We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“79.5/100 "british style" and "amazing public area"”
Review of Stanhope Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanhope Hotel
Ranked #21 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Location: 23/30, "just off Place du Luxembourg", "good for business", "walking distance from the Royal Palace";

Room: 25/30, “two level room", "amazing public area", "a taste of England in Bruxelles";

Service: 24/30, “friendly staff”;

Breakfast: 7.5/10, “good quality and selection”;

January 2013, traveled on business.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giancarlo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

We take this opportunity to thank you for detailed feedback we received trough the Tripadvisor website.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our services met your expectations.
We can assure you that nice comments like yours are mostly appreciated by our staff members.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 1,262 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The staff were great, nothing was too much trouble, decor, furnishings & fixtures were excellent and the breakfast was superb! Be warned, the hotel is a bit out of the centre, so either be prepared for some walking or take a cab. I would very much recommend this hotel & would certainly stay again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your positive experience with the Tripadvisor travelers.

We have really enjoyed reading your wonderful comments on the decoration of our Hotel, the praising of our services and the breakfast. It has been a pleasure to make your stay in Brussels into a unique moment.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The staff are very friendly and helpful. My room was spacious and stylish with a decent hairdryer (usually hotel hairdryers are hopelessly underpowered). The breakfast was great and reasonable at Euros 29. Service in the bar area wasn't great and the bar menu wasn't brilliant. My club sandwich was utterly disgusting... However, coffees and other drinks were fine. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missbloggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2013

Dear Guests,
We would like to thank you for your nice feedback we received trough the Tripadvisor website.

We are pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay in our property. As we are currently working to keep up the high standard of services, it is our pleasure to share reviews like yours with our Team.

To keep yourself informed of our best available rates and special packages, please do not hesitate to consult our website or to contact the reservations department.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel in a near future, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I spent last weekend staying here. My sister is living in the hotel in an apartment and I was her guest for two nights. I was in a two storey room the Print Room with black and white decor on the first floor but on the courtyard size so very quiet as I like and with good blackout lined curtains. This was a double height room with steep stairs up to a mezzanine double bed. The only drawback would be having to go down at night to use bathroom. So if you need an ensuite this wouldn't work too well. Comfortable room and helpful staff down in lobby. They ordered a taxi for me first thing in the morning of my departure since it was snowing all morning. I had arrived here by eurostar at Gare du Midi and had taken the metro five stops from there to the nearby Trone stop five minutes from hotel. All for two euros. I would have liked a kettle with teacups but that is not a big problem. A bright directional desk lamp near the armchair would also have made the room less dim after dark. I would certainly return here. Weekend rates are very attractive for high quality rooms. The buffet breakfast was expensive at 30 euros but this was included with my room so I ate it on both days. I noted if you ordered breakfast and received a voucheur from reception the previous evening at a weekend you could be billed only 20 euros. It was possible to order a variety of eggs cooked to order which I did not do. Dinner in the dining room served monday to friday in the Brighton restaurant was delicious. We had a very good prix fixe three course meal with wine. I would recommend that highly.

Room Tip: ask for courtyard side room if you want a quiet room. The heating was easily controlled. Over a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussysleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your great comments we received trough the Tripadvisor website.

We are pleased to hear that you had a nice stay in our property. To keep up the high standard of performance, we can assure you that comments like yours are mostly appreciated.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

After many years I returned to Stanhope for a business trip combined with a WE in Brussels with my wife. In consideration for a problem in check in we were granted an upgrade to a business suite, which was very nice. The suite consisted of two separate rooms, one small sitting room with TV, desk, sofa etc and a nice bedroom. All the hotel has a classic elegant decoration and atmosphere. The room was very quiet looking in the inner court yard. Location of the hotel is very good, not far from city center (Grand Place) and very close to the National Gallerey and Sablon. Is is also close to the European Institutions.
Breakfast was excellent, great choice and very good quality.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sirius99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback we received trough the Tripadvisor website and for your fidelity towards our Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and it is a pleasure to share positive feedback as yours with our Team.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel, we remain,

Yours sincerely

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed at the Stanhope Hotel for 3 nights and really enjoyed ourselves. The location is right in town with easy access to the Metro. The hotel was clean, welcoming and comfortable. Breakfast was included with our room and the selection was unsurpassed! We had to leave early our last morning and would not be able to make the breakfast schedule so the reception desk arranged for a plate to be sent to our room at 6:00 AM. Our room was spacious with two windows that opened to view the town below and the bath was comfortable with plenty of room for my 6'3" husband to shower. This was a great find and we would stay again the next time we are in Brussels.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilyMystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your positive experience with the Tripadvisor travelers.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we can assure you that nice comments like yours are mostly appreciated by our staff members.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Stanhope Hotel on your next stay in Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Try to get one of the rooms with the lofts on the first floor. Nice hotel, quiet location, a few minutes walk from restaurants, about 10 minutes walk from museums and the main part of town. Breakfast is expensive if you have to pay for it separately.

Room Tip: Get one of the loft rooms on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#10 of 199 in Brussels
1,862 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
0.8 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
#30 of 199 in Brussels
1,702 reviews
0.7 mi away
Warwick Brussels
Warwick Brussels
#54 of 199 in Brussels
2,709 reviews
0.8 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanhope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanhope Hotel

Address: Rue du Commerce 9, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: $142 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stanhope Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a luxurious escape from your daily life, Stanhope Hotel is situated in the European Quarter, near the historical centre of Brussels and close to the famous Sablon Antique Square.This fabulous boutique hotel is a peaceful heaven in a prestigious turn-of-the-century Brussels residence. In 1991, Stanhope Hotel, located in the centre of Brussels, was inaugurated first 5-Star hotel in Belgium. From the delightful bright lounge, with its Library Bar, over the Brighton restaurant to the picturesque interior garden with ivy-clad walls, everything is breathing elegance and charm. After 12 years, an extensive renovation and enlargment of the property has been established, counting today 125 Standard or Classic and Superior rooms, Suites and Apartments, as well as extensive conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Stanhope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing