We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely feel with touch of luxury”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stanhope Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stanhope Hotel
Ranked #20 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Homely feel with touch of luxury”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in July with my husband (we're mid 20's) and my parents (mid 40's) and we were all pleasantly surprised by this hotel.

I had cause to email the hotel a few times before our arrival, and each time I received a prompt and polite response- always a good sign!

Although other reviewers have said this is suited to business travelers, the decor has a more homely and personal feel than big chain hotels, and we appreciated little touches such as umbrellas in our rooms, a fruit bowl next to the lift, and a waffle maker with batter for fresh waffles in under a minute at breakfast!

The staff were all very obliging and helpful, the rooms ample size, breakfast served from 7.30 for early birds til 11, for those who appreciate a lie in, beds comfortable, water hot almost instantly, excellent shower pressure, bbc 1 & 2 and itv 1 & 2 on TV.

There was a good spread for breakfast; I was fortunate enough to get a good deal for breakfast when booking through booking.com, but I thought the full price of 28 euro, or 15 euro for croissants/ pastries quite steep, particularly as I have a small appetite.

Being 15-20 minutes from the Grande Place (metro c5 mins away) meant that we were close to some good, non-touristy restaurants, eating at les brassins (just under 15 mins walking), le Belgo Belge (c10 mins walking), and l'ancienne poissonerie (5 mins walking), all of which I'd definitely recommend.

When we checked out, the receptionist went through the items on our bill- this included mini bar items which we hadn't had, and she removed these immediately.

The only improvements for me would be tea and coffee facilities in the room, and faster internet speed on the computer in reception.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doppodomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor travelers and we are pleased to hear that our services met your expectations.

We have really enjoyed reading your wonderful comments on our Hotel, especially the homely feel but also the praising of our services and the staff members. It was our pleasure to make your trip in Brussels into a great quality moment with your parents.

Looking forward to welcome you back at your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    403
    135
    51
    34
See reviews for
121
542
63
301
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here at the beginning of June for a long weekend in Brussels. We were greeted with a free smoothie on check-in, which was a nice touch. The room was lovely - spacious, clean and quiet, with a bed so comfy we didn't want to leave it!
Staff were very helpful throughout stay, giving advice on train times, station facilities - I'm sure they could have answered almost any question.
On check out we were told that there was a city tax charge of 9euros a night which wasn't covered by out LastMinute deal. This was actually in the LastMinute small print but not very clear. As our stay was only three nights it didn't cause a problem, but if we stayed for a longer time it would have added up.

Brussels is a fantastic city and this hotel is a great base to explore from- right next to a Metro station and about 20 minutes from the Grand Place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lizzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen the Stanhope Hotel for your stay in Brussels and for your nice feedback we received trough the Tripadvisor website.

The Stanhope Team is pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our services met your expectations. As we are currently working to keep up the high level of services; it is always a pleasure to share positive feedbacks from our guests with our staff members.

We have taken carefully note of your remark concerning the City tax, indeed it was not included in your reservation. We would like to inform you that the City Tax is not included in the rate of most Hotels in Brussels. Although we can not be held responsable, we do apologize for the fact that this information was not clear on your reservation confirmation.

Looking forward the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Stanhope Hotel at your next stay in Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

I was a bit apprehensive, given that we got a double room for an unbelievable price, but as soon as we arrived I was nothing but impressed by virtually everything. The reception staff was the friendliest and most helpful I've ever experienced, and on top of everything we even got an upgrade. The room was spacious with a nice room and could not be faulted on any account. Breakfast was not luxurious but very tasty and again, service was excellent. What really added to our enjoyment was the fact that virtually everything could be accessed on foot, with walking times varying between 5 (European Parliament) and 20 minutes (Grand Place).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Londonkraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen the Stanhope Hotel for your stay in Brussels and for having taken the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor travelors.

We are pleased to hear that our services met your expectations and your nice comments have been transmitted to our staff members.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisvegas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

No free wi-fi - well, one hour 'introductory' no matter how long we were staying. But they did find the camera I left behind and give it to the person I had collect it for me.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank truffle157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your review we received trough the Tripadvisor website and we hope you enjoyed your stay.

We have taken carefully note of your remark concerning the internet and we would like to inform you that we have special free Wifi conditions for our Thon card Members ‘Gold’. Please do not hesitate to contact our Front Office Manager for further questions.

As we are currently working to keep up the high standard of services, the feedback of our guests is very useful information for improvements.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Stanhope Hotel, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
143 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed here for a business trip and attended to a conference organised in the hotel.

I was in the hotel only for a night (actually 12 hours). Hotel is really under-staffed (which I think is typical for Thon chain), no bellboy, hardly a concierge and front desk also is lacking personnel. My room which was the lowest category (paid 220 euros) was okay, nothing special. Check out took really long. Hotel has, however, nice inner courtyard.

Conference facilities and service were fine though.

I recommend you to attend to an conference/meeting there but stay overnight somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heavytraveller73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen the Stanhope Hotel for your stay in Brussels and for your nice comment about the courtyard.

We have taken carefully note of your remarks and we hope you will accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused in the different situations.

Your comments have been forwarded to the Front Office Manager and the necessary actions will be taken to avoid any reoccurrence in the future. To avoid waiting times, we hereby would like to inform you that we have a special ‘quick check-out’ service so please do not hesitate to use this service on a next stay.

As we are currently working to keep up the high level of services, the feedback of our guests is very important for future improvements.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Stanhope Hotel, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

At reception in a heavy french accent... : Phone number? Hmm ok ok... 0433... nonono your THON number... huh?? oh Thon Hotels Memeber Number ok ok...
Fake 5 star? Cool, gotta try this place, great cost performance, near Troon station but unclear entrances. Wasnt expecting good service from French speakers so was surprised how patient and helpful reception was. Rooms old but beautiful decor, rusty but clean, bed and linen so smooth. Free 1 hour wifi or free if u book direct. No central light makes a moody room. Spacious lobby. Pay Conrad or somewhere if you want true 5 star. Excellent stay, thank you.

Room Tip: Theres a 24hour? shop for drinks near Bela residence.Take the train & Bus A to Charlulululuroi a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rio K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your positive experience with the Tripadvisor travelers and for the nice comments on our property, the location and our services.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we can assure you that nice comments are mostly appreciated by our staff members.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Stanhope Hotel on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed at Stanhope hotel as a part of Eurostar deal. The Eurostar confirmation page has clearly stated that all fees and taxes at his hotel have been included in the package deal and all package cost has been paid.

Hotels puts a 100 Euro preauthorisation on your credit card and on the checkout I was informed that I will be charged an additional tax beyond the Eurostar's package. It is completely inappropriate and is a double charge. So, instead of enjoying my morning in Brussels, I spent a morning with the incompetent staff of the hotel explaining them that it is wrong and will be disputed. Hotel still charged my credit card, I have subsequently elevated the issue to Eurostar and, of course, the hotel was wrong in overcharging me. The entire negative experience could have been avoided, if the staff had picked the phone and settled the issue with Eurostar right there. Well, no matter how many stars or good appearance you claim, if you don’t grant a prepaid deal, you will get the following review - I would never ever stay in this hotel again or recommend them to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback received trough the Tripadvisor website.

We regret to hear that your entire stay was spoiled by the charge of the City Taxes. As explained by our Front Office Manager and as stated on the Eurostar confirmation page, the taxes of 9.28 euros per night were not included in your rate.

Although the fact that the Hotel can not be held responsible, we do apologize for the inconvenience of this incident and our Front Office Manager is at your disposal for any assistance you may need.

Despite your disappointment, we hope to have the chance to welcome again at the Stanhope Hotel.

Meanwhile, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Europe
Sofitel Brussels Europe
#5 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
0.7 mi away
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
#21 of 199 in Brussels
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Amigo
Hotel Amigo
#3 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sofitel Brussels Le Louise
0.9 mi away
The Dominican
The Dominican
#15 of 199 in Brussels
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,119 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Brussels Grand Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanhope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanhope Hotel

Property: Stanhope Hotel
Address: Rue du Commerce 9, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stanhope Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a luxurious escape from your daily life, Stanhope Hotel is situated in the European Quarter, near the historical centre of Brussels and close to the famous Sablon Antique Square.This fabulous boutique hotel is a peaceful heaven in a prestigious turn-of-the-century Brussels residence. In 1991, Stanhope Hotel, located in the centre of Brussels, was inaugurated first 5-Star hotel in Belgium. From the delightful bright lounge, with its Library Bar, over the Brighton restaurant to the picturesque interior garden with ivy-clad walls, everything is breathing elegance and charm. After 12 years, an extensive renovation and enlargment of the property has been established, counting today 125 Standard or Classic and Superior rooms, Suites and Apartments, as well as extensive conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanhope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing