We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourites”
Review of Stanhope Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanhope Hotel
Ranked #20 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 2, 2013

After a couple of mistakes I finally found my favourite hotel in Brussels. The Stanhope is really charming, perhaps a little shabby in a Belgian way but I think Stanhope will be my choice whenever staying in Brussels. It is near to the EU institutions and if you want to you can walk from the main railway station to the hotel. The taxi from the railway station cost me 10 euros, but there is also a bus connection from the airport which you can choose. The breakfast at the hotel is really great and if you are able to choose one of the business suites you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet, business suites are great and you can stay until 3 pm
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kahtryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice comment on the TripAdvisor website.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our service met completely met your expectations. As we are currently working to keep up the high standing of services; it is a pleasure to share positive feedback as yours with our Team.

To keep yourself informed of our best available rates and special packages, please do not hesitate to consult our website or to contact the reservations department.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Stanhope Hotel on your next visit to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,232)
There are newer reviews for Stanhope Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stanhope has a very posh reception which makes you think that the rest of the hotel will be of the same excellent standard. You may be disappointed, at least I was. I usually stay at the Renaissance Hotel in the same area but sometimes everything in Brussels is full and you have to stay wherever there is a vacant room. The room was two-level with a steep flight of stairs to the mezzanine level where the bed was located, more or less on the floor. Strange planning and not very convenient. Downstairs there was a small sofa which had seen better days and which was placed way too close to the TV. That was about it. Overall, small room and not at all suitable for anyone trying to do some work. To conclude, Sure this is an ok 4 star hotel but not worth the money compared to Renaissance.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 189852Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your detailed feedback on your recent stay in our property.
We regret to hear that you did not feel comfortable in the mezzanine room and we hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. As the Stanhope has a huge choice of different room types, please do not hesitate to inform the receptionist about your room preferences on a next stay. Depending on the occupancy, a room change can also easily be done on a simple request.

Despite your disappointment, we hope you will give us a second chance to show you that comments are taken seriously and look forward to welcome you back in a near future.

Meanwhile, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Stanhope is perfectly situated near the European Quarter and Place Luxembourg. Amenities and Services are good, very helpful Staff with good recommendations for dining out.
Only minus-points: The room was a bit small and internet was only for free for one hour.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra15983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice feedback and your appreciations on the amenities and services.

We have taken carefully note of your remark concerning the room and we would like to inform you that our Hotel has rooms of different sizes and decorations. We would kindly advise to precise your preferences to the reservations department so we can block a bigger room for a future stay.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel in a near future, we remain,
Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I can only recommend the Stanhope Hotel, we stayed a weekend to explore Brussel City.
When entering the hotel we received a warm welcome by Raul the receptionist who was very helpful during our entire stay. He provided us with some advice on nice attractions to visit and also borrowed his personal phone charges because we forgot ours!
+ The room which we received was large, nicely decorated and included everything which you expect from a five star hotel.
+ The breakfast of the hotel was delicious and one of the most diverse buffets I have ever seen.
+ During Earth hour the hotel organized a nice drink with candles throughout the entire hotel.
- Only negative point were the hard pillows which we had to exchange for some softer ones!

We highly recommend the Stanhope Hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidColoury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire Team, we would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor travellers and for yournice appreciation.

We are pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay and that our services met your expectations.

To keep yourself informed of our best available rates and special packages, please do not hesitate to consult our website or to contact the reservations department.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel in a near future, we remain,
Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We booked the Stanhope through the Secret Escapes offer and were not disappointed. The hotels location is right next to the palace and a 10-15 minute walk to the main part of town. This was great as it was lovely and quiet during the night.

We had Room 152 which was beautiful and very comfortable. Staff were very helpful and gave us quick tips for sightseeing which was appreciated.

Buffet breakfast did not disappoint, with a great choice of hot and cold choices (including crepes).

We arrived via the Eurostar and bought a travel card for 48 hrs for 11 euros. The hotel is a few stops away and a 2 minute walk from the tube.

Room Tip: Rm 152 has a park view and is very quiet during the weekend.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essex_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice feedback we received trough the Tripadvisor website.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our services completely met your expectations. We can assure you that nice comments like yours are mostly appreciated by our staff members.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I booked this Hotel for a date in June (months away). Unfortunately I had To change the date by 3 days. I did not want a refund. I wanted to amend the date. The Stanhope told me I would have to pay again. Daylight robbery !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback and we regret to read your dissatisfaction concerning the reservation change during the month of June 2012.

We have taken carefully note of your remark concerning your reservation change request but unfortunately this information does not allow us to check it properly. We therefore would like to kindly advice to contact the Front Office Manager who would be pleased to help you with with an answer on your question.

We do hope this will not affect your hotel choice whenever returning to Brussels and that you will give us the chance to prove you that the comments of our guests are taken seriously.

Meanwhile, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I was here for only one night, but I really enjoyed the stay at Stanhope. A very cozy hotel. Well located, in a walking distance (15-20 min) from the city center.
We slept very well, the room was clean, no noise from outside. They even had umbrellas in the room!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraBart3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to inform us about your recent experience in our property.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially the room, the location and the umbrella service.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 198 in Brussels
2,369 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
1.0 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#72 of 198 in Brussels
2,710 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#6 of 198 in Brussels
1,799 reviews
0.8 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanhope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanhope Hotel

Address: Rue du Commerce 9, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: $139 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stanhope Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a luxurious escape from your daily life, Stanhope Hotel is situated in the European Quarter, near the historical centre of Brussels and close to the famous Sablon Antique Square.This fabulous boutique hotel is a peaceful heaven in a prestigious turn-of-the-century Brussels residence. In 1991, Stanhope Hotel, located in the centre of Brussels, was inaugurated first 5-Star hotel in Belgium. From the delightful bright lounge, with its Library Bar, over the Brighton restaurant to the picturesque interior garden with ivy-clad walls, everything is breathing elegance and charm. After 12 years, an extensive renovation and enlargment of the property has been established, counting today 125 Standard or Classic and Superior rooms, Suites and Apartments, as well as extensive conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanhope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing