We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, nice rooms”
Review of Stanhope Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stanhope Hotel
Ranked #20 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Convenient location, nice rooms”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Try to get one of the rooms with the lofts on the first floor. Nice hotel, quiet location, a few minutes walk from restaurants, about 10 minutes walk from museums and the main part of town. Breakfast is expensive if you have to pay for it separately.

Room Tip: Get one of the loft rooms on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    408
    136
    51
    34
See reviews for
123
547
64
304
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Visited for our wedding anniversary this week and all I can say is Fantastic.

Staff great, room wonderful, clean, warm. Only let down was no tea or coffee in room but hey you can get from downstairs.

Would we recommend Yes we would.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your nice comments we received trough the Tripadvisor website.

We have taken carefully note of your remark concerning the coffee facilities and we are actually working on a permanent solution for all the rooms. Meanwhile, we propose to bring a tray to the room upon simple request of the guest.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Stanhope Hotel on your next stay in Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Good business hotel, with friendly staff. Should also be attractive for families, but beware that no restaurants seems to be close by. I had a alean, but small room, but at least I could open the window.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OsloKnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen the Stanhope Hotel for your stay in Brussels and for having taken the time to inform us about your experience.

We would like to inform you that the Brighton Restaurant is open from Monday to Friday and that our Receptionists are at disposal to help the guests with the choice of a restaurant in the neighborhood of the Hotel.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here for a short weekend in Brussels. Lovely hotel with beautiful rooms and efficient service. Everything was clean and service was very efficient. Not the most central hotel but does not take long to get into the city centre (there is also a metro if required). The room was beautifully laid out.

The only minor issue was we forgot toothpaste and had to buy a rather piddling toothpaste tube with a (unncessary) toothbrush which barely had enough toothpaste for two. However when that is the biggest fault you can find you know it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outofe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen the Stanhope Hotel for your stay in Brussels and for having taken the time to inform us about your experience.

We are pleased to hear that you had a nice weekend in our property. To keep up the high standard of performance, we can assure you that comments like yours are mostly appreciated.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel, we remain,

Yours sincerely,
The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

A wonderful Hotel with friendly helpful staff each room is unique and spacious with sumptuous furnishings. We enjoyed the room service, and the ample and varied buffet breakfast before heading of into the very cold city. As said in previous reviews the Hotel is not the most conveniently located hotel but the metro is convenient and easy to use. Thank you all at The Stanhope.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the older part of the Hotel, these are unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guildgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen the Stanhope Hotel for your stay in Brussels and for having taken the time to inform us about your experience.

We have really enjoyed reading your wonderful comments on our Hotel, the praising of our services and our staff members. It was our pleasure to make your stay in Brussels into a special relaxing moment.

Please do not hesitate to contact the Management Office so we can make sure to reserve you a warm welcome on your next trip to Brussels.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Very nice hotel, easy to get to on foot from the airport bus stop (direct bus).
Room was very spacious, seemed to have been upgraded to a suite, which was more than large enough for 2 of us. Style of the room was also nice! Enormous bathroom!
Staff were very friendly!
Breakfast was great!
Bar drinks very expensive... 1 mineral water and 2 digestif drinks came to almost 30 euros...
Easy walk to the metro station (less than 5 minutes), and from there everywhere is easy to find.
Shame that there were not many things (restaurants or bars or shops) near the hotel, but transport is not difficult nor expensive.
Was the first time in Brussels for both.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlb252525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen our Hotel for your stay in Brussels and for your nice comments on our staff, the breakfast and the room.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and as we are currently working to keep up the high standing of services; it is a pleasure to share positive feedback as yours with our Team.

We have taken note of your remark concerning the bar prices and we would like to inform you that comparing to 5 star hotels in Brussels, our bar prices or not so expensive. The price you have paid might have been linked to the choice of a higher quality digestive. Please do not hesitate to contact the Management Office for any further information or to simply assure that we can reserve you a warm welcome on your next stay.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I recently stayed at this very pleasant hotel for a two night break. The bedroom was very spacious and different from the standard bedroom layout and furnishings. I had to request that the room be cleaned when we arrvied back to the hotel late in the afternoon and it had not yet been looked after. The hotel were very apologetic and cleaned the room straight away. My travel partner use the fitness room and while it was a small room it served the purpose. We didnt eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the food but I would definitely recomment the hotel for spaciousness, comfort, staff helpfulness . On the downside it is not the most conveniently located hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Needabreak14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor travelers and for your nice comments done.

We are pleased to hear that you had a nice stay in our Hotel and that most of the services met your expectations.

We have transmitted your comments concerning the room cleaning to the Housekeeping Manager and we hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

As we are currently working on the high standard of services, we can assure you that comments like yours are very helpful.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Stanhope Hotel, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
2,290 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 199 in Brussels
1,751 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hotel - Brussels
The Hotel - Brussels
#16 of 199 in Brussels
4,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
0.8 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 16 in Ixelles
994 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanhope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanhope Hotel

Property: Stanhope Hotel
Address: Rue du Commerce 9, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stanhope Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a luxurious escape from your daily life, Stanhope Hotel is situated in the European Quarter, near the historical centre of Brussels and close to the famous Sablon Antique Square.This fabulous boutique hotel is a peaceful heaven in a prestigious turn-of-the-century Brussels residence. In 1991, Stanhope Hotel, located in the centre of Brussels, was inaugurated first 5-Star hotel in Belgium. From the delightful bright lounge, with its Library Bar, over the Brighton restaurant to the picturesque interior garden with ivy-clad walls, everything is breathing elegance and charm. After 12 years, an extensive renovation and enlargment of the property has been established, counting today 125 Standard or Classic and Superior rooms, Suites and Apartments, as well as extensive conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Stanhope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing