in the room as per many other hotels in Brussels. The breakfast is a expense account busting Eur 29 a go: it's certainly good, but I think is just a little too pricey to justify to the FD. Try the Exki down the round instead!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ICE-Zugfahrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your stay in Brussels and for sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor Travelers.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would like to inform you that we do not really have the standard tea and coffee facilities in our rooms because we prefer to offer this as a service to our guests by bringing a tray with these facilities to the room upon request.

Looking forward to welcome you back in a near future, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Stanhope was a scenic 5 minute walk from the main Brussels museum area and about 10 or 15 minutes walking to the Grand Place. The metro is two minutes walking distance. The Brussels Central train station is about 10 minutes walking although getting oriented coming out of the train station is a little tricky.

The hotel rooms are generously sized and beautifully decorated. The bed was very comfy and the pillows were good. The hotel is on a side street, so it was very quiet at night.

There isn't free wi-fi (kind of a plus on vacation) but they do have a computer to use. Breakfast wasn't included, but you do get a discounted rate if you add it on when you check in. On Rue de Luxembourg there are a few coffee shops and a grocery store for breakfast items and snacks.

We were allowed to check in early at no extra charge - a huge bonus after coming off a transatlantic flight! The staff was friendly and gave us a city map and several sightseeing suggestions when we checked in.

I loved both the location and our room at the Stanhope and would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your lovely comments with the Tripadvisor travelers.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay; especially the location, the decoration and the bed comfort.

It is always a pleasure to share positive feedbacks from our guests with our staff members.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Brussels, we remain,
Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I had a 2 night break at the Stanhope, as part of British Airways deal. I was concerned about some of the reviews suggesting the hotel was dated and showing it's age.
Well, nothing could be further from the truth! Lovely large room, ample space and a spotlessly clean bathroom. My only quibble would be that I found the room too warm due to the underfloor heating.
Breakfast was included in the price, and was ample and varied.
The location was excellent, only a 5 min walk from the airport bus drop off point, and less than that from Trone metro station. I was lucky with the weather and was able to stroll from the hotel to the Museum of Fine Art, Grand Place etc.

This was advertised as a 5 star hotel, and lovely though it is, I wouldn't agree to a 5 start rating due to lack of indoor pool, and no restuarant at the week ends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcpinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor travelers.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our property; especially the location, the room and the breakfast.

As we are currently working to keep up the high standing of services; it is a real pleasure to share positive feedback as yours with our Team.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Stanhope Hotel on your next stay in Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

All in all, we enjoyed the Stanhope. We were only there for 1 night, but we got a good impression of the hotel. The main stand out was the service. I thought the staff were very helpful and attentive.
We were very pleased to be offered an upgraded room, which was a really great bonus for us and sealed our first impression as being an excellent hotel.

We had not complaints. The hotel location was very good and everything was clean and enjoyable. I would say the bed was not the most comfortable I have stayed in, but was not bad.
Would be nice to have free wireless, but there is a computer that can be used for free in the lobby, which has internet access. The lack of free wireless and the not so comfortable bed is the reason for not getting a 5 out of 5.

Overall, I would recommend and the service cannot be faulted in my opinion.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanHobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen the Stanhope Hotel for your stay in Brussels and for your nice feedback we received trough the Tripadvisor website.

We have really enjoyed reading your wonderful comments on our Hotel, the praising of our services and our staff members. It was our pleasure to make your stay in Brussels into a special relaxing moment.

We have taken carefully note of your comment concerning the bed comfort and we hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience. Please be assured that all the comments of our guests are taken into consideration by the Managers of the concerned departments.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews