We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 5 star hotel, great service, good location”
Review of Stanhope Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stanhope Hotel
Ranked #20 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed for 1 night including breakfast with our son 15-months old. Booked online the night before arrival at a bargain price, which we found on trivago.com.

Extremely friendly general manager, who checked us in and recommended local restaurants. She could not locate our last minute reservation, but we were upgraded for free.

Breakfast: Yummy! small smoothies, pancakes, variety of eggs (signs indicating the boiling times, three different choices), make it yourself waffles' station and much more.

Location: close to the royal palace and the EU parliament, short walk to other sites.

Business: Complimentary shoe cleaning service.

Small children: baby cot available for free. Highchair at the restaurant/breakfast.

Highly recommended romantic hotel in Brussels! We would definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanMarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your wonderful feedback we received trough the Tripadvisor website.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our services met your expectations.

As we are currently working to keep up the high standing of services; it is a pleasure to share positive feedback as yours with our Team.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,232)
There are newer reviews for Stanhope Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a 2 night weekend break. It's really easy to get to as it's a 5 minute walk from the nearest Metro station, and it's a pretty 15-20 minute stroll down in to the town centre by the Royal Palace and through the park area. Also handily placed for visiting some of the museums. The staff on check-in and very attentive and helpful. The rooms are fine - nothing to get excited or disapointed about really, but found the aircon was poor. It got uncomfortably warm in our room at night, and fiddling around with the aircon in the middle of the night is a bit tricky, and irritating. Breakfast was same as the room - the food was absolutely fine, but found the waiting staff required prompting to keep things like drinks, juices and milk topped up, even though there were a few of them and it was quiet. Overall it's a fine place to base yourself for a weekend of getting out and about, but otherwise it's pretty quiet with not much going on - both in the hotel and the immediate surroundings. Personally I'd prefer somewhere with a bit more atmoshpere, but totally appreciate for others, this might be perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin-Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback we received trough the Tripadvisor website and for the nice comments done.

We have taken carefully note of the issues during your stay and we hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused in the different situations.

We have informed the Managers of the concerning departments and we can assure you that the necessary actions have already been taken to avoid reoccurrence.

We sincerely hope this will not affect your hotel choice whenever returning to Brussels and that you will give us the chance to prove you that the comments of our guests are taken seriously.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Six of us, three couples stayed at the Stanhope Hotel and couldn't believe our luck in finding this gem at a very good price. The staff were so helpful and gracious and were so accommodating. We loved our rooms and just wished we would have stayed more than one night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor travelers and we are pleased to hear that our services met your expectations.

We have really enjoyed reading your wonderful comments on our Hotel, the praising of our services and the staff members. It was our pleasure to make your trip in Brussels into a great moment with your friends.

To keep yourself informed of our best available rates and special packages, please do not hesitate to consult our website.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

A very civilised hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Room service and breakfast both excellent. I will return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

We hereby would like to thank you for your review we received trough the Tripadisor website.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our property and many thanks for your nice comments on our Team.

We really look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Brussels.

Meanwhile, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Went for a long weekend in this absolutely beautiful hotel. Excellent service from beginning to end. Rooms are luxurious and cosy. Breakfast is amazing! All the staff are very friendly and attentive.

Really good location, only 10 minute walk into the centre.

Bed was amazing and extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beenzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review we received trough the Tripadvisor website and for the nice comments on our property, breakfast and staff.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our services were completely at your satisfaction.

As we are currently working to keep up the high standing of services; it is a pleasure to share positive feedback as yours with our Team.

Please do not hesitate to contact the Management office so we can reserve you a warm welcome on your next trip to Brussels.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have stayed at the Stanhope 2 times before and booked it again for 2 nights this July on a very good deal. The hotel lies in the european quarter, with a very short walk to the large shopping streets of Brussels and a 20 minute walk to grand place (10 -15 min to the fine art and magritte museum). During the week the surroundings are quite busy, as it lies surrounded by large office buildings. This all changes on friday afternoon, when suddenly this area becomes much quieter. The rooms are not too large, but nicely decorated. The buffet breakfast has a good selection and staff is cordial.

Room Tip: On weekdays the rooms on the "inside" (not facing the street) are quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller1Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your loyalty towards the Stanhope Hotel and for having taken the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor travelers.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and your nice comments have been shared with our staff members.

Please do not hesitate to consult our website or to contact our reservation department in order to enjoy the best available rates.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed for 1 night at Stanhope hotel in mid April 2012. I wish we could
have stayed longer in this gorgeous place. The hotel is elegant and
stylish with great attention to details. We had a promotion rate of 70
euros for a double room and were just loss for words when we opened the
door. The room is tremendously big, with the bed located on the second
floor and the TV area and bathroom on the 1st. It may not be the best
option for older travelers because the staircase is quite steep. The room
has a large window, wonderful curtains, great furniture and a nice
bathroom. Reception area is very elegant as well it looks more like an
18-th or 19-th century mansion than a 21-st century hotel. The hotel is
located quite far away from the city center, about 15-20 minutes of
pleasant walking past the Royal Palace and the Royal Park. We totally
enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would definitely like to stay there
someday again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BastetNika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen the Stanhope Hotel for your stay in Brussels and for your rewarding words we received trough the Tripadvisor website.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and that our services met your expectations.

We can assure you that positive feedbacks from our guests are always mostly appreciated by our staff members.

Please do not hesitate to contact the Management office so we can reserve a warm welcome to the friends you recommended our Hotel to.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 198 in Brussels
2,369 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Grand Sablon
1.0 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#72 of 198 in Brussels
2,710 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#6 of 198 in Brussels
1,799 reviews
0.8 mi away
Made in Louise
Made in Louise
#1 of 15 in Ixelles
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanhope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanhope Hotel

Address: Rue du Commerce 9, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range: $139 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stanhope Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a luxurious escape from your daily life, Stanhope Hotel is situated in the European Quarter, near the historical centre of Brussels and close to the famous Sablon Antique Square.This fabulous boutique hotel is a peaceful heaven in a prestigious turn-of-the-century Brussels residence. In 1991, Stanhope Hotel, located in the centre of Brussels, was inaugurated first 5-Star hotel in Belgium. From the delightful bright lounge, with its Library Bar, over the Brighton restaurant to the picturesque interior garden with ivy-clad walls, everything is breathing elegance and charm. After 12 years, an extensive renovation and enlargment of the property has been established, counting today 125 Standard or Classic and Superior rooms, Suites and Apartments, as well as extensive conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanhope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing